Skip to main content

MSU Libraries are here to help.

See a guide to using the library for teaching, classwork, and research during the coronavirus outbreak: https://guides.library.msstate.edu/coronavirus

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Quick Links

Nature

--The library has the print version of the journal back to 1869 in Bound Journals on the first floor.

Science

--The library has the print version of the journal back to 1895 in Bound Journals on the first floor.

PubCrawler

   -- an alerting service for PubMed and GenBank.

Science.gov 

   -- "searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results."

NIH - NCBI Databases

ChemIDplus
Provides chemical structure, property, synonyms, registration numbers, and toxicity searching.
 
Entrez
Includes PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
 
Genetics Home Reference
Provides information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes related to those conditions.
 
NCBI BLAST
Allows researchers to perform sequence searching and alignment.
 
NCBI GenBank
Provides an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
 
NCBI Online Mendelian  Inheritance in Animals (OMIA)
Searches genes, inherited disorders, and traits in animal species.
 
NCBI Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)
Provides information about human genes and genetic phenotypes.
 
NCBI Open Mass Spectrometry Search Algorithm (OMSSA)
This was a mass spectra search engine for identifying MS/MS peptide spectra by searching known protein sequences. The search database is discontinued due to budget issue. Only historical binaries are available from the ftp server.
 
TOXNET Database
Provides information about toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.