Research Guides: Standards Research Guide : Online and Print Standards thru MSU Libraries

Online Standards Subscribed to by MSU Libraries

ASABE Standards
- Provides online access to the standards of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.
- Also provides access to other ASABE publications.
- Click on "Browse Publications" and then choose Standards.
ASTM Digital Library
- Provides access to current, historical and red-lined versions of the ASTM Standards and access to non-Standards content (Manuals, Monographs, Special Technical Publications, Data Series and Journal Articles) going back ~50 years.
- Print versions for select years are available in the reference collection at Ref TA 401 .A653.
IEEE Xplore Standards Search
- At the top, cick on Browse and select Standards.
- Allows you to search IEEE standards by subject or by standard number.
- Another option is to search with keywords in the IEEE Xplore searchboxes and then under "Content Types" click on "Standards".
- For standards that are not part of MSU's subscription, you might be able to get them through Interlibrary Loan.

Standards Available in Print and CD-ROM Format

ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code:
Call Number: TJ290 .A883 1997
New York, N.Y. : American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Compiled rules of safety governing the design, fabrication and inspection during condtruction of boilers and pressure vessels, and interpret these rules.
- Section 1, Rules for construction of power boilers.
- Section 8, Division 1 [Pressure vessels].
- Section 8, Division 2 Alternative rules.
- Section 8, Division 3 Alternative rules for construction of high pressure vessels.
Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International by AOAC International
Call Number: S587 .O38
Gaithersburg, Md.: AOAC International, 2019 (Latest edition in collection is 21st edition. Older editions are also available)
"For over 125 years AOAC INTERNATIONAL has been meeting the needs of its members and scientists throughout the world for confidence in analytical results by delivering AOAC® Official Methods. The Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC INTERNATIONAL (OMA) is an international source of methods and voluntary consensus standards, with many countries and international organizations contributing their expertise. OMA is the most comprehensive and reliable collection of chemical and microbiological methods available in the world and are contained in many of the Codex food standards."
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater
Call Number: QD142 .A2
ISBN: 0875530478
Washington, DC: American Public Health Association, 2017. (Latest edition in collection is 23rd edition. Older editions are also available)
Standard reference work covering standards for the examination of water, including quality (for domestic and industrial use), surface water, ground water, cooling/circulating water, boiler and boiler feed water, treated and untreated industrial waste, and saline water. Each section includes references and a short bibliography.
SAE Handbook on CD-ROM by Society of Automotive Engineers
Call Number: TL151 .S62
Publication Date: 2006-2009
Located at the Digital Media Center of the Mitchell Memorial Library. The Handbook contains 2,200 current and cancelled documents including over 1,600 J-Reports in PDF format. Older editions are located in the library's print collection.

Searching for standards in the library catalog

The library does have some individual standards in hardcopy. Search the catalog by all fields, title, or subject heading.

Enter key terms. Since most of the standards are published by professional organizations, you may type the organization name to do a search. Example: ANSI and wood

If the library does not have a subscription to the standards, you can try to request for a copy through Interlibrary Loan service or check with your department if the department has funding for ordering the specific standard you are looking for.

Library update: Recent database changes

Standards Research Guide

Online Standards Subscribed to by MSU Libraries

Standards Available in Print and CD-ROM Format

Searching for standards in the library catalog