Skip to Main Content

Civil War-era Digital Collections at the Library of Congress

The Library of Congress Digital Collections contain vast holdings from the Civil War-era. This Research Guide provides links to numerous digital collections at the LOC organized by subjects.

Civil War-era Politicians

Abraham Lincoln Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/abraham-lincoln-papers/about-this-collection/

Alexander H. Stephens Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/alexander-hamilton-stephens-papers/about-this-collection/

Andrew Johnson Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/andrew-johnson-papers/about-this-collection/

Chester Alan Arthur Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/chester-alan-arthur-papers/about-this-collection/

E. B. Washburne Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/e-b-washburne-papers/about-this-collection/

Edwin McMasters Stanton Papers, 1818 to 1921: https://www.loc.gov/collections/edwin-mcmasters-stanton-papers/about-this-collection/

Frederick Douglass Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/frederick-douglass-papers/about-this-collection/

Gideon Welles Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/gideon-welles-papers/about-this-collection/

Horace Greeley Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/horace-greeley-papers/about-this-collection/

Horace H. Lurton Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/horace-h-lurton-papers/about-this-collection/

James A. Garfield Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/james-a-garfield-papers/about-this-collection/

James Buchanan and Harriet Lane Johnston Papers: 
https://www.loc.gov/collections/james-buchanan-and-harriet-lane-johnston-papers/about-this-collection/

John G. Nicolay Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/john-g-nicolay-papers/about-this-collection/

Joseph Holt Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/joseph-holt-papers/about-this-collection/

Salmon P. Chase Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/salmon-p-chase-papers/about-this-collection/

Thaddeus Stevens Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/thaddeus-stevens-papers/about-this-collection/

Ulysses S. Grant Papers: https://www.loc.gov/collections/ulysses-s-grant-papers/about-this-collection/