Research Guides: Diversity, Access, and Success: STEM Collection: DEI Collection-STEM

About this Collection

Thanks to the funding support from the MSU Office of Inclusive Excellence, this special collection of books on diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) in the STEM disciplines is aimed to facilitate dialog and support our institution's efforts to create a diverse, equitable, and inclusive community and education experience. This collection addresses issues of the underrepresentation of women and certain ethnic minority groups in the STEM fields, presents workable solutions and policy initiatives, and provides useful strategies for recruiting, retaining, and advancing women and minority in STEM.

Access to the Collection

There are two ways to access this collection:

1. Use the Inclusive STEM Excellence Book List page.

2. Navigate through this guide by checking the below three sections: Section 1: Rachial and Ethnic Minorities in STEM; Section 2: Women in STEM; Section 3: Promising Practices and Guides.

Section 1: Rachial and Ethnic Minorities in STEM

Racial and Ethnic Minority Student Success in STEM Education by Robert T. Palmer (Editor); Ryan J. Davis (Editor); Dina C. Maramba (Editor); Samuel D. Museus (Editor)
Call Number: LC3727 .M87 2011
ISBN: 9781118065860
Publication Date: 2011
An indispensable resource for teachers, administrators, and researchers involved with STEM education This book gives the most complete picture possible of what is known about ethnic and racial minorities in STEM education and provides valuable guidance on how readers can apply those insights to enhance their efforts to facilitate student success in STEM learning.
Changing the Face of Engineering by John Brooks Slaughter (Editor); Yu Tao (Editor); Willie Pearson (Editor); Willie Pearson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781421418148
Publication Date: 2015-12-15
In this book, eminent scholars address the underrepresentation of African Americans in engineering from a wide variety of disciplinary and professional perspectives while proposing workable classroom solutions and public policy initiatives. They combine statistical analyses with personal narratives of African American engineers and STEM instructors who have found success in graduating African American engineers.
Making Black Scientists by Marybeth Gasman; Nguyen Thai-Huy
ISBN: 9780674242364
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
This essential book offers an inspiring vision of how America's universities can guide a new generation of African Americans to success in science. Educators, research scientists, and college administrators have all called for a new commitment to diversity in the sciences, but most universities struggle to truly support black students in these fields.
Beyond Stock Stories and Folktales by Henry T. Frierson (Editor, Series edited by); William F. Tate (Editor)
ISBN: 9781780521831
Publication Date: 2011-09-20
The purpose of the book is to provide historical, conceptual, and empirically-based analyses focused on the development of African Americans in STEM fields. There is rarely any real understanding of the uneven contours of the education pipeline or the transition to academic life experienced in these situations and this volume will shed light on opportunities to advance African American attainment in STEM disciplines throughout the academic and professional spectra.
An Asset-Based Approach to Advancing Latina Students in Stem by Elsa M. Gonzalez (Editor); Frank Fernandez (Editor); Miranda Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: Q130 .A87 2021
ISBN: 9780367433758
Publication Date: 2021
This timely volume challenges the ongoing underrepresentation of Latina women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM), and highlights resilience as a critical communal response to increasing their representation in degree programs and academic posts.

Section 2: Women in STEM

Women's Influence on Inclusion, Equity, and Diversity in STEM Fields by Ursula Thomas (Editor); Jill Drake (Editor)
ISBN: 9781522588719
Publication Date: 2019-05-31
While highlighting topics that include higher education, workplace perceptions, and information literacy, this publication is ideal for public administrators, human resources professionals, sociologists, academicians, researchers, and students interested in gender studies, public administration, the biological sciences, psychology, computer science, and the STEM fields.
Becoming Leaders by F. Mary Williams; Carolyn J. Emerson
ISBN: 9780784481998
Publication Date: 2019-02-19
Becoming Leaders: A Practical Handbook for Women in Engineering, Science, and Technology, Second Edition is intended for people interested in the advancement of their own careers or in the development of human resources in their organization. This second edition includes new information on implicit bias, other factors affecting leadership success, the impact of social media, management of diversity and inclusion initiatives, and creating respectful workplaces.
Women of Color in Tech by Susanne Tedrick
ISBN: 9781119633495
Publication Date: 2020-03-18
This book will show you that today's tech careers are incredibly dynamic, and you'll learn how your soft skills--communication, public speaking, networking--can help you succeed in tech. This book will guide you through the process of cultivating strong relationships and building a network that will get you were you want to be. You'll learn to identify a strong, knowledgeable support network that you can rely on for guidance or mentorship. This step is crucial in getting young women of color into tech careers and keeping them there.
Girls and Women of Color in STEM by Nahed Abdelrahman; Beverly J. Irby; Julia Ballenger; Barbara Polnick
ISBN: 9781648020919
Publication Date: 2020-10-01
The 11 chapters in this book provide a glimpse into the journeys that women from diverse backgrounds and ethnic differences take in their higher education undergraduate or graduate careers. The diverse women include ethnicities of Arabic, Asian, African-American, American Indian, and Latina.
The Development of Women and Young Professionals in STEM Careers by Michele Kruger; Hannelie Nel
ISBN: 9780429322976
Publication Date: 2019-09-04
This book includes key issues that young professional women should be aware of as they grow and develop in their education and field. This book is ideal for those new to the engineering, science, and consulting fields, including students in science and engineering education, administrators, libraries, those involved in leadership, organization behavior, human resources, STEM, and other areas as well.

Section 3: Promising Practices and Guides

Diversifying STEM by Ebony O. McGee (Editor, Contribution by); William H. Robinson (Editor, Contribution by); Lorenzo DuBois Baber (Contribution by); et. al
ISBN: 9781978805712
Publication Date: 2019-11-01
As a whole this volume will allow practitioners, teachers, students, faculty, and professionals to reimagine STEM across a variety of educational paradigms, perspectives, and disciplines, which is critical in finding solutions that broaden the participation of historically underrepresented groups within the STEM disciplines.
Identity Development During STEM Integration for Underrepresented Minority Students by Sophie L. Kuchynka; Alexander E. Gates; Luis M. Rivera
Call Number: LC3731 .K83 2020
ISBN: 9781108794787
Publication Date: 2020-11-26
This Element systematically compares STEM interventions that offer resources and opportunities related to mentorship, research, and more. We organize the findings of this literature into a multi-phase framework of STEM integration and identity development. We combine tenets of theories about social identity, stereotypes and bias, and the five-factor operationalization of identity formation to describe each phase of STEM integration.
Successful STEM Mentoring Initiatives for Underrepresented Students by Becky Wai-Ling Packard
ISBN: 9781620362969
Publication Date: 2015-12-17
Successful STEM Mentoring Initiatives for Underrepresented College Studentsis a step-by-step, research-based guide for higher education faculty and administrators who are charged with designing mentoring programs to recruit and retain students from underrepresented groups. Written by an acknowledged expert in the field of STEM mentoring, the book constitutes a virtual consultant that enables readers to diagnose the issues they face, identify priorities, and implement appropriate practices to achieve their goals.
Fostering Success of Ethnic and Racial Minorities in STEM by Robert T. Palmer (Editor); Dina C. Maramba (Editor); Marybeth Gasman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415899468
Publication Date: 2012-11-07
In this book, well-known contributors share salient institutional characteristics, unique aspects of climate, pedagogy, and programmatic initiatives at MSIs that are instrumental in enhancing the success of racial and ethnic minority students in STEM education. This book provides recommendations on institutional practice, policy, and lessons that any institution can use on their campus to foster better retention and persistence among minority students. Higher Education leaders and administrators interested in encouraging achievement among racial and ethnic minority students in STEM education will find this book a welcomed and timely addition to the discourse on promoting minority student success.
Promising Practices for Addressing the Underrepresentation of Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Policy and Global Affairs; and more
ISBN: 9780309498241
Publication Date: 2020-04-19
Promising Practices for Addressing the Underrepresentation of Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine reviews and synthesizes existing research on policies, practices, programs, and other interventions for improving the recruitment, retention, and sustained advancement into leadership roles of women in these disciplines. This report makes actionable recommendations to leverage change and drive swift, coordinated improvements to the systems of education, research, and employment in order to improve both the representation and leadership of women.