Research Guides: Animal & Dairy Sciences Research Guide: How-To Videos

Searching Scopus Video Series

Scopus is a multidisciplinary database that covers all fields of science and engineering as well as social sciences. It has nearly all of the content of PubMed as well as additional ADS-related content not found in PubMed. The videos use general search topics, but the techniques shown can be adapted to any research topic.

Searching Scopus and Other Databases: Getting Started (3:37)
Part one of this tutorial on searching Scopus and other library databases provides important information to know before starting your database searches. Updated September 2025.
Searching Scopus and Other Databases: Developing Searches (5:08)
Part two of this tutorial on searching Scopus and other library databases demonstrates how to create effective searches in library databases. Updated September 2025.
Searching Scopus and Other Databases: Getting the Full Text (5:31)
Part three of this tutorial demonstrates the different ways to find the full text of articles. September 2025.
Searching Scopus and Other Databases: Search Alerts, Author Profiles, and More!
This video is coming soon! In the meantime, for search alerts, go to "Create Account" at the top. Do not use the "Sign in via your organization" option or use your MSU password. Then on the search results page, click on "Set Search Alert."

Additional Database Videos

While Scopus is a database that you will want to search when searching for peer-reviewed journal articles, the resources featured in the following videos can also be very useful in your research.

Google Scholar Tips (7:46)
This video provides tips for searching Google Scholar. It builds on concepts covered in videos for library databases. Created on November 12, 2023.
PubMed Online Training (by National Library of Medicine)
This page from the National Library of Medicine provides links to both comprehensive PubMed tutorials and also tutorials on specific aspects of the database.
Finding Dissertations and Theses (4:08)
Whether you are looking for a specific dissertation or thesis or doing a comprehensive search on a topic, this video shows how to search ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global and provides other resources for finding dissertations and theses.
Finding Books @ MSU Libraries (and Beyond!) (4:31)
This video shows how to find books using the MSU Libraries catalog and how to use Interlibrary Loan to request books not found in the catalog.

Animal & Dairy Sciences Research Guide

Searching Scopus Video Series

Additional Database Videos

Other Useful Videos