This is the "Home" page of the "Graphic Novels in Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This guide contains resources about graphic novels and how they are used in the elementary and secondary school classroom.
Last Updated: Apr 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/graphicnovels Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need Help?

Search Google Scholar

 

Graphic Novel Reporter - Headlines

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

About This Guide

This guide serves as a resource for educators who use graphic novels in their classrooms, include them in their lesson plans and assignments, or simply want to learn more about this format. The guide includes sources for graphic novel reviews, lists of award-winning graphic novels, and resources about using graphic novels in curriculum and instruction.

 

Featured Book - April

Cover Art
A Game for Swallows - Zeina Abirached (Illustrator)
Call Number: PN6790.L43 A2513 2012 (MSU-Main, Juvenile Collection)
ISBN: 9780761385684
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
"In the tradition of Marjane Satrapi's Persepolis, Lebanese author-artist Abirached offers readers a memory of her childhood in war-torn Beirut. Abirached and her brother are young children, separated from their parents during a particularly violent bombing. The violence brings all the people of Abirached's apartment complex together, however, and they spend hours together in the foyer, waiting for her parents' return. Abirached's b&w inks offer a stark contrast in hard, geometric patterns that make images at once abstract and fully representative of her childhood memories. The characters, despite their cartoonish nature, show a variety of emotions, and Abirached's gift for pacing makes tense moments appropriately full of anxiety. It is as often the space she leaves empty as the drawings themselves that tell the story-and each detail offered provides insight into the horrors of growing up in a war zone. A winner for young readers and adults alike. Ages 12-up. (Sept.)? (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."

Descriptive content provided by Syndetics™, a Bowker service.

Great Graphic Novels for Teens announced at ALA 2014 Midwinter

The list of 78 titles, drawn from 122 official nominations, is presented annually at the ALA Midwinter Meeting. The books, recommended for those ages 12-18, meet the criteria of both good quality literature and appealing reading for teens.

In addition, the Great Graphic Novels for Teens Committee created a Top Ten list of titles that exemplify the quality and range of graphic novels appropriate for teen audiences, denoted by an asterisk.

 “The 2014 Great Graphic Novels for Teens list explores ancient Chinese rebellions, first love, modern day Uganda, futuristic scenarios, civil rights in America and everything in between.” said Chair Tessa Barber. “The graphic novels on this list are first rate in the marriage of storytelling and art and have appeal to a wide range of teen readers. The list is designed to be a resource for libraries and teens alike.”

(see the entire list here).

      

    Instruction Librarian

    Profile Image
    Beth Downey
    Logo - Facebook
    Contact Info
    Mitchell Memorial Library
    395 Hardy Road
    P.O. Box 5408
    Mississippi State, MS 39762
    (662) 325-3834
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip