Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Biological Sciences

Introduction

This guide is to help students and researchers identify useful resources related to biological science research. It presents library article databases, ejournals, and  books that could be helpful to find information.

Getting Started

Resources for background information:

A Dictionary of Biology: Its subject covers biology, biophysics,
and biochemistry. Important topics  such as bioinformatics,  genomics,  molecular evolution, and protein structure are
included.
(Call number: QH302.5 .D54)

General Searching

Doing research? Try the following resources to begine. Click on the Research Databases tab for additional resources that may be useful for your specific research area.

Find Books

  • Online Catalog
    • Searches the collections of MSU Libraries as well as other libraries in the area
    • Useful for finding material that provide a good overview of your research topic

Find Articles

  • Scopus
    • Multidisciplinary database with a focus on engineering and science.
    • Provides nearly 100% coverage of MedLine and Engineering Village Compendex.
    • Offers tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
  • Discovery
    • Searches most of the library's research databases and the online catalog simultaneously
    • Databases searched include Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Computer Science Index, Environment Complete, and more!

(If the MSU Libraries does not provide access to an article or other item you need, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.)

Information for Grad Students

Office of Thesis and Dissertation Format Review
Provides information on formatting your thesis or dissertation.

Search MSU Theses and Dissertations
Search electronic theses and dissertaitons by author, keywords, department, and more!

Search More Theses and Dissertations
Search electronic theses and dissertations by students around the world.

Citation Management Tools

Mendeley, EndNote, Zotero -- These are software programs that allows you to organize your references, format them in a style of your choice, and insert them into a Word document. Check the library workshops, find a session and register.

Survival Skills for Graduate Students
This web page provides details about the "Survival Skills for Graduate Students" workshop series.