See a guide to using the library for teaching, classwork, and research during the coronavirus outbreak: https://guides.library.msstate.edu/coronavirus
Week 1: Aug 19
Introduction to class
Searching the Online Catalog
Find, pic/scan, cite - W.W. Norton & Co. publishes many authoritative books on different subjects. You will use many of them in your literature studies. Find a Norton Anthology in the Mississippi State University collection on a literature topic you are interested in. Use the catalog record to create a correct citation.
Week 2: Aug 26
MLA Formatting in Microsoft Word
Find, pic/scan, cite – Find, screen shot, cite - The Harvard Geoffrey Chaucer Website, dedicated to Chaucer’s life and The Canterbury Tales, is a great primary resource through the WWW. Find the section on Courtly Love and Chivalry in the Later Middle Ages by Larry D Benson. Provide a correct citation.
Week 3: Sept 2
Information Cycle, Identifying Scholarly Resources, and Evaluating Internet Resources
Find, pic/scan, cite – You have learned about the information cycle today. Book reviews are one of the first publications, before scholarly articles, to come out providing an opinion on the author & their work. Find a book review on Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia from a newspaper.
Week 4: Sept 9
Plagiarism and MLA 8th Ed. Citations
Works Cited Assignment due Feb. 5 at the beginning of class. Directions for assignment on Research Guide for class, under the “assignments” tab
Week 5: Sept. 16
MLA Works Cited Peer Review and ask me anything day! Sign up with a partner.
We will peer review each other’s Works Cited, using Track Changes in Microsoft Word. Based on the peer review of your Works Cited, you will have until next class period to fix/ correct citations to earn back points.
This will also serve a day to review things covered for the class so far. If you do not come to class, you forfeit the right to change the Works Cited you turned in at the beginning of class.
Submit your peer-review along with your corrected MLA Works Cited list!
Week 6: Sept 23
Searching Strategies and the MLA International Bibliography database
Find, pic/ scan, cite - The Paris Review publishes interviews with authors. Often this publication is where you will look for living, writing authors. Find an interview with an author you are interested in. You can use the online e-journal portal to find full text or in print through the library databases.
Week 7: Sept 30
Research & Recovery Assignment – due by the beginning of class on Nov. 4
Use research skills you have learned in the library sessions
Fill out the Special Collections Pre-Instruction Survey before the beginning of class on Nov. 4
Week 8: Oct 7 –
Introduction to Digital Humanities Project
It is important to attend this day, Oct. 7 and Oct. 14 too. These three sessions will prepare you for your Digital Humanities Project.
Carrie Mastley, Manuscripts Librarian
Find, pic/scan, cite – Use one of the items you located online from a digital library during class today.
Week 12: Oct 14
Document Analysis with Carrie Mastley. You will learn how to relate items available in Special Collections/ Archives/ Digital Libraries to the texts you are reading.
Find, pic/scan, cite – Use one the items Ms. Mastley shared with you to create a citation as if you handled the item in person.
Week 13: Oct 21
Begin work on DH Project! Today you will sign up with your partner for the project & learn to use Wix. You will also sign up for a consultation with Ms. Mastely.
Find, pic/scan, cite – Find Poems of Emily Dickinson edited by Thomas H. Johnson, 1955, in the circulation collection in the online catalog. Provide the correct citation and email to the instructor.
Week 14: Oct 28
In class work on DH Project.
Find, pic/ scan, cite - The Paris Review publishes interviews with authors. Often this publication is where you will look for living, writing authors. Find the interview with T.S. Eliot in 1959. Hint: Look in the e-journals portal to locate The Paris Review.
Week 15: Nov 4
Library Session Evaluation & In-Class work on Digital Humanities Project –
Project Due by the beginning of class on Nov. 11 as well as your DH Project Peer Review. Post your link to Canvas in the DH Project discussion post & comment on 2 other projects in at least 100 words. You will need to do this by beginning of class on Sun, Nov 15.
Week 16: Nov 11 – last day of Library Session
Library Session Evaluations & Share your projects with the class!