Research Guides: Agricultural Science and Plant Protection: Find Articles and More

Find Articles and More- Try These Databases First

When off-campus, first log into the MSU Virtual Private Network before clicking on a database.

You must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access the resources below.

Scopus
This multidisciplinary database is "the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature."
- Over 90 million records of journal articles, conference papers, and more
- Good coverage of all areas of STEM, as well as social sciences, engineering, and business.
- Offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary research database that indexes thousands of journals, magazines, and trade publications. Primary coverage back to the 1990s, but some content goes back much further.
AGRICOLA
Indexes USDA publications, core journals in agricultural and related sciences, and items acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions. Primary coverage is back to 1970, with some coverage back to the early 1900s.
Google Scholar
Indexes the websites of commercial publishers, governments, universities, and other organizations. It can be very useful when trying to find a PDF of a specific article.
- Remember, for a good literature review, Google Scholar should be seen as a supplement rather than a substitute for other library databases.
- If you see a “Find It@MSState Libraries” on the right, then click on that link to get the full article.
- When off-campus, you can get more access to full articles by using the MSU VPN.

When off-campus, first log into the MSU Virtual Private Network before clicking on a database.

You must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access the resources below.

Biological Abstracts
This database provides abstracts to journal articles covering all aspects of the life sciences, including the environmental sciences.
- This EBSCO version provides coverage back to 1990.
- Access is limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Business Source Complete
Provides abstracting and indexing for over a thousand journals and full text for nearly 4,000 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more. Coverage back to the 1920s and beyond.
PubMed
World's largest medical database, with records to articles back to the 1940s and beyond. Good coverage of both human and animal medicine, physiology and related fields.
- Accessing PubMed through this link will allow you to view "Find It" links, which help you find the full text.
- The National Library of Medicine offers numerous PubMed tutorials.
- Most of PubMed's content is also in Scopus, though PubMed has some special search features.
Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Literature Index
This database is a resource for articles about gardens and plants designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.