Skip to main content

MSU Libraries are here to help.

See a guide to using the library for teaching, classwork, and research during the coronavirus outbreak:

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University


Research Guides

Scholarly Communication Initiative

The MSU Libraries' Scholarly Communication Initiative rolled out in 2015 to support Open Access, Author Rights, Open Education Resources, Copyright, Data Management, and digital preservation with an Institutional Repository.

About Our Committee

The Digital Scholarship Committee officially joined the MSU Libraries ScholComm Initiative in July 2016, as a joint effort between library personnel who support digital humanities research and projects at MSU. The scope of the committee is transdisciplinary, with the aim of providing expertise in digital scholarship tools, methods, access, discovery, and preservation for technology-enabled research. The committee's first directive will be to build a community of practice within the library to strengthen the infrastructure and support available to researchers at MSU, and secondly but simultaneously, to conduct a needs assessment of MSU researchers' current and potential engagement in digital scholarship.

As of Fall 2016, the MSU Libraries offers the following digital scholarship workshops:

  • ArcGIS
  • Discover Digital Humanities
  • Introduction to Text Mining for Humanists
  • Introduction to Scalar
  • Google Earth Pro
  • Google Maps
  • Zotero 101

Committee Charge

The Digital Scholarship Committee will explore supporting digital scholarship initiatives at MSU by focusing first on educating Library faculty/staff and then exploring the feasibility of and gauging campus-wide interest in the Libraries supporting digital scholarship at MSU. This includes conducting a campuswide needs assessment survey that gauges the level and the type interest in digital scholarship (Strategic Plan Priority 2.8).

Committee Members (FY16/17)

  • Nickoal Eichmann-Kalwara, Co-Chair
  • Hillary Richardson, Co-Chair
  • Pattye Archer
  • Jim Kalwara
  • Rob McDougald
  • Jennifer McGillan
  • Randall McMillen
  • David Nolen
  • Julie Shedd