Research Guides: Historical Newspapers: Mississippi Newspapers

Mississippi Newspapers on Microfilm @ MSU

Mississippi Newspapers on Microfilm
All are located in Special Collections, 3rd floor, Mitchell Memorial Library

MSU Libraries has the second largest collection of historical Mississippi newspapers on microfilm in the state including some titles as early as the 1800s. Below is a PDF of our Mississippi Newspapers, which are located in Special Collections (3rd Floor) in the Mitchell Memorial Library.

These are the titles we continue to receive (all have had title variations):

Commercial Dispatch from Columbus, MS (1903-present)
Clarion Ledger from Jackson, MS (1888 and earlier-present)
Delta Democrat Time from Greenville, MS (1904-present)
Enterprise Journal from McComb, MS (1892-present)
Hattiesburg American from Hattiesburg, MS (1918-present)
Northeast MS Daily Journal from Tupelo, MS (1876-present)
Starkville Daily News from Starkville, MS (1902-present)

Mississippi Newspapers online can be accessed here by MSU students and employees.

Digitized MS Newspapers

Chronicling America, 1836-1922
- This link opens in a new window
This Library of Congress site features digitized newspapers from across the U.S., 1836-1922, including 137 Mississippi titles (but not every issue!). Select "Mississippi" from the pull-down menu, "All States."
African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- This link opens in a new window
This database has a vast collection of African American newspapers, but is limited in scope for Mississippi with only 6 titles. Of note, it contains all 117 issues of the Mississippi Free Press, 1961-64.
Digital Newspapers At MSU Libraries (MSU Students and Employees)

Other Resources for MS Newspapers

Mississippi Department of Archives & History (MDAH)
- This link opens in a new window
If you're looking for a specific MS newspaper and can't find it, MDAH probably has it. Visit their archives in-person or pay for reproduction of articles (not recommended unless you know exactly what you need). More on reproduction costs: http://goo.gl/hSd5jP