"FAOLEX is a comprehensive and up-to-date legislative and policy database, one of the world's largest electronic collection of national laws, regulations and policies on food, agriculture and natural resources management."
The databases below provide good coverage of Africa-related research. If you would like information on other library databases for your specific area of research, feel to contact Brad Brazzeal.
"This is a repository of agricultural research outputs and results produced by different parts of CGIAR and partners. It indexes reports, articles, press releases, presentations, videos, policy briefs and more."
Provide by FAO, "AGRIS is the International System for Agricultural Science and Technology providing access to bibliographic information on agricultural science and technology ... It offers more than 8,9 million links to information produced by more than 350 data providers (which include research centers, development programs, international and national organizations) from more than 140 countries."
"FAO statistics collates and disseminates food and agricultural statistics globally. The division develops methodologies and standards for data collection, and holds regular meetings and workshops to support member countries develop statistical systems. We produce publications, working papers and statistical yearbooks that cover food security, prices, production and trade and agri-environmental statistics."
Provides access to data from UN agencies and partner organizations. "Useful features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries are also provided to aid research. The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators."
This project of Columbia University and partners is "pioneering innovative methodologies, products, tools, and systems to improve the way that soils are evaluated, mapped, and monitored, making it one of the most innovative projects in field of soil science today."
"Previously, SRTM data for regions outside the United States were sampled for public release at 3 arc-seconds, which is 1/1200th of a degree of latitude and longitude, or about 90 meters (295 feet). The new data are being released with a 1 arc-second, or about 30 meters (98 feet), sampling that reveals the full resolution of the original measurements. Data for most of Africa and its surrounding areas were released with the September 2014 announcement."