Books often provide a more systematic overview of a research topic than is usually found in articles. Theses and dissertations usually have helpful literature reviews that are more detailed than most articles.
Listed below are databases that you may find useful for Agricultural & Biological Engineering research. For a complete listing of all of MSU Libraries' online indexes and databases, click here.
If the MSU Libraries does not provide access to a journal article or other item that you need, you may order it through Interlibrary Loan.
Unless otherwise indicated, you must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access the resources below.
"A standard is a document that contains technical specifications or other precise criteria to be used consistently as a rule, guideline, or definition of characteristics, to ensure that materials, products, processes, personnel or services are competent and/or fit for their intended purpose(s)." (Source: NIST)
e.g. forest* for forest, forests, forestry, forester, etc.
When searching a database:
1. If you don't find a link to the full-text in the database, use the Find It button to search all MSU databases for the full-text.
2. If we don't have the full-text online, click on the link provided to see if the MSU Library owns a print copy. This will search the Online Catalog for the journal.
3. Examine any holdings statements to determine if we have the volume and issue that the article appears in.
4. If we don't have the article online OR in print, use Interlibrary Loan to get it from another library.
When you just have a citation:
1. Copy and paste the name of the article title into the library's Discovery database.
2. Follow the steps above to determine if the library has the article you need.
Many authors, especially federal government employees, post versions of their articles online. So you may be able to find what you need through a Google or Google Scholar search.
Google Scholar is a freely available resource, but most publishers do not provide free access to the full text of their journals. The following steps can help you to find the full text articles to which the MSU Libraries subscribe: