The Morrill Act, Celebrating Land-Grant Universities

This collection contains materials on the Lloyd-Ricks-Watson building at MSU. LRW housed the Extension Service, Agribusiness, and the School of Human Science. This digital collection contains extension material on the agricultural mission of Mississippi State University.

The CHARM (Consortium for the History of Agricultural and Rural Mississippi) digital collection includes photographs, documents, correspondence, diaries, and other materials which document the people, products, and related social and economic aspects of forestry and agriculture in Mississippi.

The Forest Resources Tools digital collection includes photographs and descriptions of antique woodworking tools, farm implements, and household equipment from the Cully A. Cobb Antique Tool Museum.

The John C. Stennis collection (U.S. Senator [D], 1947-1989) contains materials devoted to agricultural issues in the U. S. Congress, as well as problems faced by Mississippi farmers. Senator Stennis' interest in forestry is also well documented in this series. Included are materials reflecting Civil Rights issues, which offer perspective into the myriad issues facing the nation during Stennis' tenure in the Senate.

The David Bowen Collection (U.S. Senator [D], 1973-1983) contains correspondence documenting Bowen's key role in rice legislation, an interest he pursued throughout his five terms in the U.S. House of Representatives. As Representative of a district which included the Mississippi Delta, many of his constituents were rice farmers with a direct interest in the legislation.