College of Veterinary Medicine Research Guide

Mosby's Comprehensive Review for Veterinary Technicians, 3rd edition introduces and reviews the material in each of your veterinary technology courses. Key topics ranging from basic and clinical science, diagnostics and applications, to professional practices and issues are presented in a user-friendly outline format that is ideal whether you're a new student or you're reviewing for your certification exams. Comprehensive coverage of veterinary technology spans basic and clinical sciences, applications, patient management, nursing, nutrition, anesthesia and pharmacology, as well as personal, practice and professional management skills - everything you need for both the U.S. and Canadian certification exams. Care of large animals, birds, reptiles and laboratory animals, in addition to cats and dogs, is included. Chapter outlines, learning outcomes and expanded glossaries help you comprehend and retain essential material. Summary tables are ideal for reference or review. Review questions at the end of each chapter, in addition to a 300-question comprehensive review exam, test and reinforce your knowledge of veterinary technology. Six appendixes ensure crucial resources are always at your fingertips. State-of-the-art Alternative Imaging Technology chapter discusses computed tomography and nuclear scintigraphy to complement ultrasound technology. Enhanced content highlights vet tech responsibilities in genetics, small animal nursing, veterinary dentistry, zoonoses, breeding/reproduction, neonatal care, and much more. Small animal nursing instruction now includes dermatology, auricular treatments and ophthalmology. Extended pharmacology coverage features pain management. Personal and practice management skills include expanded OSHA/WHMIS guidelines and ethics discussions.

With over 5,000 recently upgraded, reviewed, revised, rewritten, and reorganized questions- more than any other exam review- Review Questions and Answers for Veterinary Techniques 4th Edition is your key to success on the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE). This new and updated edition matches the presentation of the exam and reflects the seven domains of the VTNE to ensure the most accurate and effective exam prep available. Rationales for answers reinforce knowledge and provide reasoning behind answers. Companion CD simulates the testing experience with timed, randomized practice exams. Acclaimed question writers offer comprehensive coverage of topics. New organization reflects the seven domains of the revised VTNE. Exam format consists of a multiple-choice style that mimics the national exam so you know what to expect on test day. More than 5,000 rigorously reviewed questions test factual knowledge, reasoning skills, and clinical judgment.

Restraint and Handling for Veterinary Technicians and Assistants provides the knowledge required to restrain animals in a way that is safe for both the patient and the restrainer. Written in a �how to� format Restraint and Handling for Veterinary Technicians and Assistants details information required for proper restraint for both small and large animals, as well as exotics. To aid the reader, the text features a glossary of terms and practice questions at the end of each chapter, and illustrates the most common restraint techniques seen in veterinary practice.

Considered a fundamental text in the field of veterinary technology, McCurnin's Clinical Textbook for Veterinary Technicians is back in its 7th edition and better than ever! Written by veterinarians, including many board-certified specialists, and veterinary technicians who understand the vet tech curriculum, this text is full of everything you'll need to know in your practice. Sections on small and large animals, birds, reptiles, and small mammals embrace every aspect of the veterinary field, while case presentations of actual patient situations link information to relevant, real-life scenarios you may encounter in future practice. Get it all with this extensive and practical text essential to the veterinary technician profession! Full color visuals make learning easier with accurate depictions of specific disorders, diseases, and procedures. Detailed information of the technician's role in every procedure enables you to focus on your role in veterinary practice. Birds, reptiles, and small mammals chapter keeps you up-to-date with care and treatment for these increasingly popular pets. Chapters on pharmacology, pain management, restraint, and veterinary oncology offer a broader understanding of the responsibilities of a technician. The TEACH manual provides instructors with teaching/learning objectives, key terms, critical thinking challenges, and chapter quizzes, while the workbook contains applied quizzes and activities for each chapter. New case presentations help link information to real life by illustrating scenarios of actual patient situations and outcomes. Increased coverage of large animal concerns, such as nutrition, emergency nursing, pain management, and anesthesia, prepare you for potential patients. New chapters on Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation, and Laws, Regulations, and Ethics, as well as expanded sections in Anesthesia, Nursing, and Dentistry provide the most comprehensive information. Newly added key terms, glossary, outlines, boxed "Technician Tips," and learning objectives aid studying.

A complete and practical guide, this text describes how to produce high-quality radiographic and ultrasound images. The first half of the book covers equipment, safety, and technique - all major responsibilities of the veterinary technician. The second half details radiographic positioning for small animals, large animals, and exotics. Reflecting the major role of ultrasonography in veterinary practice, the book concludes with an expanded chapter on diagnostic ultrasound. Practical, concise clinical format Written at the appropriate reading level for technicians Abundant illustrations emphasize basic radiographic and ultrasonographic principles, techniques, and equipment used in veterinary practice Concise and understandable discussion of physics and radiography Examples of common artifacts show how to avoid misinterpretation of imaging studies Excellent coverage of radiation safety Practical technique charts Excellent coverage of small- and large-animal positioning Exotics chapter featuring rodents (including ferrets), reptiles, and birds Ultrasound chapter that includes normal ultrasonographic findings, along with corresponding images Helpful hints given for obtaining quality images and avoiding common pitfalls reflect the authors' experiences at a busy teaching institution New cardiac ultrasound scanning techniques with 20 new ultrasound images New images of the latest x-ray equipment Updated pedagogical features, including outlines, key points, chapter objectives, and helpful hints for veterinary technicians

This well-illustrated manual offers veterinary technicians and nurses practical advice on performing basic dental procedures. It covers all key day-to-day scenarios in a small animal practice, including equipment, preventive dentistry, and dental radiography. The authors - one a world authority on veterinary dentistry, the other a listed veterinary nurse - have worked together for more than a decade and have unparalleled experience in animal dentistry and oral surgery. Specifically written for veterinary nurses and technicians Details equipment and instrument requirements and maintenance Covers anesthesia for the dental/oral surgery patient Provides clear instructions for performing common dental procedures Includes practical advice on running a dental clinic Offers tips of the trade from an experienced oral care team

Examine the diverse ways animal bodies function at both the systemic and cellular levels with this vital resource. It brings you clear coverage essential to understanding the clinical relevance of anatomical and physiological principles. Fully updated and written by respected veterinary technician educators, this popular textbook is the practical, comprehensive foundation for your success in veterinary technology. Clinical application boxes help you sharpen your skills and apply principles to practice. Test Yourself boxes throughout chapters emphasize important study points. An extensive glossary provides quick reference to hundreds of important terms and definitions. Over 300 new illustrations help you identify structures with rich, realistic clarity. A NEW full color format visually enhances your understanding of anatomic and physiologic concepts. Four NEW chapters give you the latest insight on the chemical basis of life, nutrition and metabolism, pregnancy, development, and lactation, and reptile and amphibian anatomy and physiology. A revised chapter on the cardiovascular system helps you most effectively comprehend the complex functions of the heart and blood vessels.