College of Veterinary Medicine Research Guide

Provide expert care for cats and dogs! Kirk and Bistner's Handbook of Veterinary Procedures and Emergency Treatment, 9th Edition covers not only the management of emergency conditions, but also strategies for dealing with hundreds of routine diagnostic and treatment challenges in small animals. Its user-friendly format provides instant access to vital information -- making it an ideal resource in emergency situations -- and it is conveniently organized by both body systems and presenting signs to help you easily reach a diagnosis and determine a treatment plan for all clinical situations. Written by veterinary experts Richard Ford and Elisa Mazzaferro, Kirk and Bistner's Handbook of Veterinary Procedures and Emergency Treatment provides current guidelines for small animal emergency care and the diagnostic procedures most commonly performed in a busy, team-oriented practice. Step-by-step instructions and illustrations are provided for all major emergency and non-emergency clinical procedures. A logical, easy-to-use format lists all emergency conditions in alphabetical order, and includes quick reference boxes calling out key information such as clinical tips and cautions. Clear, concise guidelines help you evaluate clinical signs and laboratory test data. Clinical algorithms make it easier to identify and treat abnormalities. Guidelines for assessment and treatment include practical advice and solutions, how to examine the small animal patient using a body systems and problem list approach, and a review of basic diagnostic procedures used in daily practice. Coverage of toxicological emergencies describes how to manage exposures and poisonings. A quick reference guide to the management of the emergency patient is conveniently located on the inside cover. A comprehensive drug formulary makes lookup easy, and includes proprietary names, actions/use of each drug, formulations, recommended dosages, and special precautions, with emergency medications highlighted for fast reference This all-in-one reference includes practical coverage of emergency procedures, physical assessment in sickness and health, routine and advanced testing procedures, diagnostic tests sampling, preparation, procedures, and interpretation. Quick Reference boxes include potential causes of each clinical abnormality and associated signs, step-by-step diagnostic plans, and clinical algorithms. The latest vaccination guidelines include protocols for dogs and cats at low, medium, and high risk of exposure to infectious diseases. Updated coverage keeps you current with the latest on pain assessment, prevention, and treatment.

This exciting new addition to the popular Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult series presents essential information on the diagnosis, therapy, and prevention of important toxicoses. Using a succinct and accessible format, the book is organized by major categories of toxicants to aid in rapid differential diagnosis for suspected poisonings. All information is organized alphabetically for ease of use, while accompanying color photos aid in identification. The book's quick-access, clinically-oriented presentation of vital information makes it an ideal guide to handling toxicoses in veterinary practice. The book begins with introductory chapters on decontamination, emergency and supportive therapy, antidotes, and principles of diagnosis. Designed to help you quickly develop a differential diagnosis list; confirm the diagnosis; and manage therapeutic options in poisonings, Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Small Animal Toxicology is an invaluable resource for veterinary practitioners and students.

Comprehensive in scope and exclusively devoted to feline medical care, Dr. Susan Little's The Cat: Clinical Medicine and Management is an essential resource for anyone who provides complete, state-of-the-art care to cats. In one convenient volume, you'll find authoritative, clinically-focused information enhanced by full-color illustrations, tables, boxes, algorithms, key points, and much more - all in a format designed for quick access. Dr. Little and her expert contributors address the unique concerns and challenges facing the feline practitioner, including the latest advances in feline medical diagnosis and management and their clinical applications to everyday practice. User-friendly and complete, The Cat is also available as an e-book, giving you easy access to the complete, fully-searchable contents online. Covers the latest advances in feline medicine from a systemic and adjunctive care perspective. It's the most comprehensive feline medical reference available with a strong clinical focus. Helps you meet the increasing demand for state-of-the-art medical care by cat owners - including advanced diagnostic services and treatments designed to extend and improve quality of life for feline companions. Features a full-color design with hundreds of schematic drawings, tables, boxes, key points, algorithms, and photographs for quick and easy access to information. Addresses key topics unique to feline medicine and not currently covered in other books, including: insights and clinical advances attributable to the mapping of the feline genome; medical conditions associated with behavioral problems; managing the feline patient with co-existing and chronic disease; special medical problems and care considerations for the geriatric cat; environmental enrichment for the indoor cat; feline zoonotic agents and implications for human health; and shelter medicine and overpopulation solutions. Provides in-depth information on indoor cats and senior cats, including timely guidance on meeting owners' expectations for longer, healthier lives for their cats. Addresses the challenges of pet overpopulation, particularly the impact of millions of feral cats on public health and the environment. Presents information written in the manner of expanded conference proceedings, delivering the latest insights and most current approaches to management of feline medical disorders. Includes contributions from approximately 60 contributors, drawing on the valuable expertise of those most knowledgeable in the field of feline medical care. Bears the full endorsement of the Winn Feline Foundation, a non-profit organization that supports studies about cat health and funds feline research projects worldwide, and is internationally regarded as a major contributor to the health and wellbeing of all cats. The complete contents also are available online through Veterinary Consult.

No other equine quick reference comes close to providing this much accurate, timely, and clinically useful diagnostic and therapeutic information. Clinical Veterinary Advisor: The Horse is six books in one -- Diseases and Disorders, Procedures and Techniques, Differential Diagnosis, Laboratory Tests, Clinical Algorithms, and a Drug Formulary. Plus, a companion website gives you convenient, searchable access to the full text and other useful tools. Covering hundreds of current topics in a concise at-a-glance format, this authoritative resource from David A. Wilson, DVM and a group of respected contributors is a must-have guide for the busy equine or mixed-practice practitioner. A consistent, easy-reference format allows for quick retrieval of practical, clinical information. A wealth of high-quality illustrations clearly demonstrates key concepts and procedures. Concise, at-a-glance format offers six books in one with these sections: Diseases and Disorders provides at-a-glance coverage of nearly 500 common medical problems, arranged alphabetically for immediate access. Each entry presents the topic in the sequence it follows clinically, including: history and physical exam findings, diagnostic testing, treatment (including specific medications and dosages), prognosis, and recommended monitoring. References for each topic support the data presented. Procedures and Techniques offers illustrated, step-by-step instructions for understanding and performing over 100 important clinical procedures. Differential Diagnosis displays nearly every possible cause for 65 different clinical disorders. Laboratory Tests summarizes essential information needed for interpreting 110 laboratory tests. Clinical Algorithms provides easy-to-follow, step-by-step guidance to clinical assessment and treatment planning for 50 of the most common clinical conditions/disorders. Drug Formulary is a compilation of dosages and other relevant information by expert Nathan Slovis, DVM for 145 new and current medications. A companion website includes the complete text of the book in a fully searchable format, which allows quick access to any topic and its related information in the six different sections. The website also includes a searchable drug formulary, a color image collection, clinical algorithms, and 50 client education sheets available in both English and Spanish.

Providing accurate, at-a-glance information on managing the diseases of birds and exotic pets, Clinical Veterinary Advisor: Birds and Exotic Pets is the only comprehensive resource on the market covering birds, reptiles, small mammals, and other non-traditional pets. Concise summaries of hundreds of common medical problems help you consider differential diagnoses, recommend diagnostic tests, interpret results mindful of unique species differences, utilize important concepts of species-specific husbandry and nutrition, prescribe treatments, and provide follow-up care. With contributions from recognized avian and exotics experts and edited by Jörg Mayer and Thomas M. Donnelly, this clinical reference provides all the information you need in one book! Six-books-in-one format includes six separate sections: Diseases and Disorders, Procedures and Techniques, Differential Diagnosis, Laboratory Tests, Clinical Algorithms, and Zoonoses. In-depth, cutting-edge coverage includes all exotic species - birds, reptiles, pocket pets, amphibians, and fish - in one comprehensive resource. Concise summaries feature a definition of each problem, epidemiology, physical findings and clinical presentation, etiology, differential diagnosis, diagnostic workup (such as laboratory tests and imaging studies), treatment, prognosis and patient follow-up, zoonotic potential, and references. Diagnostic and treatment algorithms provide easy-to-follow, step-by-step guidance to clinical assessment and treatment planning. A companion website includes the complete text from the book, making the entire contents fully searchable, along with 250 full-color illustrations, client handouts, and the ability to print out any pages.

Human-Animal Medicine is an innovative reference exploring the unprecedented convergence of human, animal, and environmental health, triggering global pandemics and requiring new clinical paradigms. The "One Health" approach calls for greater communication and cooperation between human health care providers, public health professionals, and veterinarians to better address vital issues of emerging diseases and environmental change. This incredibly timely book provides, for the first time, practical guidelines for "One Health" collaborations in a wide range of clinical human-animal health issues, including the H1N1 virus, zoonotic diseases, the human-animal bond, animal allergy, bites and stings, and animals as "sentinels" for toxic environmental health hazards. UNIQUE! For each condition, specific steps human health care providers, veterinarians, and public health professionals must take to prevent and manage disease. UNIQUE! Comparative tables of disease signs, diagnosis and treatment in humans and animals for easy reference. UNIQUE! Guidelines to detect and improve environmental factors affecting the health of humans and animals. Occupational health guidelines for preventive care of animal workers including veterinary personnel, farmers, pet store employees, and zoo workers. Treatment of emerging disease issues including zoonoses, H1N1 virus, harmful algae blooms, and animal-related pesticides UNIQUE! Sample protocols facilitate professional communication between veterinarians, human health clinicians, and public health professionals. Legal and ethical aspects of "One Health" that human health providers and veterinarians need to know.

A quick guide to appropriately selecting and interpreting laboratory tests, Small Animal Clinical Diagnosis by Laboratory Methods, 5th Edition helps you utilize your in-house lab or your specialty reference lab to efficiently make accurate diagnoses without running a plethora of unnecessary and low-yield tests. It provides answers to commonly asked questions relating to laboratory tests, and solutions to frequently encountered problems in small animal diagnosis. For easy reference, information is provided by clinical presentation and abnormalities, and includes hundreds of tables, boxes, key points, and algorithms. This edition, now in full color, is updated with the latest advances in laboratory testing methods and diagnostic problem solving. Written by noted educators Dr. Michael Willard and Dr. Harold Tvedten, this book may be used as an on-the-spot guide to specific problems or conditions as well as a reference for more detailed research on difficult cases. Concise discussions address laboratory approaches to various disorders, possible conclusions from various test results, artifacts and errors in diagnoses, and interpretations leading to various diagnoses. Hundreds of tables, boxes, algorithms, and key points offer at-a-glance information including cautions, common pitfalls, and helpful "pearls," and lead to proper differential and clinical diagnostic decision making. Note boxes identify key considerations in correlating clinical signs with test data for accurate diagnoses, highlight safety precautions, and offer helpful tips for sample preparation and interpretation. Chapters on laboratory diagnostic toxicology and therapeutic drug monitoring help in handling potentially fatal poisonings and other special situations. Expert editors and contributors provide clinical knowledge and successful diagnostic problem-solving solutions. A practical appendix lists referral laboratories that may be contacted for certain diseases, and reference values with the normal or expected range for coagulation, hematology, and more. Updated coverage integrates the newest advances in testing methods and diagnostic problem solving. Full-color photos and schematic drawings are placed adjacent to related text, and accurately depict diagnostic features on microscopic slide preparations as well as test procedures and techniques.