Skip to main content
We are here to help:

EN 3414 Critical Writing and Research for Literary Studies

This guide serves as the "syllabus" for the library component of the English 3414 course.

DH Project

You have been introduced to Mississippi State University Libraries’ Special Collections and shown items relating to text you have read for EN3414.  Primary resources provide historical context and provide authority to your interpretation of the texts.  Using items from MSU Libraries Digital Library or approved digital archives/ libraries you will create a Digital Humanities (DH) project using items from these collections.  (You may pick items, but you should discuss the relevancy of the items in your consultation with the archivists)

You will be in groups of 2-3.  You will have the chance to grade your team members.  Each group will meet, outside of class, with Special Collections Librarians to complete their assignment.  You will sign up for a time to meet by emailing sp_coll@library.msstate.edu.  Keep in mind Special Collections have special hours:

Monday - Friday 7:30am - 5:00pm

When you email Special Collections state the collections you would like to use for your project, as well as the text & theme you are focusing on. 

Beginning on March 30, the focus of the rest of the semester will be your DH Project which will be due on Tuesday, April 13.

To complete this assignment:

  1. Sign up for a free Wix account.
  • You can choose to do any of the templates.

3. Pick at least 5 items from digital archives/ libraries to use in your presentation.

  • You will need to contact the repositories for items you have chosen for use permission.  You can discuss with the archivist in your consultation on how to do this if you need help.

4.  You will need to answer these questions about each item you have chosen:

  • What is the item?

  • When was the item created?

  • What is the significance of the item?

    • How was it used?

    • Did events, politics, society, or other reasons drive the creation of this item?

    • Who would have used it?

  • Why does each item relate to the text? 

  • How does this item help your analysis of the text?

Student examples on relating text and Special Collections Items:

Explore Ally, Alex, and Joseph's Digital Humanities Project

Zora Neale Hurston: A Digital Exhibit of Archives Relevant to Hurston's Their Eyes Were Watching God

Zora Neale Hurston Archive: A digital humanities project created by Mississippi State University students

Remember to use proper MLA 8th Ed. citations for resources used in your presentation (primary resources, images, text).  You can consult these links to help with your citations:

Discussion:

DH Project & DH Peer Review due Tuesday, April 13 at the beginning of class.  Be prepared to give a short discussion on your project.  Post your link to Canvas in the DH Project discussion post & comment on 2 other projects in 75-100 words.  You will need to do this by Tuesday, April 20.