Most books on data mining focus on principles and furnish few instructions on how to carry out a data mining project. Data Mining Using SAS Applications not only introduces the key concepts but also enables readers to understand and successfully apply data mining methods using powerful yet user-friendly SAS macro-call files. These methods stress the use of visualization to thoroughly study the structure of data and check the validity of statistical models fitted to data. Learn how to convert PC databases to SAS data Discover sampling techniques to create training and validation samples Understand frequency data analysis for categorical data Explore supervised and unsupervised learning Master exploratory graphical techniques Acquire model validation techniques in regression and classification The text furnishes 13 easy-to-use SAS data mining macros designed to work with the standard SAS modules. No additional modules or previous experience in SAS programming is required. The author shows how to perform complete predictive modeling, including data exploration, model fitting, assumption checks, validation, and scoring new data, on SAS datasets in less than ten minutes!
Powerful software often comes, unfortunately, with an overwhelming amount of documentation. As a leading statistics software package, SAS is no exception. Its manuals comprise well over 10,000 pages and can intimidate, or at least bewilder, all but the most experienced users. A Handbook of Statistical Analyses using SAS, Second Edition comes to the rescue. Fully revised to reflect SAS Version 8.1, it gives a concise, straightforward description of how to conduct a range of statistical analyses. The authors have updated and expanded every chapter in this new edition, and have incorporated a significant amount of new material. The book now contains more graphical material, more and better data sets within each chapter, more exercises, and more statistical background for each method. Completely new topics include the following: Data description and simple inference for categorical variables Generalized linear models Longitudinal data: Two new chapters discuss simple approaches, graphs, summary measure, and random effect models Researcher or student, new user or veteran, you will welcome this self-contained guide to the latest version of SAS. With its clear examples and numerous exercises, A Handbook of Statistical Analyses using SAS, Second Edition is not only a valuable reference, but also forms the basis for introductory courses on either SAS or applied statistics at any level, from undergraduate to professional.
New and experienced SAS programmers and analysts working in health care data analysis will find this book invaluable in their daily professional life. A terrific primer for new health care analysts and a reference for long-time practitioners, this book defines the types of health care data and explores a wide range of tasks, including reading, validating, and manipulating the health care data, and producing reports.
If you are a researcher or student with experience in multiple linear regression and want to learn about logistic regression, Paul Allison's Logistic Regression Using SAS: Theory and Application, Second Edition, is for you! Informal and nontechnical, this book both explains the theory behind logistic regression, and looks at all the practical details involved in its implementation using SAS. Several real-world examples are included in full detail. This book also explains the differences and similarities among the many generalizations of the logistic regression model. The following topics are covered: binary logistic regression, logit analysis of contingency tables, multinomial logit analysis, ordered logit analysis, discrete-choice analysis, and Poisson regression. Other highlights include discussions on how to use the GENMOD procedure to do loglinear analysis and GEE estimation for longitudinal binary data. Only basic knowledge of the SAS DATA step is assumed. The second edition describes many new features of PROC LOGISTIC, including conditional logistic regression, exact logistic regression, generalized logit models, ROC curves, the ODDSRATIO statement (for analyzing interactions), and the EFFECTPLOT statement (for graphing nonlinear effects). Also new is coverage of PROC SURVEYLOGISTIC (for complex samples), PROC GLIMMIX (for generalized linear mixed models), PROC QLIM (for selection models and heterogeneous logit models), and PROC MDC (for advanced discrete choice models).
SAS is an integrated software that enables the user to enter, retrieve, manage, and analyze data in different ways. This is an instructional manual on programming with SAS and the general syntax of the SAS software.
New features in this edition include:*New sections on debugging in each chapter that provide advice about common errors*End of chapter Debugging Exercises that offer readers the chance to practice spotting the errors in the sample programs*New section in Chapter 1 on how to use the interface, including how to work with three separate windows, where to write the program, executing the program, managing the program files, and using the F key*Five new appendices, including a Glossary of Programming Terms, A Summary of SAS Language Statements, A Summary of SAS PROCs, Information Sources for SAS PROCs, and Corrections for the Debugging Exercises*Plus, a link to Spector's online SAS course!
This book describes how to use the SAS System to perform a wide variety of different regression analyses, such as using various models as well as diagnosing data problems. Topics include performing linear regression analyses using PROC REG; diagnosing and providing remedies for data problems including outliers and multicollinearity; using regression to fit a variety of different models, including nonlinear models; using SAS/INSIGHT software for performing regression analysis. Examples feature many SAS procedures including REG, PLOT, GPLOT, NLIN, RSREG, AUTOREG, PRINCOMP, and others.
Statistical Analysis in Focus by Gregory J. Privitera; Kristin L. Sotak; Yu Lei
Call Number: HA 29 .P755 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Statistical Analysis "In Focus" supports users of Gregory J. Privitera's Statistics for the Behavioral Sciences, Third Edition who work with a statistical program other than SPSS or Excel. Three standalone parts, each dedicated to R, SAS, and Stata, serve as step-by-step guides for completing the "In Focus" exercises in Privitera's core text. A conversational writing style along with "To The Student" introductions allow students to familiarize themselves and become more comfortable with each program prior to making computations. Additionally, General Instruction Guidebook (GIG) sections for R, SAS, and Stata provide standardized how-to instructions for using each program, making the book a valuable reference for students beyond their studies. Bundle and Save Bundle the guide with the core text, Statistics for the Behavioral Sciences, Third Edition, for only $5 more! Order using bundle ISBN 978-1-5443-3027-3.
A comprehensive guide to statistical hypothesis testing with examples in SAS and R When analyzing datasets the following questions often arise: Is there a short hand procedure for a statistical test available in SAS or R? If so, how do I use it? If not, how do I program the test myself? This book answers these questions and provides an overview of the most common statistical test problems in a comprehensive way, making it easy to find and perform an appropriate statistical test. A general summary of statistical test theory is presented, along with a basic description for each test, including the necessary prerequisites, assumptions, the formal test problem and the test statistic. Examples in both SAS and R are provided, along with program code to perform the test, resulting output and remarks explaining the necessary program parameters. Key features: ? Provides examples in both SAS and R for each test presented. ? Looks at the most common statistical tests, displayed in a clear and easy to follow way. ? Supported by a supplementary website http://www.d-taeger.de featuring example program code. Academics, practitioners and SAS and R programmers will find this book a valuable resource. Students using SAS and R will also find it an excellent choice for reference and data analysis.
Using easy-to-comprehend terms and uncomplicated examples, author Larry Hatcher walks you, step-by-step, through this introduction to using SAS software for performing advanced statistical procedures in social science research and interpreting the results. Part one of the book discusses exploratory factor analysis at an easily understood, introductory level. Part two instructs the reader on how to use the CALIS procedure to perform confirmatory factor analysis, path analysis with manifest variables, and path analysis with latent variables. This book includes appendices that give basic instruction in using SAS software. Book jacket.
A user-friendly guide beneficial to both researchers and students of the social sciences, this book provides a very comprehensive introduction to SAS and elementary statistical procedures. Step by step, this book guides beginners through the basic concepts of research and data analysis, to data input and on to ANOVA and MANOVA. The more advanced researchers will find the presentation of sophisticated statistical procedures invaluable. With this book you will learn to write SAS programs, interpret results, perform statistical analyses without a broad mathematics background, and summarize results in American Psychological Association format.
This book is a sophisticated, yet understandable, SAS approach to common survey research applications using real-world examples. Survey research practitioners in any field will benefit from this practical guide to conducting survey research tasks. Beginner-level SAS users with a working knowledge of basic SAS concepts and advanced SAS users alike will find this book logical and easy to use. Main topics include SAS procedures and functions used in survey research; random sampling; creating form letters and envelopes; managing the survey process; analyzing survey data; labeling SAS output; data manipulation; reporting results in custom tables with PROC TABULATE; and creating plots and histograms with SAS/GRAPH that exemplify principles of graphical excellence.