Research Guides: Chemistry: Chemical and Physical Properties

Chemical and Physical Properties

Search the following resources to look for chemical and physical property data:

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 100th Edition by John Rumble (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138367296
Publication Date: 2019-06-07
In a world with access to unlimited amounts of data, how can users who need to make critical scientific and technical decisions find high quality, reliable data? Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics remains a hallmark of quality. For over 100 years, the Handbook has provided property data on chemical compounds and all physical particles that have been reported in the literature, carefully reviewed by subject experts. Every year older collections are updated with the latest values and new areas will be added as science progresses.

MatWeb - Material Property Data
This database "includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials."

NCBI PubChem
PubChem is "PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more."
NIST Standard Reference Data
NIST has developed and distributed Standard Reference Data in Chemistry, Engineering, Fluids and Condensed Phases, Material Sciences, Mathematical and Computer Sciences and Physics.

SciFinder-n [*Registration required see MORE] This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to a comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
*In order to use the web version, faculty, staff and students are required to create an account at the registration link: SciFinder Registration
This MUST be done prior to logging into the above database link. You may only register for an account on campus.

SIRI MSDS Index
The SIRI MSDS archive site "provides information about the occupational health and safety of commercially available materials and chemicals likely to be found in the workplace. Information is provided by manufacturers and retrievable by browsing the index or keyword searching."
ThermoDex - Physical & Thermodynamic Properties
ThermoDex is "a finding aid designed in searching through numerous handbooks you might have in your library. It enables you to enter both a type of compound and a property, and it returns a list of handbooks that might contain these data."