These are examples of the many resources available in the Reference Department, on the second floor of the Mitchell Memorial Library.
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences
Call Number: Ref GB655 .E527 2005 (5 volumes)
Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2005.
"Written and edited by leading worldwide authorities in the field, and comprising nearly 200 substantial articles, the Encyclopedia provides detailed, informed coverage of the subject."
Groundwater Chemicals Desk Reference by Montgomery, John H.
Call Number: Ref TD426 .M66 1990
Chelsea, MI: Lewis Publishers, 1990.
Covers common groundwater contaminants. Each entry includes synonyms, structural formulas, CAS registry numbers, DOT designations, empirical formulas and formula weights, physical and chemical properties, health hazard data, and related references to other literature.
Sources of Information in Water Resources: An Annotated Guide to Printed Materials by Giefer, Gerald J.
Call Number: Ref Z7935 .G53
Port Washington: Water Information Center, 1976.
While dated, this bibliography provides good coverage of older materials in the field of water resources. Entries include experiment station publications, technical reports, monographs and journal articles.
Standard Handbook of Environmental Engineering by Corbitt, Robert A.
Call Number: Ref TD145 .S72 1998
New York: McGraw-Hill, 1998. 2nd ed.
Includes water resource management topics, with chapters on environmental engineering, legislation and regulations, air and water quality standards, water supply, wastewater disposal and storm water management.
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater
Call Number: Ref QD142 .A2 22ND ED. 2012
Washington, DC: American Public Health Association, 2012. 22nd edition.
Standard reference work covering standards for the examination of water, including quality (for domestic and industrial use), surface water, ground water, cooling/circulating water, boiler and boiler feed water, treated and untreated industrial waste, and saline water. Each section includes references and a short bibliography.
The Water Encyclopedia by Van der Leeden, Frits
Call Number: Ref TD351 .V36 1990
Chelsea, MI: Lewis Publishers, 1990. 2nd ed.
Provides comprehensive encyclopedic coverage of topics related to water and water management. Topics include hydrologic elements, climate data, surface and ground water, water use and quality, environmental challenges, water resource management, and water laws and regulations. The chapter on constants and conversion factors is particularly helpful.