Skip to main content
We are here to help:

Chemical Engineering Research Guide

The resources used by chemical engineers are available in a variety of formats, from print handbooks and encyclopedias that define concepts and explain processes to online databases of chemical names, formulas and properties.

Encyclopedias and Directories

Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design. New York : Marcel Dekker, 1997.
Ref TP9 .E66
The articles in this encyclopedia include cross references to related topics, tables and diagrams of important concepts. The last volume contains a cumulative index for the entire set.
 
Kirk-Othmer Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. New York : Wiley, 1999.
Ref TP9 .K54 1999
The articles in this encyclopedia include photographs, tables and bibliographies of cited works for each article. The last volume contains a supplement to the set as well as the index.
 
Gardner's Chemical Synonyms and Trade Names. 10 ed. Brookfield, VT : Gower, 1994.
Ref TP9 .G286 1994
This dictionary of chemical synonyms and trade names includes availability and manufacturer notations for each chemical along with a directory of manufacturers and an appendix of manufacturer successors. There are also cross reference tables for CAS to trade name, CAS to chemical and EINECS to chemical.
 
Lewis, Grace Ross 1001 Chemicals in Everyday Products. E-book. New York : Wiley, 1999.
(Access limited to MSU affiliates)
This book provides commonly asked consumer chemical questions along with a list of common chemicals found in everyday products. The chemicals are presented alphabetically with a product list, precautions, and synonyms.
 
Chemical Engineering Buyer's Guide. New York : McGraw-Hill.
Ref TP158 .C47
This yearly publication provides company, association, product and trade name directories that include contact information as well as web addresses where applicable. Also available online at http://www.che.com/ (Registration is required).
 
Chemical Engineering Faculty Directory. New York : American Institute of Chemical Engineers.
Ref TP165 .C453
This publication includes an international list of Chemical Engineering Faculty organized by country and institution with an alphabetical index by name. Published annually.