Research Guides: Food Science, Nutrition, and Health Promotion: Research Databases

Research Databases

The following databases contain useful information related to Food Science, Nutrition, and Health Promotion.

For best results when off-campus, first log into the MSU Virtual Private Network before clicking on a database.

You must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access the resources below.

Best Bets

Scopus
This multidisciplinary database is "the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature."
- Over 80 million records of journal articles, conference papers, and more
- Good coverage of all areas of STEM, as well as scocial sciences, engineering, and business.
- Offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary research database that indexes thousands of journals, magazines, and trade publications. Primary coverage back to the 1990s, but some content goes back much further.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center )
"ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week." You can limit search results by education level such as Early Childhood Education, etc. Coverage back to 1960s.
PubMed
World's largest medical database, with records to articles back to the 1940s and beyond. Good coverage of both human and animal medicine, physiology and related fields.
- Accessing PubMed through this link will allow you to view "Find It" links, which help you find the full text.
- The National Library of Medicine offers numerous PubMed tutorials.
- Most of PubMed's content is also in Scopus, though PubMed has some special search features.
Google Scholar
Indexes the websites of commercial publishers, governments, universities, and other organizations. It can be very useful when trying to find a PDF of a specific article.
- Remember, for a good literature review, Google Scholar should be seen as a supplement rather than a substitute for other library databases.
- If you see a “Find It@MSState Libraries” on the right, then click on that link to get the full article.
- When off-campus, you can get more access to full articles by using the MSU VPN.

Other Databases

AGRICOLA
Indexes USDA publications, core journals in agricultural and related sciences, and items acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions. Primary coverage is back to 1970, with some coverage back to the early 1900s.
Biological Abstracts
This database provides abstracts to journal articles covering all aspects of the life sciences, including the environmental sciences.
- This EBSCO version provides coverage back to 1990.
- Access is limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Business Source Complete
Provides abstracting and indexing for over a thousand journals and full text for nearly 4,000 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more. Coverage back to the 1920s and beyond.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, in addition to indexing/abstracting for an additional 850 journals. Coverage is especially strong for nursing and allied health.
SciFinder-n
The premier database for chemistry, materials science, and related sciences, providing access to thousands of journals, as well as conference proceedings and other items, back to the 1800s.
- First time users must click here to register before accessing the web version. This must be done on-campus or through the MSU's VPN.
- For more information on Scifinder-n, see this overview by CAS.

Finding Print Resources

Some of the relevant call number ranges for books include:

HD 9000 - HD 9490 -- Food industry

QP 141 - QP 185 -- Nutrition

RM 214-RM 258 -- Clinical nutrition

TX 341-TX 641 -- Food supply

Library update: Recent database changes

Food Science, Nutrition, and Health Promotion

Research Databases

Finding Print Resources