You can search by author, title, keyword, subject, etc., to find the call number, location, and check-out status of any book owned by MSU Libraries or libraries in the Golden Triangle Regional Consortium.
WorldCat is a combined online catalog that searches the collections of libraries throughout the United States and around the world. It provides records of any type of material cataloged by member libraries. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource. If you are not affiliated with MSU, you can access this content through worldcat.org
You can use print or online bibliographies to find citations to other books as well.
This detailed reference provides a complete record of Academy Award winners and nominees through 1991. All nominees in all categories are listed, and the volume includes recipients of special awards as well. Each award category begins with a short headnote that traces the development of the award and discusses significant facts about it. The award categories are divided into sections for each year. Within the listing for a particular year are the nominees for the award, related credits, and the winner of the award. Shale begins with a short historical overview of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Part I lists Academy Award winners and nominees by award categories, with sections devoted to annual awards, other awards, and discontinued categories. Part II is a chronological index of Academy Awards. Thus full information for an award can be located through either the type of award or the year. Shale concludes with appendices of academy founders, presidents, and directors of best pictures; a selected, annotated bibliography; and an index. The result is the most comprehensive record of the Academy Awards available.
A research tool for students of literature, film, and media studies with a listing of some 7,500 film treatments of literature done between 1930 and 1990 worldwide. An alphabetical author index provides form of work, nationality, literary and film titles, publication date, and director. The film ind
The Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theoryclearly and accessibly explains the major theoretical approaches now deployed in the study of the moving image, as well as defining key theoretical terms. This dictionary provides readers with the conceptual apparatus to understand the often daunting language and terminology of screen studies. Entries include: *audience * Homi K. Bhabha * black cinema * the body * children and media * commodification * cop shows * deep focus * Umberto Eco * the gaze * Donna Haraway * bell hooks * infotainment * master narrative * medical dramas * morpheme * myth * panopticon * pastiche * pleasure * real time * social realism * sponsorship * sport on television * subliminal * third cinema * virtual reality Consultant Editors: David Black, USA, William Urricchio, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands, Gill Branston, Cardiff University, UK ,Elayne Rapping, USA
Long considered the undisputed bible of the movie industry, Ephraim Katz's The Film Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia on film. Unrivaled in its scope, this intelligent and engrossing A to Z reference contains nearly 8,000 entries on the artistic, technical, and commercial aspects of moviemaking, including: Directors, producers, stars, screenwriters, and cinematographers Styles, genres, and schools of filmmaking Motion picture studios and film centers Film-related organizations and events Industry jargon and technical terms Inventions, inventors, and equipment Now in its fully revised and updated fourth editionk with hundreds of new entries, The Film Encyclopedia is the indispensable film book for moviegoers, students, critics, and everyone associated with the art and craft of motion pictures.
This encyclopedic reference to the American movie musical identifies and describes the musicals and the artists who made them. Film entries range from the legendary The Jazz Singer in 1927 to Fantasia 2000. Artists ranging from Gene Kelly to Elvis Presley, Busby Berkeley, and John Travolta are included, as are musicians as varied as Irving Berlin, Paul Williams, and the Beatles. Entries also detail animated musicals, studios, perettas, rock documentaries, sequels and remakes, and dance movies. As a reference work or as a book for browsing, this encyclopedia serves as a valuable companion to Stage It with Music: An Encyclopedic Guide to the American Musical Theatre (Greenwood, 1993) and will appeal to film scholars and fans alike. Information is cross referenced throughout. A chronological list of musicals and an appendix of Academy Award-winning musicals are included.
This unique reference work is designed to bridge the gap between guides and dictionaries that are primarily academic and theoretical and those that deal mainly in technical jargon. Above all, it is aimed at students of film and media who are likely to encounter a wide range of specialistlanguage in a variety of places--in film reviews, critical essays, interviews with filmmakers and stars, and academic and Internet publications. The Film Studies Dictionary contains around 1,000 entries ranging from terms that have always puzzled audiences such as "best boy" and "gaffer" to thoserequired by specialist students of film such as "post-colonial theory" and "third cinema." It uses a system of careful cross-referencing and concise and up-to-date references to further reading for exploration.
Now in Paperback! A unique reference work, a what's what of the history of filmmaking not only in Hollywood but throughout the United States. More than 750 entries document the history of studios, production companies and distributors, and provide complete information on technical innovations, genres, industry terms, and organizations.
InThe New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made, the film critics of theTimeshave gathered the original reviews of their list of the best. Covering every conceivable genre, from comedies, dramas, and science-fiction to foreign films, musicals, and others, this book provides the student with an essential resource. How werePsychoorFantasiaoriginally received? For movies that are often subsumed in their own legends, the original review is a corrective lens for a hindsight that is often anything but 20/20. This volume also includes and introductory essay by Janet Maslin and modern postscripts to movies that survived their original trashing to become classics.