Skip to Main Content
Mississippi State University

Library update: Recent database changes

Learn more

Forestry and Natural Resources Research Guide

This guide provides links to resources and services related to the study of forestry and other areas related of natural resources.

Access Library Resources When Off-Campus

Are you a distance learner or doing research away from the main campus? If so, you still have access to a wide range of library resources and services.

 

Search Research Databases

  • For best results, first log into the MSU Virtual Private Network before clicking on a database name.

  • You may also be able to access the library's research databases by entering your Net ID and Net Password when clicking on a database name, but logging into the VPN is the most efficient method.

Get Items from the Library's Electronic Collection

  • The library provides access to thousands of electronic journals.

  • In research databases, look for full text links or click on the Find It button.

Get Articles from the Library's Print Collection

  • Use the the Interlibrary Library Loan system (ILLiad).

    • Articles and book chapters can be sent electronically.

      • Free service for "Campus 5" students and MSU-ES and MAFES employees based outside of the main campus.*

      • All current faculty, staff, and graduate students are allowed to use up to $250 per fiscal year of this service without charge.

      • Others will be charged .25 per page.

Get Books from the Library's Print Collections

  • Search for the book in the Online Catalog.

  • For "Campus 5" distance education students, you can use the Place Hold button for any book in the MSU collection, and we can mail the book to you. (You will just need to pay for return shipping.)

Get Research Assistance

  • Feel free to contact me, Brad Brazzeal, at (662) 325-7969 or bbrazzeal@library.msstate.edu.

  • You can also get assistance from a librarian by chat whenever you see the Live Chat button at the top of the library's homepage.  

     

 

*  When you first log in to ILLiad, you will be asked to complete your ILLiad profile. For the Site field, options include Distance Education, Extension Service, and Experiment Station. Be sure to choose the appropriate option. This helps to ensure that faculty, staff, and students in those categories are not charged for the service.
Subjects: Forestry