The Artists Documentation Program (ADP) interviews artists and their close associates in order to gain a better understanding of their materials, working techniques, and intent for conservation of their works.
Welcome to Calisphere: your gateway to California’s remarkable digital collections. Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.
The Getty Provenance Index® (GPI) provides access to archival inventories, sales catalogs, and dealer stock books.
The Getty Provenance Index: Additional Databases provides access to the Collectors Files, Payments to Artists, and Public Collections.
Khan Academy offers lessons on the subject of art history including practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
The Online Medieval Sources Bibliography provides detailed information about modern editions - both in print and online - of medieval primary sources. Our goal is to help users find the sources and editions that are most suited to their needs.
Rhizome champions born-digital art and culture through commissions, exhibitions, digital preservation, and software development. Founded by artist Mark Tribe as a listserve including some of the first artists to work online, Rhizome has played an integral role in the history of contemporary art engaged with digital technologies and the internet.
The Smithsonian Libraries' Art and Artist Files are an exceptionally valuable resource for art historical research done on emerging regional and local artists and often are the only obtainable sources of information on those artists. Spread over seven branches, the vertical files contain information on artists and art collectives, galleries, and museums from around the world, but primarily from North America and Africa. There are over 150,000 files that contain ephemera such as exhibition announcements, newspaper and magazine clippings, press releases, brochures, reviews, invitations to gallery shows, illustrations, résumés, artists' statements, small catalogs, and/or reproductions.
NGA Online Editions (œ) presents the most current, in-depth information on the Gallery’s collections by the world’s leading art historians along with rich capabilities for exploring that information. A customized reading environment is intended both to provide scholars with a useful workspace for research and to encourage the study and appreciation of art.