Though its reputation hinges more on inspiration and muses, Creative Writing still requires thoughtful research! Use this guide to help you find resources for creative writers of poetry and prose at the Mississippi State University Libraries.
A highly original and intelligent investigation of the novel from celebrated writer and “gentle genius” E. M. Forster nbsp; E. M. Forster’s renowned guide to writing sparkles with wit and insight for contemporary writers and readers. With lively language and excerpts from well-known classics, Forster takes on the seven elements vital to a novel: story, people, plot, fantasy, prophecy, pattern, and rhythm. He not only defines and explains such terms as “round” versus “flat” characters (and why both are needed for an effective novel), but also provides examples of writing from such literary greats as Dickens and Austen. Forster's original commentary illuminates and entertains without lapsing into complicated, scholarly rhetoric, coming together in a key volume on writing that avoids chronology and what he calls “pseudoscholarship.”
This title provides the rules of grammar, punctuation and style as well as advice on effective writing. It arises out of 25 years of both writing fiction and teaching creative writing at university level.
You know the authors' names. You recognize the title. You've probably used this book yourself. This is The Elements of Style, the classic style manual, now in a fourth edition. The revisions to the new edition are purposely kept minimal in order to retain the book's unique tone, wit, and charm. A new Glossary of the grammatical terms used in the book provides a convenient reference for readers. The discussion of pronoun use is revised to reflect the contemporary concern with sexist language. In addition, there are numerous slight revisions in the book itself which implement this advice. A new Foreword by Roger Angell reminds readers that the advice of Strunk & White is as valuable today as when it was first offered. This book has conveyed the principles of English style to millions of readers. Use the fourth edition of "the little book" to make a big impact with writing.
What makes a story a story? What is style? What's the connection between realism and real life? These are some of the questions James Wood answers in "How Fiction Works," the first book-length essay by the preeminent critic of his generation. Ranging widely--from Homer to David Foster Wallace, from "What Maisie Knew "to "Make Way for Ducklings"--Wood takes the reader through the basic elements of the art, step by step. The result is nothing less than a philosophy of the novel--plainspoken, funny, blunt--in the traditions of E. M. Forster's "Aspects of the Novel "and Strunk and White's "The Elements of Style." It sums up two decades of insight with wit and concision. It will change the way you read.
Part writer's notebook and part sourcebook, My Quick Writes includes more than sixty of Donald Graves' favorite and most effective prompts for practicing and reflecting on your own writing processes. Graves and Penny Kittle walk you through how to do Quick Writes and the role they play in their own writing and teaching. Then they offer you ample personal space for doing them yourself. You'll try out new ideas, techniques, and genres, such as: thinking and writing from different points of view writing poems putting together personal narratives turning favorite or poignant letters into essays creating fiction. In addition, Graves and Kittle present seventeen prompts to try with your students. With these prompts, you'll connect the experience of doing Quick Writes on your own to your students' experiences with them, while at the same time helping children prepare for timed writing tests without giving over your writing workshop to test prep. My Quick Writes is the hands-on way to practice and reflect on your writing process as you implement the apprenticeship model for teaching writing described in Inside Writing. Even if you don't consider yourself a writer, join Donald Graves and Penny Kittle and learn more about your writing and that of your students with My Quick Writes.
An accessible, contemporary guide to the art of dramatic writing During the ten years that Stuart Spencer has taught playwriting, he has struggled to find an effective playwriting handbook for his courses. Although most of the currently popular handbooks have good ideas in them, they all suffer from the same problems: they're poorly organized; are composed mostly of quirky, idiosyncratic advice on how specific playwrights have gone about writing their own work; and are full of abstract theorizing on the nature of art. As a result, they fail to offer any concrete information on how to construct a well-written play or any useful guidelines and exercises. Moreover, few of these books are actually written by working playwrights. Out of frustration, Spencer wrote his own book. The result,The Playwright's Guidebook, is a clear, concise, and engaging handbook. Spencer addresses the important principles of structure, includes insightful writing exercises that build upon one another, explores the creative process, and troubleshoots recurrent problems that playwrights actually face.
A fun, focused guide to making words work for you Whether you are working on the novel that's been in the back of your mind for years or simply facing an increasing demand to write well at work or school, the fact remains: we all write more often these days, be it reports, e-mails, blog posts, or texts. But despite the increase in written communication, the fundamentals of good writing have been lost. Grammar maven Patricia T. O'Conner comes to the rescue with the most painless, practical, and funny writing book ever written. In short, snappy chapters filled with crystal-clear examples, amusing comparisons, and humorous allegories that cover everything from "Pronoun Pileups" and "Verbs That Zing" to "What to Do When You're Stuck," O'Conner provides simple, straightforward tips to help you sort through your thoughts and make your sentences strong.
For more than twenty years Natalie Goldberg has been challenging and cheering on writers with her books and workshops. In her groundbreaking first book, she brings together Zen meditation and writing in a new way. Writing practice, as she calls it, is no different from other forms of Zen practice --"it is backed by two thousand years of studying the mind." This new edition, which marks almost twenty years since the original book's publication, includes a new preface in which Goldberg expresses her trademark enthusiasm for writing practice, as well as a depth of appreciation for the process that has come with time and experience. Also included is an interview with the author in which she reflects on the relationship between Zen sitting practice and writing, the importance of place, and the power of memory.
The most widely used and respected text in its field, Writing Fiction, 7e guides the novice story writer from first inspiration to final revision. A bestseller through six editions, Writing Fiction by novelists Janet Burroway and Elizabeth Stuckey-French explores the elements of fiction, providing practical writing techniques and concrete examples. Written in a tone that is personal and non-prescriptive, the text encourages students to develop proficiency through each step of the writing process, offering an abundance of exercises designed to spur writing and creativity. The text also integrates diverse, contemporary short stories in every chapter in the belief that the reading of inspiring fiction goes hand-in-hand with the writing of fresh and exciting stories.
Brief, practical, and wonderfully readable, The Art and Craft of Fiction gives aspiring writers all they need -- in under 400 pages. Michael Kardos focuses on technique and presents fiction writing as a teachable (and learnable) art. With an organization built on methods and process rather than traditional literary elements, Kardos helps students begin their stories, write strong scenes, use images and detail, revise for aesthetics and mechanics, and finish and polish their own stories. He delivers clear instruction, effective examples, and assignments that build toward finished work in a tone reviewers praise as "pitch perfect." A brief fiction anthology at the back of the book -- of 15 works that Kardos draws on in his instruction -- provides stories that students will love to be inspired by.
This brand new thesaurus from Oxford, the most trusted name in reference, is the first to be developed by writers, for writers. In addition to the more than 300,000 synonyms and 10,000 antonyms found in the thesaurus, each of our distinguished editorial board members (including David Auburn, Michael Dirda, David Lehman, Stephin Merritt, Francine Prose, Zadie Smith, Jean Strouse, David Foster Wallace, and Simon Winchester)has contributed frank, funny, thoughtful, and, most of all, word-wise mini-essays on words that they particularly love, hate, admire, or are just plain puzzled by. Even more helpful for writers in search of the perfect word, this new thesaurus contains nearly two hundred word banks, collections of nouns to add exact detail to your writing. (Was it just bread, or was it chapatti, rye, dal, or pita?) Brand-new word spectrums show where your word falls in a linebetween two polar opposites (passable is three-quarters of the way from beautiful to ugly). Other features include quick guides to easily confused words; helpful, real-world usage guidance to tricky sticking points of grammar and word choice; and careful, expert distinctions among awkward synonyms. All Oxford American dictionaries use an easy-to-use respelling system to show how entries are pronounced. It uses simple, familiar markings to represent common American English sounds. The Oxford American Writer's Thesaurus will unlock the power of language and is certain to be the thesaurus that says on the desk--and stays open.
This IPL pathfinder is designed for individuals interested in creative writing, either for personal fulfillment or as a career pursuit. This pathfinder focuses primarily on prose fiction (novel and short-story writing), although many of the sources are also useful for individuals interested in poetry or screenwriting. Both print and web-based sources are included.
Description from their website: "McSweeney’s is a publishing company based in San Francisco. As well as operating a daily humor website, we also publish Timothy McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern, the Believer, and an ever-growing selection of books under various imprints."