This is the "Finding Articles in the Sciences" page of the "Landscape Architecture (LA8613) -- Research in the Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Landscape Architecture (LA8613) -- Research in the Sciences   Tags: architecture_art_design  

This guide has been created to guide students from LA8613 topics related to ecology, sustainability, and plant research.
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/LA8613 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Articles in the Sciences Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Got a Citation?

To find an article, type the title into the big white box on the Libraries' Home page.

1. If that doesn't work, and you have the Journal name, use the Online Catalog to search for it.  The Exact search using the "Journal Title" search is the easiest (try the dropdown menu). 

2. There will be two records, one for print and another for electronic (if we have them).

3. Use the Find It button on the Electronic Resource record. Search by date or volume.

4. If we don't have the article electronically, look at the print record to see if we have that issue.  Journals are shelved alphabetically on the first floor of the library.

If you have any trouble along the way, just Ask-a-Librarian!  (You can always order it through Interlibrary Loan if we don't have that issue.)

Find Articles on Your Subject in These Databases

The databases here contain journal articles for plant and soil related landscape architecture research.If the MSU Libraries don't have the article you need in print or electronically, order it through Interlibrary LoanYou must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access these resources.

  • AGRICOLA
    Indexes USDA publications, core journals in agricultural and related sciences, and items acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions. Primary coverage is back to 1970, with some coverage back to the early 1900s.
  • Biological Abstracts
    This database provides abstracts to journal articles covering all aspects of the life sciences, including forestry, back to 1969.
  • CAB Abstracts
    Provides extensive coverage of journals in agriculture, forest resources, veterinary medicine, and related sciences.The EBSCO version provides coverage back to 1990.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
    This database allows users to access abstracts of masters theses and doctoral dissertations in all fields. Most theses and dissertations after 1997 (some earlier) are available in full-text as (very large) pdf files.
  • Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index
    This database "covers a wide range of serial titles including general gardening titles of national, international, and regional interest, and titles devoted to specialty gardens and plant groups." Coverage dates back to 1960s.
  • Google Scholar
    This version of Google indexes the websites of commercial publishers, governments, universities, and other organizations.
  • Plant Management Network Extension Publications
    A search of hard-to-find publications from Extension Service resources across the United States.
 

Set Up Your Own Alerts!

By setting up your own alerts, you can stay on top of what is being published in your research area.

Search Alerts

Search Alerts notify you when new articles are added about your research topic. The following steps show how to set up Search Alerts in EBSCO databases (such as AGRICOLA, CAB Abstracts, etc.). Most non-EBSCO databases also allow you to set up alerts.  

  1. Set up a profile for the database you are using

  2. Perform your search

  3. Click on Alert/Save/Share

  4. Click on Create an Alert

  5. Set your alert preferences.

Table of Contents Alerts

For immediate notification when new issues of your favorite journals become available, set up Table of Contents Alerts.

  1. Go to the publishers website.

  2. Find the homepage of the journal.

  3. Look for the link to to sign up for Table of Contents Alerts.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip