This is the "Reference Books" page of the "Geoscience Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Geoscience Research Guide  Tags: geosciences  

Last update: Oct 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/content.php?pid=62651  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Books             Print Page
  
 

Reference Department

The Reference Department is located on the 2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library.

Telephone: 325-7667
E-mail: reference@library.msstate.edu

 
 

How to find books?

To locate books of a particular topic, you can try the searching below:

1. MSU Libraries' Online Catalog. Searching by author, title, keyword, subject, etc., you will find call number, location, and checking status of a book in all libraries of MSU.

2. Inter-Library Loan (ILL). If no library in MSU owns a particular book, you may want to borrow it from other libraries. You can simply fill out an online inter-library loan request form (https://illiad.library.msstate.edu/illiad/).

Online Reference Resources

The following resources can be found in Credo Reference:

In Encyclopedias section
The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide

In Geography section
CIA World Factbook
The Collins World Atlas Gazetteer
The Dictionary of Human Geography
The Dictionary of Physical Geography
Geography of the World
The Houghton Mifflin Dictionary of Geography
Merriam-Webster's Geographical Dictionary
Penguin Encyclopedia of Places

In Science section
Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs
Encyclopedia of Paleontology
Encyclopedia of Volcanoes
Guide to Gems
Guide to Global Hazards
Guide to Minerals, Rocks and Fossil

 

Click below to access these resources:

 

Reference Books - Geology

  • Encyclopedia of hydrological sciences
    Call Number: Ref GB655 .E527 2005
    ISBN/ISSN: 0471491039
    Hoboken, NJ : J. Wiley, c2005.
    Nearly 200 articles on 17 hydrological themes. 5 volumes with illustrations and maps.

  • Geology in the Field - Compton, Robert R.
    Call Number: QE45 .C63 1985
    ISBN/ISSN: 0471829021
    New York: Wiley & Sons, Inc., 1985.
    Guide to discipline of information mapping theory. Compact size for field use.

 

Reference Books - GIS

  • GIS data sources - Decker, Drew
    Call Number: Ref G70.212 .D44 2001
    ISBN/ISSN: 0471355054
    New York: J. Wiley, 2001.
    Provides guidelines for evaluating data sources and how to select the correct data source for a project.

 

Reference Books - Meteorology

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait