Recommended Reading
- May 20th, 2009: Protecting Homeowners, Protecting the Economy "The President has just signed the Helping Families Save Their Homes Act and the Fraud Enforcement and Recovery Act into law, landmark pieces of legislation addressing the problems that helped set off the economic crisis we are fighting through now."
- May 12, 2009: Through Boom and Bust: Minorities, Immigrants and Homeownership "The boom-and-bust cycle in the U.S. housing market over the past decade and a half has generated greater gains and larger losses for minority groups than it has for whites, according to an analysis of housing, economic and demographic data . . . "
- Feb. 25, 2009: New U.Va. Study Sheds Light on Foreclosures in States and Metropolitan Areas "National housing price declines and foreclosures have not been as severe as some analyses have indicated, and they are not as important as financial manipulations in bringing on the global recession, according to a new analysis . . ."
- Dec. 22, 2008: Homeownership Vesting Plan--Moody's By Mark M. Zandi. Article providing an overview of the housing/foreclosure crisis with future predictions and data, and considerations of how to stop the crisis.
- Borrowing to Live: Consumer and Mortgage Credit Revisited A compilation of research from Understanding Consumer Credit: A National Symposium on Expanding Access, Informing Choices, and Protecting Consumers, convened by the Joint Center in November 2007.
- The State of the Nation's Housing 2008: Provides a good overview of what led to and events in of the Housing Crisis. Contents include: Executive Summary, Housing Markets, Demographic Drivers, Homeownership, Rental Housing, Housing Challenges and Appendix and Tables.
- Shelterforce The journal of affordable housing and community building from the National Housing Institute which is covering the housing crisis from various points of view. Topics include equality, economic development, neighborhood change, organizing, policies, etc.
- April 4, 2008: The Housing Bust: a Statistical Portrait Economists will eventually write volumes to explain where the Great Housing Bust of 2008 came from. But for now, a few choice statistics do a pretty handy job.
- Subprime Market Series from the Milken Institute James Barth and several colleagues at the nonprofit Milken Institute have written a number of studies that plumb the causes of the subprime meltdown and the ensuing damage.
HUD Current News

Loading RSS Feed...
NY Times: Foreclosure

Loading RSS Feed...
US News & World Report: Real Estate

Loading RSS Feed...
National Housing Institute

Loading RSS Feed...
Brookings Institute: Housing

Loading RSS Feed...
About
This page covers the broader issues of the housing and foreclosure crisis in the US, and includes current news links and links to resources to revitalize communities. For information on assistance available to individual homeowners to prevent foreclosure or for assistance with relocation after a foreclosure, see the Living in a Recession guide, Housing & Food Assistance and Mississippi Information.
For addiutional information on fraud or scams during this crisis, see our page on Scams and Frauds in our Living In A Recession guide.
News on Housing/Foreclosure
- $8,000 home credit still in play Negotiations about whether and how to extend and expand the tax credit for homebuyers are moving quickly. Here are the latest developments.
- 4 questions on $6,500 home tax credit Homeowners who want to take advantage of a new home tax credit worth up to $6,500, when they buy a new place, have until April 30, 2010 to get a deal under way. Is it time for you to get moving?
- Congress expands homebuyer tax credit, extends jobless benefits Congress took further steps to right the staggering economy by expanding a popular tax credit for homebuyers and extending unemployment checks for the growing legions of people running out of benefits with few job prospects.
- FannieMae Media Center Fannie Mae is a government-sponsored enterprise (GSE) chartered by Congress with a mission to provide liquidity and stability to the U.S. housing and mortgage markets.
- FreddieMac News and Information Center Freddie Mac, one of America's biggest buyers of home mortgages, is a stockholder-owned corporation chartered by Congress in 1970 to keep money flowing to mortgage lenders in support of homeownership and rental housing.
- New York Times: Foreclosures Headlines, multimedia and articles on the foreclosure crisis as published in the New York Times.
Government Documents and Legislation
- Helping Families Save Their Homes Act 2009 Text of the law and its legislative history.
- Fraud Enforcement and Recovery Act 2009 Text and legislative history of the law.
- The Mortgage Crisis Full text links to US government documents: Legislation & Regulations; Letters, Statements & Announcements; Congressional Hearings; HOPE for Homeowners Act; Fannie Mae & Freddie Mac; FHA; Homeowner Affordability & Stability; and Making Home Affordable.
- HUD, Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008 FAQ Provides information for homeowners and lenders who may benefit from the program.
- Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008 Text of the law and its legislative history.
Rebuilding Communities
- NeighborWorks America A national nonprofit organization created by Congress to provide financial support, technical assistance, and training for community-based revitalization efforts.
- Foreclosure Crisis Resources Compilation of resources on the foreclosure crisis from the National Housing Institute.
- Avoiding Foreclosure Resource Center: Helping You Help Consumers
Aimed at sellers, servicers and community-based organizations, this web page features information on best practices for preventing home loss. - Freddie Mac and the Housing Crisis “Freddie Mac is working to support the housing market and answer the nation’s call to assist with its recovery. One of Freddie Mac’s top priorities is helping to stem the current foreclosure crisis.”
- Prevent Foreclosures and Help Affected Renters and Owners From HousingPolicy,Org. “States and localities have adopted a range of short- and long-term educational, financial, legal, and regulatory policies for preventing foreclosures and protecting affected families and communities.”
- Facilitate the Reuse of Abandoned, Vacant, and Tax-Delinquent Properties From HousingPolicy.org. "This set of policies helps communities to meet their affordable housing and community development needs by bringing disinvested properties back into productive use."
- StableCommunities.Org StableCommunities.org provides resources to nonprofit organizations and their public and private partners, including state and local governments, rehab contractors, researchers, funders, and servicers in the wake of the foreclosure crisis.
Non-Government Research Organizations
- National Housing Institute
“An independent nonprofit organization dedicated to fostering decent, affordable housing and a vibrant community for everyone." - Joint Center for Housing Studies
Topics include community development, finance, government programs, homeownership, industry studies, international, markets, remodeling, rental housing, and seniors. - HousingPolicy.Org
An online guide to state and local housing policy developed and maintained by the Center for Housing Policy, the research affiliate of the National Housing Conference. - Brookings: Housing Page from the Brookings Insititute devoted to studies on the housing/foreclosure crisis.
- CATO: Housing Markets links to books, book chapters, articles, case studies, opinion and commentary, events, and speeches and congressional testimony as compiles by the CATO Institute.
Reference Librarian |
Jason D. PhillipsContact Info:
Assistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Assistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Reference Librarian |
Christine FletcherOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
![]() |
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
Reference Librarian |
P. Judy LiContact Info:
Assistant Professor/
Business Reference Librarian
395 Hardy Rd
Mississippi State, MS 39762
(662) 325 - 9346
Send Email
Subjects:
Business Information Research
Assistant Professor/
Business Reference Librarian
395 Hardy Rd
Mississippi State, MS 39762
(662) 325 - 9346
Send Email
Subjects:
Business Information Research
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait