Reference Books
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, - Bureau of the Census
Call Number: HA202 .U82 2009
ISBN/ISSN: 1598044605
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web
Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations- Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys - Standard and Poor's Corporation
Call Number: HC106.6 .S74
ISBN/ISSN: 0196-4666
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys are the fastest way to come up to speed on the players and events impacting over fifty (50) of the largest North American and global industries. Each report is authored by a Standard & Poor's industry research analyst and includes the following sections: Current Environment, Industry Trends, How the Industry Operates, Key Industry Ratios and Statistics, How to Analyze a Company, Glossary of Industry Terms, Additional Industry Information References and Comparative Company Financial Analysis. - Standard & Poor's Quarterly Dividend Record - Standard and Poor's Corporation
Call Number: HG4908 .S775
Standard & Poor's Dividend Record provides the comprehensive and detailed data you need to track and process payments and corporate actions. It covers over 22,000 equity securities, including an extensive list of over 12,000 open and closed end funds. - Industry norms and key business ratios, one year - Dun & Bradstreet Credit Services
Call Number: HF5681.R25 I525
This work provides financial norm and business ratio data developed from actual company income statements and balance sheets. The information is arranged by SIC code, with a short industry title, and an indication of the number of companies in each industry sample. Both typical and common-size financial statements and 14 key ratios provide important information about industry performance with respect to solvency, efficiency and, profitability. - Almanac of Business & Industrial Financial Ratios - Leo Troy
Call Number: HF5681.R25 A45
ISBN/ISSN: 0747-9107
Publication provides comparative benchmark data for 199 industry groups based on over 5 million IRS corporate tax returns. Data is categorized by asset size within an industry group, and includes income and expenses, balance sheets, and key business ratios. Expense detail includes cost of sales, salaries and wages, officer compensation, taxes, interest, amortization and depreciation, advertising, employee benefits, and other expenses as a percentage of sales. - RMA Annual Statement Studies - Robert Morris Associates
Call Number: HF5681.B2 R63
Contains composite financial data from financial statements of manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting businesses. Designed to be particularly useful to lending and credit risk professionals who want to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business.
Unemployment Statistics
- How the Government Measures Unemployment
This guide defines what unemployment information is collected, how this information is defined, and where you can go to find the data. See the "More Information" pop-up.
Library Databases
- Mergent Online Provides global detailed financial data for over 35,000 active and inactive companies. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
- Business Source Complete Additional full text, non-journal content includes: financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Bankruptcy Data This website requires a subscription, but users are able to find the case details and judgment for companies that recently filed for bankruptcy. Users are then recommended to use this information for a search in Lexis/Nexis Academic, where they can obtain the full-text information.
- Lexis/Nexis Statistical Statistical Universe enables easy access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
- Lexis/Nexis Academic Provides access to a wide range of news, legal, and business information. Includes access to full-text business resources such as the Hoover business guides. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
Online Resources
- Bankruptcy Statistics from the U.S. Courts
The Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts compiles statistics on bankruptcy filings for each quarter ending December, March, June and September. Quarterly and 12-month statistics are available approximately 2 months after the close of a quarter. - BizStats BizStats collects, analyzes, edits and adds value to public data. BizStats selects and analyzes raw data to develop value-added calculations and useful statistics, and publishes the results in a unique, easily accessible format.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics Access statistical time series covering such topics as the consumer price indexes, employee cost index, and local area unemployment statistics.
- Consumer Price Indexes Provides access to the latest CPI figures, as well as historical data.
- Country Data: Economic Statistics by Country Online version of the CIA World Factbook. Data is updated periodically and includes international statistical and demographic information as well as online maps.
- Economic Census Data The Economic Census is the official site by Census Bureau. It helps providing industry statistics of your local areas in order to facilitate organizations' making informed business decisions.
- Economic Indicators from the U.S. Census Bureau This website posts monthly economic indicators that the U.S. Census tracks.
- Economic Report of the President Includes a pdf version of the most recent Economic Report of the President as well as full-text search engine which allows the user to search reports back to 1996 for terms. Includes statistical tables produced as an appendix to the report.
- Economic Statistics Briefing Room (ESBR) The purpose of this service is to provide easy access to current Federal economic indicators. It provides links to information produced by a number of Federal agencies. All of the information included in the Economic Statistics Briefing Room is maintained and updated by the statistical units of those agencies. All the estimates for the indicators presented in the Federal Statistics Briefing Rooms are the most currently available values.
- Free Industry Reports This resource provides basic information about 900 industries in the United States. Users can request a free industry report of own choice with agreement to the website's Terms and Conditions.
- U.S. Economy at a Glance Provides a state-level overview of key economic variables. Also includes economic information for selected metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs). Includes access to employment and unemployment data.
- World Bank Datasets
These datasets were compiled for World Bank research concerning: Finance and Private Sector Research and Macroeconomics and Growth. See the "More Information" for the other major areas covered. - Yahoo! Stock Screener Quick and easy tool to find: Share Data, Sales and Profitability, Valuation Ratios, and Analyst Estimates on selected stocks.
Reference Librarian |
Jason D. PhillipsContact Info:
Assistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Assistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Reference Librarian |
Christine FletcherOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
![]() |
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
Reference Librarian |
P. Judy LiContact Info:
Assistant Professor/
Business Reference Librarian
395 Hardy Rd
Mississippi State, MS 39762
(662) 325 - 9346
Send Email
Subjects:
Business Information Research
Assistant Professor/
Business Reference Librarian
395 Hardy Rd
Mississippi State, MS 39762
(662) 325 - 9346
Send Email
Subjects:
Business Information Research
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait