About
For information on housing, nutrition, employment and food aid in Mississippi, see the Mississippi Information page in our Living In A Recession guide.
Gov. Barbour Video Channel

Loading RSS Feed...
Mississippi Stimulus News
Recommended Reading
- Nov. 16, 2009: Governor Barbour Presents FY 2011 Executive Budget Recommendation Governor Haley Barbour today proposed a 12 percent budget reduction for most state agencies and called for the merger of some state agencies, universities and school districts in his Executive Budget Recommendation for Fiscal Year 2011.
- Nov. 4, 2009: MSU and MS Development Authority To Receive Recovery Funds for Energy Efficiency Projects Mississippi State University's Industrial Assessment Center will receive $150,000 in American Recovery and Reinvestment Act funds for an industrial energy efficiency project. The Mississippi Development Authority's Energy Division will receive $350,000 to create partnerships through its Industrial Advisory Board and reduce energy use in the industrial and manufacturing sectors.
- Oct. 23, 2009: Mississippi the buzz at Biomass Summit California-based Blufire has announced plans to build a cellulosic ethanol plant in Fulton utilizing non-food biomass such as wood. Enerkem announced plans for a cellulosic ethanol plant in Pontotoc in March, which would use landfill trash. Indeck Energy Services Inc. has begun construction on the Indeck Magnolia, LLC, biofuel plant, which will use agriculture and wood waste. Rentech is working on technology for a plant in Natchez that would use fossil feedstocks to produce synthetic fuels.
- July 20, 2009: Online Forum: Better understanding the Recovery Act's transparency guidelines OMB and the Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board are kicking off a four-day series of online forums to help recipients of Recovery dollars better understand and comply with the Act's transparency guidelines.
- Unemployment Insurance: More money, more problems From The Economist, July 2, 2009: Earlier this year Haley Barbour, Governor of Mississippi, said he did not want federal money for unemployment insurance because it would force Mississippi to pony up for people who are “not willing” to take a full-time job. Mississippi’s malingering rate has soared to 9.6%, but Mr Barbour has not relented.
- MSU VP for Research and Economic Development: Stimulus Opportunities To help assist the MSU research community in taking advantage of the federal stimulus money available, the Office of Research & Economic Development has developed a website with available sources.
- GAO Includes Mississippi in Its Oversight of ARRA GAO bimonthly reviews will focus on 16 states and DC, which contain about 65 percent of the U.S. population and are estimated to receive about two-thirds of the intergovernmental grants funds available through ARRA. Scroll down to Bimonthly Reviews.
- President Obama's Economic Recovery Plan Helps Mississippi AFCSME Legislative Fact Sheet summarizing federal recovery information for MS, including a detailed table of federal programs and new funding for Mississippi in the millions, with explanatory paragraphs for the various programs.
- April 28, 2009: More Than $321 Million in Recovery Funds Now Available for Mississippi to Save Jobs and Drive Reform
- Mississippi Stimulus Summit, April 16, 2009 Governor Haley Barbour brought together state agency heads, legislators and local government officials as well as the public to participate in a Mississippi Stimulus Summit on April 16. Agency leaders explained their plans for implementing programs.
- American Recovery And Reinvestment Plan: Job Impact By Congressional District Updated 2/17/2009. Outlines the impact of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act compromise package on employment by congressional district by state.
Official Sites for Mississippi Recovery and Reporting
Official sites for the state of Mississippi on Recovery programs and funds accountability/transparency.
- Mississippi Recovery Site Includes links to reports, news/press releases, programs/grants and related web sites.
- Mississippi Stimulus FAQ Answers to questions about the stimulus in MS for individuals and businesses.
- Stimulus News Press releases from the official state of Mississippi stimulus website.
- ARRA in Mississippi Guidebook "This guidebook is intended to provide the local leaders . . . with as much of an advantage as possible in securing funds, meeting our needs, and creating jobs."
- State Agency Stimulus Websites Scroll down to a list of links to state agency stimulus pages.
- State Agencies Certifications of State Stimulus Programs from MS agencies. Links to relevant agencies and programs.
- State Auditor’s ARRA Resources From the Mississippi Office of the State Auditor. Includes meeting minutes, memos, forms and a time line of GAO mandates.
- Mississippi Management and Reporting System ARRA Site Includes Mississippi Recovery Policies and Procedures, SAAS and SPAHRS Procedures and helpful links.
- Region 4: EPA Southeast Information Related to the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (Recovery Act) Provides information about environmental projects administered by the EPA in Region 4 (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and 6 Tribes) under ARRA. Information posted as it becomes available.
- Recovery Act: Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program: Allocations and Disparate Information From the Bureau of Justice Assistance. Downloadable file of grant totals by county and municipality for Mississippi.
Library Resources for MS Economic News
For residents of Mississippi who are not affiliated with Mississippi State University, please refer to this page for resources available to you through MAGNOLIA.
- Search MS State and Local Newswires in Lexis Nexis Academic In the search box, type in search with Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) capitalized. Sample searches: Mississippi AND recovery, Mississippi AND economic stimulus, Mississippi AND bailout. Change the Specify Date box to search the past 3-6 months only. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
- Mississippi Business Journal Full text access to the Journal from 9/30//96 through the present. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
Mississippi Recovery-Related Resources
- State Treasurer Tate Reeves Says: 'Federal Stimulus Money Allows State to Leave the Rainy Day Fund Alone' State Treasurer Tate Reeves' March 2, 2009 address to attendees at the Stennis-Capitol Press luncheon. He discussed how Mississippi's budget is faring in the current recession. Office of the Mississippi State Treasurer: http://www.treasury.state.ms.us/
- MS Secretary of State: Stanford Information Information on the Stanford International Bank closure.
- Mississippi's Banks And Credit Unions Are Safe Op-ed piece from John S. Allison, Commissioner, Mississippi Department of Banking and Consumer Finance.
- Mississippi Stimulus Spending News From Finance Industry Today. "Mississippi Stimulus Spending News is an EIN News Service for finance industry professionals. Constantly updated news and information about Mississippi."
Reference Librarian |
Jason D. PhillipsContact Info:
Assistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Assistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Reference Librarian |
Christine FletcherOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
![]() |
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
Reference Librarian |
P. Judy LiContact Info:
Assistant Professor/
Business Reference Librarian
395 Hardy Rd
Mississippi State, MS 39762
(662) 325 - 9346
Send Email
Subjects:
Business Information Research
Assistant Professor/
Business Reference Librarian
395 Hardy Rd
Mississippi State, MS 39762
(662) 325 - 9346
Send Email
Subjects:
Business Information Research
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait