Recommended Reading
- Tracking the Global Recession The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis has created this website, which will be updated periodically as new information and data releases are available. You will find a collection of charts reporting the current trends of several economic indicators and real gross domestic product and its related components. Reported alongside the current trend, each chart reports the average decline of the series over past recessions and the range of the declines.
- July 23, 2009: Rebalancing the world economy: America Dropping the shopping Can America wean itself off consumption? The first of a series on how the world’s four biggest economies must change to ensure sustainable global growth
- July 27, 2009: World Trade - After the Fall The collapse in world trade has stopped, but there is no sign of a recovery.
- July 29, 2009: Frugal Norway Stays Afloat Amid Economic Crisis Unlike almost every other country in the West, Norway remains relatively unscathed by the worst financial crisis in decades. While most nations spent during boom years, Norway saved. Today, housing prices and consumption are rising, interest rates are low, and frugal management of income from Norway's huge oil and natural gas reserves have helped the country build one of the world's biggest investment funds.
- August 13, 2009: Europe's Economies Sailing Away France and Germany are drifting out of recession. The rest of Europe is stuck in the doldrums.
- August 13, 2009: Asia an Astonishing Rebound Asia’s emerging economies are leading the way out of recession; now they must make their recovery last.
- August 13, 2009: Recession Eases Its Grip On Europe The recession in the 16 countries that use the euro eased substantially between April and June after unexpected growth in Germany and France, the currency bloc's two largest economies, official figures showed Thursday.
World Bank
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. They help governments in developing countries reduce poverty by providing them with money and technical expertise they need for a wide range of projects-such as education, health, infrastructure, communications, government reforms and many other purposes.
- The Financial Crisis This website provides the latest information about the World Bank's activities concerning the financial crisis.
- Research from the World Bank This webpage serves as a portal to the World Bank's: Reports & Papers, Datasets, and Research Programs. There is a special emphasis on recent publications concerning the Financial Crisis.
- Policy Research Reports The World Bank's Policy Research Report series brings to a broad audience the results of World Bank research on development policy. The reports are designed to contribute to the debate on appropriate public policies for developing economies.
- Data & Research This is an online database used to find working papers, reports, and other World Bank publications.
- World Development Reports The World Bank's annual World Development Report provides a wide international readership with an extraordinary window on development economics. Each year, the report focuses on a specific aspect of development.
- Global Monitoring Global Monitoring focuses on how the world is doing in implementing the policies and actions for achieving the Millennium Development Goals and related development outcomes. It is a framework for accountability in global development policy.
- Global Economic Prospects Global Economic Prospects is an annual World Bank flagship report about global development issues and concerns.
- Issue Briefs Issue Briefs provide an overview of World Bank activities on specific topics in development such as: Climate Change, Financial Crisis, Global Food Prices, Energy, Fragile States, and Governance and Anti-Corruption.
- Topics in Development Alphabetical List of All Topics (200 +)
- Projects & Operations The World Bank carries out projects and provides a wide variety of analytical and advisory services to help meet the development needs of individual countries and the international community.
Blogs
- Africa Can... End Poverty
Blog from the World Bank concerning the financial crisis in Africa. - CGAP Microfinance
This blog discusses the CGAP's activities with microfinance, a system of providing credit, savings, money transfers, microinsurance to the poor of the world. - Crisis Talk Crisis Talk focuses on the unfolding financial crisis in emerging markets. The blog features opinions on what solutions may be possible, what shape the financial sector may take in the future, and how the crisis affects the real economy.
- East Asia and the Pacific East Asia & Pacific blog wants to create a conversation
about the development challenges today: urbanization, protection of the environment, finding renewable energy sources, and many others. It also shares information about World Bank initiatives. - The Growth Blog: Exchanging Views on Growth and Development
The Growth Blog is a forum for you - the policy maker, the academic, the student, and the interested citizen of the world - to agree, disagree, or simply to engage current practitioners on policies and issues critical to development. - Governance Matters: A Blog about Governance and Development for All This is the World Bank's blog on governance and anti-corruption. It aims at providing a space for debate and knowledge sharing on this critical field of development.
United Nations
“Although most people associate the United Nations with the issues of peace and security, the vast majority of the Organization's resources are in fact devoted to advancing the Charter's pledge to "promote higher standards of living, full employment, and conditions of economic and social progress and development". United Nations development efforts have profoundly affected the lives and well-being of millions of people throughout the world . . . The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is the principal body coordinating the economic and social work of the United Nations and its operational arms. It is serviced by the Department for Economic and Social Affairs.”
- Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Financial and economic crisis Includes a financial and economic crisis overview and information on macroeconomic trends, financing for development, social impact, challenges to sustainable development, gender perspective and statistics and monitoring.
- United Nations Conference on the World Financial and Economic Crisis and Its Impact on Development, June 24-26, 2009 Summit of world leaders to assess the global economic downturn and to identify emergency and long-term responses to mitigate the impact of the crisis, especially on vulnerable populations.
International Monetary Fund
"The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 185 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world."
- International Monetary Fund: Financial Crisis Includes new from foreign countries, crisis analysis, opinion, policy papers, background information and IMF staff position notes.
- IMF Data and Statistics IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large.
Reference Librarian |
Jason D. PhillipsAssistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Reference Librarian |
Christine Fletcher![]() |
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
Reference Librarian |
P. Judy LiAssistant Professor/
Business Reference Librarian
395 Hardy Rd
Mississippi State, MS 39762
(662) 325 - 9346
Send Email
Subjects:
Business Information Research
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait