Recommended Reading
- October 28, 2008: Depressed Economy Wallops States By Pamela M. Prah, Stateline.org Staff Writer
- July 20, 2009: Online Forum: Better understanding the Recovery Act's transparency guidelines OMB and the Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board are kicking off a four-day series of online forums to help recipients of Recovery dollars better understand and comply with the Act's transparency guidelines.
- July 17, 2009: Recovery in Action: AL, HI, KS, LA, NM, OH The Recovery Act has three main goals: to stop the free fall of our economy, to create and save jobs and jumpstart our economy, and to build the foundation for long-term economic growth. The funds provided by the Recovery Act are still creating jobs across the country and helping put people to work now, but this week we highlight projects ensuring our nation’s long-term economic growth.
- July 10, 2009: Recovery in Action: CA, GA, IA, KS, MA, MN, MT, PA, TX, and VA Though Vice President Biden singled out Recovery Act-funded projects in Ohio and New York yesterday, the rest of the country has been busy as well. The Recovery Act is creating jobs in hundreds of different ways, but today we present a snapshot of how our transportation infrastructure is being moved into the 21st Century across the country:
- July 2, 2009: Recovery in Action: CA, FL, KY, NC, ND, TN This week, the Vice President announced a $4.7 billion program to develop and improve high-speed Internet access to rural areas. This is just one of many exciting projects funded by the Recovery Act that are helping to rebuild our communities and lead us into a more prosperous future.
- July 2, 2009: State Budgets in Crisis - Happy New Year "Every state but two, commodity-rich North Dakota and Montana, has faced a deficit this year. One legislator in New Jersey described her state as “functionally bankrupt.” Most states that did pass budgets imposed painful cuts, higher taxes and fees on everything."
- June 4, 2009: In states, stimulus aid favors social programs "Remember the "shovel-ready" projects lined up for all that stimulus money? It turns out social spending, more than construction, is hitting pay dirt in the huge federal effort to turn the economy around."
- May 5, 2009: Why stimulus money goes unspent "States have to jump through hoops before they can claim the funds and put them to use. Some have to get approval from their legislatures before they can spend the money. Others must wait for municipalities and school districts to submit applications."
- April 14, 2009: State Tax Revenues Are Worst in Half a Century, Study Finds Chronicle of Higher Education article from April 14, 2009.
- March 5, 2009: States' Budget Woes Register With Public From the Pew Research Center.
- February 20, 2009: With Crisis As Catalyst, State Governors Push Big Changes By Daniel C. Vock, Stateline.org Staff Writer
Tennessee Recovery News
Arkansas Recovery News
NASCIO News
The National Association of State Chief Information Officers (NASCIO) represents state chief information officers and information technology executives and managers from the states, territories, and the District of Columbia.

Loading RSS Feed...
AFSCME Home Page
American Federation of State, County and Municipal Emoloyees Home Page feed.

Loading RSS Feed...
AFSCME Press Releases
Recovery by State
Many states now have their own recovery web pages that help explain how they are spending funds allocated by the American Reinvestment and Recovery Act of 2009.
- State Oversight of Federal Stimulus Funds
The following provides a brief summary of actions that states are proposing or taking to provide oversight and transparency of ARRA. Also included are state websites that will provide information on implementation and spending of funds from ARRA. - State Fiscal Stabilization Fund Listing of allocation from the State Fiscal Stabilization Fund (Millions of dollars, total allocated over FY2009-FY2010).
- State Recovery Sites From Recovery.Gov, this page features a map providing links to state recovery pages. Many more pages will come online – with much more information – in the weeks and months ahead, so check back often.
- MASCIO. State Accountability, Transparency and Recovery Websites In addition to links to each state's main recovery website, this list provides links to areas within each state website to help the public drill down to pertinent state level information, including transparency and budgets.
- Alabama Recovery Site Includes information on how the stimulus will affect local government, business, education, nonprofit groups and individuals in Alabama. Also includes an FAQ for Alabama.
- Arkansas Recovery Site Includes information on recovery programs, funds and accountability.
- Georgia Recovery SIte Includes information about direct aid to Georgia and state agency contacts.
- Louisiana Recovery Site According to the LA Department of Transportation, ARRA provides $430 million in highway funding and $66 million in transit funding for Louisiana. This site provides information for the public regarding those projects.
- Tennessee Recovery Site A comprehensive site covering how recovery funds can help the state of TN. Includes an allocation summary, links to state agency recovery sites, coverage by subject (education small business, etc.) documents and reports, an FAQ and news and updates.
Resources from National Organizations for State/Municipal Governance
The following national associations have web pages dedicated to disseminating infromation reagding the economic stimulus and recovery and its impact on states. These web sites often provide indepth information and a wealth of helpful links to federal resources to help those in state government drill down to the specific information they need to implement Recovery efforts at the state level.
- United States Conference of Mayors. Mainstreet Economic Recovery Includes links to government information, news articles, official letters, etc. regarding funding and deadlines, news from cities and best practices, and obstacles for cities.
- NCSL-National Conference of State Legislatures. Economic Stimulus 2009 A wealth of information including links to NCSL documents and correspondence, and congressional recovery pages. The page also provides a large table with a number of links to individual federal government agency pages on a variety of topics.
- NASCIO-National Association of State Chief Information Officers. Government Affairs & Advocacy. Economic Recovery A wealth of information including NASCIO resources and efforts on the Recovery Act, federal resources on the Recovery Act, federal agencies Recovery information , and state accountability, transparency and Recovery websites.
- StateRecovery.Org. A Service of the Council of State Governments "Designed to help states: 1) rapidly decipher potential funding opportunities; and 2) share best practices by tracking how the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of state government are responding to and impacted by this historic legislation."
- Progressive States Network. Implementing the Recovery Plan: A Resource Guide for State Legislators and Advocates Focused on implementing recovery at the state level, this site provides a wealth of information on transparency requirements, education, health care, clean energy and transportation investments, broadband provisions, and unemployment and training programs
- American Federation of State, County and Municipal Emoloyees. State and Local Fiscal Relief The page includes links to 3-page funding fact sheets for each state prepared by the AFSCME, links to fact sheets prepared by the White House, ARRA Alerts, and updates on the stimulus implementation.
Government Resources for States
- Online Forum: Better understanding the Recovery Act's transparency guidelines The OMB and the Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board hosted a series of online forums to help recipients of Recovery dollars better understand and comply with the Act's transparency guidelines.
- White House Releases State by State Numbers; American Recovery and Reinvestment Act to Save or Create 3.5 Million Jobs Press release from the White House, 2/17/2009, with tables and fact sheets outlining the impact of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.
- Local Impact of the Capital Purchase Program
Interactive map representing locations where the Dept. of the Treasury has funded transactions through the Capital Purchase Program (CPP) that will be updated as new transactions are announced. Hover for state totals and click for a list of sellers. - Authoritative Resources on the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act Report from the Congressional Research Service with an overview of information and web links.
Reference Librarian |
Jason D. PhillipsAssistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Reference Librarian |
Christine Fletcher![]() |
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
Reference Librarian |
P. Judy LiAssistant Professor/
Business Reference Librarian
395 Hardy Rd
Mississippi State, MS 39762
(662) 325 - 9346
Send Email
Subjects:
Business Information Research
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait