Table of Contents
- Reference - For Mississippi Residents This page is for reference resources available to the people of Mississippi through MAGNOLIA.
- Reference - Statistics & Data This page contains resources, books, and databases for statistical information.
- Reference - Suggested Articles This contains a brief bibliography of peer-reviewed articles concerning the economic and financial crisis.
- Reference - Suggested Books This page contains links to books about the economic and financial crisis.
Recommended Reading
- How the Crisis Happened Harvard historian Niall Ferguson argues that financial crises are inevitable - and that some radical thinking will be needed to get us out of this one.
- Books on Economic & Financial Crisis The University of Florida Libraries has created a thorough and exhaustive list of books on the crisis that we highly recommend you look at.
Ready Reference Resources
- Mergent Industry Review. New York : Mergent FIS, Inc, 2009.
- Ref HG4961 .M68
- Provides global detailed financial data for over 35,000 active and inactive companies.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. Amsterdam : Elsevier, 2001.
Ref H41 .I58 2001 - A 26 volume encyclopedia covering all aspects of the social sciences, including economics. Signed entries are written by prominent economists and include bibliographical references.
-
The New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics. London: Stockton Press, 1987.
Ref HB61 .N49 1987 - The classic reference for economics, this four volume set provides extensive overviews of key economic concepts. Entries are signed by the contributor and include a bibliographical reference section.
-
Pearce, David W. The MIT Dictionary of Modern Economics. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1992.
Ref HB61 .P4 1992 - A concise economics dictionary, providing brief definitions for core topics.
-
Blaug, Mark. Who's Who in Economics. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 1999.
Ref HB76 .W47 1999 - A biographical dictionary of major economists, covering the period 1700 - 1996.
-
A Biographical Dictionary of Women Economists. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2000.
Ref HB76 .B535 2000 - Provides bibliographical entries for prominent women economists from the early 1800's to the present.
-
Frankin, Norman. Guide to Economic Indicators. Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 2000.
Ref HC103 .F9 2000 - most current edition available behind the Ready Reference Desk. - Provides concise explanations for over 70 economic indicators, covering both domestic and international variables.
-
NAICS Desk Reference. Indianapolis, IN: JIST, 2000.
Ref HF 1041.5 .N35 2000 - most current edition available behind the Ready Reference Desk. - Provides an overview of the NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) structure, industry descriptions, and NAICS codes within industry groupings.
-
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and Law. London: Macmillan Reference, 1998.
Ref K487 .E3 N48 1998 - Less in-depth than the 1987 edition, this three volume set provides definitions for key economics concepts. Shorter, updated entries provide the user with a brief overview of a topic, without the depth of coverage provided in the 1987 edition.
-
OECD Economic Surveys: Various Countries. Paris: Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.
Call Number Varies--all issues are located in the Reference Room. - The Economics Department of the OECD Secretariat produces annual reviews of member countries' economies, as well as for selected non-members. Cataloged separately, each issue includes an overview of economic developments, special reports on topics of interest, and extensive statistical information.
Comprehensive Reference Sources
The following websites provide comprehensive information about the economic crisis from government and news sources.
- U.S. Financial Crisis This LibGuide, created by Alissa Black-Dorward (Fordham University School of Law), provides an exhaustive listing of government documents concerning the current economic crisis.
- The Financial Crisis The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis has created a thorough and comprehensive website of resources, timelines, publications, and financial data.
- How Recessions Work This is a comprehensive resource that explains the Recession in a way the general public can understand.
- Fallout: America's Financial Crisis Marketplace is an NPR radio program that focuses on business, the economy, and the events and issues that impact them. This program has created a website of stories and resources about the Financial Crisis.
- Eye on the Economy This CBS News website provides in-depth interactive features on U.S. markets, taxes, employment and the Federal Reserve.
- Road to Rescue CNN has created a web resource that archives all its stories concerning the economic crisis and includes a multimedia section.
- Economy Tracker CNN's Economy Tracker allows users to see economic data on unemployment, jobs by industry, and foreclosures dating back to January 2007. Additionally, it provides access to personal stories from CNN I-Reporters affected by the recession.
- Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Resources This is a thorough and comprehensive resource that provides the latest information on U.S. economic performance and other financial information.
- Follow the Money: Bailout Tracker The government is engaged in a far-reaching - and expensive - effort to rescue the economy. Here's how you can keep tabs on the bailouts. CNNMoney.com is tracking developments in the economic rescue as they happen.
- Reforming the Nation's Financial System: A Timeline A new website designed to help the public keep track of major financial regulatory developments. The site tracks Congressional and regulatory agency hearings and testimonies as well as key House and Senate committee member statements. The timeline begins with March 19, 2009, when the Senate Committee on Banking, Housing & Urban Affairs held its first hearing on Modernizing Bank Supervision and Regulation.
Glossaries
What is a toxic asset? What is a ponzi scheme? What is the difference between a recession and a depression? Below is a list of glossaries that offer a basic and understandable definition for all the buzzwords going around.
- Robert Cole's Recessionsaurus Your essential guide to language in the 21st century economy from the Times of London Online.
- Glossary: Translating the Financial Crisis A list of relevant terminology from the International Herald Tribune (global edition of the NY Times).
- Glossary: Federal Reserve of Saint Louis Terms relevant to the financial crisis from the Federal Reserve Bank of Saint Louis.
- Lesson Plan: Financial Crisis Glossary, Background and Vocabulary From PBS, a glossary from the NewsHour Extra.
- Financial Crisis Glossary From American Public Media, "here are some of the terms mentioned throughout the coverage of the financial crisis that you should know."
Primers
The following resources can serve as introductions to the topic of the financial crisis. They provide time lines and a narrative overview of what happened to get us where we are today.
- The Financial Crisis: A Timeline of Events and Policy Actions From the Federal Reserve of Saint Louis, the time line begins in February 2007 and features links to relevant news documents.
- 2008 Financial Crisis Primer Links to resources providing an overview of the crisis by the Chicago-Kent College of Law.
- A Primer on the Financial Crisis General brief time line from the New York Times.
- Diamond and Kashyap on the Recent Financial Upheavals By Steven D. Levitt, economist, who when asked to explain the crisis, turned to his two knowledgeable colleagues, Doug Diamond and Anil Kashyap, who provided an educational primer.
Peer-Reviewed Article Search
This search box will allow you to search for articles in 6 EBSCO databases. The search has already been configured to look for full-text, peer-reviewed articles, though these options can be changed in the search interface.
(You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access these resources.)
Electronic Journals
Indexes & Databases
- American FactFinder The AFF serves as the online web portal for the U.S. Census Bureau. The AFF allows you to view, print, and download statistics about population, housing, industry, and business data. AFF allows the user to identify U.S. Census Bureau products, create reference and thematic maps, and search for specific data in the 1990 and 2000 Census, as well as the American Community Surveys and the 1997 Economic Census.
- EconLit A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. Includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
- Business Source Complete Provides indexing to over 3,000 business journals, with fulltext access to over 2,700 journals. The database also includes country reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit, WEFA, CountryWatch and Icon Group. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
- JSTOR Provides Online archive of back issues in the social sciences and humanities. Provides full-text access to core economics journals such as the American Economic Review and the Journal of Economic Perspectives. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Provides access to a wide range of news, legal, and business information. Includes access to full-text business resources such as the Hoover business guides. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
- Mergent Online Provides financial profiles of publicly traded companies in the United States and Canada.
- NBER Working Papers Provides full-text access to the working papers of the National Bureau of Economic Research.
- REED (Research in Economic Education) Database Provides access to the REED Database, developed and hosted by the National Center for Research in Economic Education. This freely available database indexes and abstracts research journal articles in the area of economic education. Unique to REED, the indexing structure was designed specifically for the area of economic education, providing researchers with access to the economic education literature in ways not supported by either ERIC or EconLit.
Articles and Reports Bibliographies
- Articles & Papers from Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis This is a thorough bibliography of articles and papers available on the following topics: Crisis Overview; Monetary Policy; Historical Perspectives; What Caused the Crisis; and Possible Solutions.
- Government Reports from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis A brief listing of government reports concerning the crisis.
- Research from the World Bank This webpage serves as a portal to the World Bank's: Reports & Papers, Datasets, and Research Programs. There is a special emphasis on recent publications concerning the Financial Crisis.
Selected Internet Sources
- AEAweb (American Economic Association) One of the largest economics organizations, the American Economic Association website provides access to information concerning the AEA, upcoming conferences, and publications.
- Federal Reserve Home page of the Federal Reserve system, with links to data and publications as well as the separate Federal Reserve banks.
- Mississippi State University Department of Finance and Economics Information on the Finance and Economics department and its members, course offerings, research, and links to other economic sites.
- Resources for Economists on the Internet (RFE) One of the best places to begin your economics research, RFE is a metasite providing annotated links to a wide range of economics related resources.
- U.S. Government Information, by Topic: Business & Economy USA.gov is the official Web portal for the U.S. government. This site links to federal government resources by topic.
Working Papers
-
EconPapers
http://econpapers.repec.org/ - Provides access to RePEc, the world's largest collection of online working papers, journal articles, and software. Note that this service replaces older economics working paper archives, such as BibEc and WoPEc.
-
Working Paper Series (National Bureau of Economic Research)
- Produced by the National Bureau of Economic Research. Working papers cover a variety of economic topics by leading economists.
-
Federal Reserve Working Papers
http://www.federalreserve.gov/pubs/workingpapers.htm - Provides free online access to the working papers of the Federal Reserve system.
Government Gateways
The following government sites offer overviews of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) and the US economic and financial crisis.
- Government Documents Resources Exhaustive listing of all government documents relating to current economic and financial crisis. LibGuide created by Alissa Black-Dorward (Fordham University School of Law).
- Recovery.Gov THE premier site for information on the Recovery. The site explains ARRA; shows how, when and where the recovery money is spent; and provides data that will allow citizens to evaluate the Act’s progress and provide feedback.
- American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 The US is in the midst of a serious financial crisis. ARRA "lays out a plan to address the crisis through unemployment and welfare expansions, tax cuts, and investments in infrastructure, healthcare, education and energy."
- ARRA Summary Summary of how the Act should benefit the economy and the nation.
- ARRA Legislative History Includes full text of the law, links to related bills, lists of cosponsors, congressional actions, amendments and CBO cost estimates.
- USA.Gov: US Financial Crisis FAQ giving a broad overview of the financial crisis including ARRA and its goals, funding and links to related information.
- USA.Gov Business and Economics News Current news stories on business and the economy from the premier gateway to US government information.
Reference Librarian |
Jason D. PhillipsAssistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Reference Librarian |
Christine Fletcher![]() |
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
Reference Librarian |
P. Judy LiAssistant Professor/
Business Reference Librarian
395 Hardy Rd
Mississippi State, MS 39762
(662) 325 - 9346
Send Email
Subjects:
Business Information Research
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait