Recommended Reading
- June 15, 2009: A New Financial Foundation By Timothy Geithner and Lawrence Summers Geithner is secretary of the Treasury. Summers is director of the National Economic Council.
- State Tax Revenues Are Worst in Half a Century, Study Finds Chronicle of Higher Education article from April 14, 2009.
- Jobless claims top 6M; housing starts plummet by The Associated Press, Thursday April 16, 2009, 8:48 AM
- State Budgets in Crisis: Happy New Year From The Economist, July 2, 2009. Read about how the Recession is impacting state spending and how states are coping with potential deficits.
- August 3, 2003: Chart Therapy: 'Normal' Job Loss Resumes April 24, 2010 Laura Conaway, one of NPR's contributors, speculates that "normal job loss" is projected to begin April 24, 2010.
- August 6, 2009: Signs of Economic Cheer: The Sun Also Rises The economy may be pulling out of recession but unemployment is still surprisingly high. Celebrations should be delayed.
- August 7, 2009: Why The Unemployment Rate Fell So why did the number go down in July? Part of the reason is that employers cut fewer jobs -- by 247,000, against an average of 331,000 for the last three months, including July.
- August 11, 2009: The Incredible Shrinking Home The size of newly built homes fell in 2008 for the first time in almost 15 years. Is the McMansion era on the wane?
- August 13, 2009: Economists Say Recession May Be Over The Federal Reserve on Wednesday held interest rates steady, kept other stimulus measures in place and, in a sign of hope, said the economy was stabilizing.
- August 14, 2009: Colonial's Failure could Make Mortgages More Scarce Colonial BancGroup controls 25% of all warehouse-lending funds. If that money disappears, mortgage loans will be even harder to get.
- August 14, 2009: Feasting on Failed Banks Big banks are scooping up troubled, smaller institutions at a time when growth is hard to come by -- and thanks to favorable FDIC rules, more deals are likely.
- August 18, 2009: The U.S. Economy: Time for a Real Jobs Stimulus? If the recession is over, as some economists say, why are so many people still unemployed? The so-called jobless recovery is raising an intriguing question: Should America resurrect something like the Works Progress Administration (WPA) — the New Deal job-creation program that put millions of unemployed Americans to work building schools, roads, parks, libraries and other needed infrastructure projects during the Great Depression?
- September 3, 2009: Who should get credit for a recovery? Most economists agree the economy has taken a turn for the better, but agreeing what got us here is the tough part -- and it's key to avoiding future mistakes.
- September 10, 2009: Wall Street's New Shape: Rearranging the Towers of Gold Wall Street has staged a surprisingly strong recovery from its meltdown a year ago. But it will not return to business as usual.
- Oct. 30, 2009: Stimulus creates 650,000 jobs WASHINGTON (CNNMoney.com) -- The largest stimulus program in the nation's history has created or saved at least 650,000 state and local jobs, according to a report released by the Obama administration on Friday.
AP News Updates - Finance & Business
NPR's Marketplace
CNN - Economic Stimulus

Loading RSS Feed...
Time Magazine - Politics
Time Magazine - Business & Tech
BusinessWeek - Top News
BusinessWeek Magazine's latest news and analysis about current political developments, market trends, and business announcements.

Loading RSS Feed...
RealClearMarkets - Homepage
RealClearMarkets is a financial and economic news aggregator, polling data aggregator, and blog. Every day the site aggregates a wide range of columns and news stories from across the Internet as well as the most recent poll data, election related transcripts, and videos.
Below is the RSS feed for RealClearMarkets' news updates.

Loading RSS Feed...
RealClear Markets - Articles
RealClearMarkets is a financial and economic news aggregator, polling data aggregator, and blog. Every day the site aggregates a wide range of columns and news stories from across the Internet as well as the most recent poll data, election related transcripts, and videos.
Below is the RSS feed for RealClearMarkets' articles.

Loading RSS Feed...
News: Library Databases
You must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access the following resources.
- Lexis Nexis Hot Topics: Financial Crisis This page generates a list of links to newspaper articles on the financial crisis from both US and foreign newspapers (in English). An excellent resource for a quick overview of current events from an impressive variety of sources.
- LexisNexis Academic Provides access to 5 billion searchable documents from more than 32,000 legal, news and business sources.
- Newspaper Source Provides cover-to-cover full text for 28 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers and full text television and radio news transcripts.
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search™ Premier contains indexing for more than 8,200 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles.
- Ethnic News Watch
Features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. - Regional Business News Regional Business News provides full text for more than 50 regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications).
- TOPIC Search (Current Evets Full text)
In the Current Events box in the left hand column, choose Economic Recession for current articles on this topic.
Popular News Clippings
- Nov. 5, 2009: Lawmakers pass bill extending unemployment benefits by up to 20 weeks and extending homebuyer tax credit into next year. The measure would apply to those whose benefits will run out by Dec. 31, which is nearly two million people, according to Senate estimates. Those whose checks have already stopped would be able to reapply for another round. The legislation also would extend the $8,000 homebuyer tax credit to contracts signed by April 30 and closed by June 30. The Senate's bill also created a $6,500 credit for those who buy a home after owning one for the last five years.
- Oct. 30, 2009: Stimulus creates 650,000 jobs WASHINGTON (CNNMoney.com) -- The largest stimulus program in the nation's history has created or saved at least 650,000 state and local jobs, according to a report released by the Obama administration on Friday.
- Oct. 23, 2009: Mississippi the buzz at Biomass Summit California-based Blufire has announced plans to build a cellulosic ethanol plant in Fulton utilizing non-food biomass such as wood. Enerkem announced plans for a cellulosic ethanol plant in Pontotoc in March, which would use landfill trash. Indeck Energy Services Inc. has begun construction on the Indeck Magnolia, LLC, biofuel plant, which will use agriculture and wood waste. Rentech is working on technology for a plant in Natchez that would use fossil feedstocks to produce synthetic fuels.
- October 14, 2009: Credit in America: Slim pickings, no appetite Constrained lenders and wary borrowers explain falling levels of credit in America.
- October 1, 2009: After the storm: A “new normal” for the world economy The new economic landscape will be grim unless policymakers act to foster growth.
- September 11, 2009: America Out of Work: Is Double-Digit Unemployment Here to Stay? Will creating jobs be that much slower too? Will double-digit unemployment persist even after we emerge from this recession? Has the idea of full employment rather suddenly become antiquated? Is there something fundamentally broken in the heart of our economy? And if so, how can we fix it?
- August 27, 2009: Banks in the Deep South Read about the ailing banking industry in Georgia.
- August 18, 2009: The U.S. Economy: Time for a Real Jobs Stimulus? If the recession is over, as some economists say, why are so many people still unemployed? The so-called jobless recovery is raising an intriguing question: Should America resurrect something like the Works Progress Administration (WPA) — the New Deal job-creation program that put millions of unemployed Americans to work building schools, roads, parks, libraries and other needed infrastructure projects during the Great Depression?
- August 14, 2009: Feasting on Failed Banks Big banks are scooping up troubled, smaller institutions at a time when growth is hard to come by -- and thanks to favorable FDIC rules, more deals are likely.
- August 14, 2009: Colonial's Failure could Make Mortgages More Scarce Colonial BancGroup controls 25% of all warehouse-lending funds. If that money disappears, mortgage loans will be even harder to get.
- August 14, 2009: Troubled Colonial BancGroup fails, sold to BB&T Southern regional bank Colonial BancGroup sees rival grab its branches and deposits.
- June 15, 2009: A New Financial Foundation By Timothy Geithner and Lawrence Summers Geithner is secretary of the Treasury. Summers is director of the National Economic Council.
- June 10, 2009: Statement by Treasury Secretary Tim Geithner on Compensation This financial crisis had many significant causes, but executive compensation practices were a contributing factor. Includes links to "Say on Pay" fact sheet and "Providing Compensation Committees New Independence" fact sheet.
- 8 major benefits of new credit card law Here's an overview of the major changes the law will enact.
- Will the GM bankruptcy work? Some believe GM has finally made the necessary changes to be competitive, but others say there are still plenty of doubts about GM's future.
New York Times
ABC News
RSS Feeds for ABC News headlines.
- This Week This Week is a ABC Sunday morning political interview show where the moderator interviews government leaders, politicians, and international figures in the news on the latest issues.
- Nightline News program aired five nights a week.
- Money & Business
- Politics
- US News
- International
- World News
- Top Stories
CBS News
CBS News websites and RSS feeds.
- Eye on the Economy In-depth interactive features on U.S. markets, taxes, employment and the Federal Reserve.
- 60 Minutes 60 Minutes is an investigative television newsmagazine that covers an array of political, economic, and social issues. It has an archive of clips and news stories.
- Face the Nation Face the Nation is a CBS Sunday morning political interview show where the moderator interviews government leaders, politicians, and international figures in the news on the latest issues.
- Business
- U.S.
- World
- Politics
- Sunday Morning CBS News Sunday Morning is an television news magazine program.
CBS News - EconWatch
EconWatch is a blog hosted by CBS News that covers the latest news events concerning the economy.

Loading RSS Feed...
NBC News
- Meet the Press Meet the Press is a CBS Sunday morning political interview show where the moderator interviews government leaders, politicians, and international figures in the news on the latest issues.
- Stocks & Economy
- U.S. Business
- World Business
- Business Viewpoints
- U.S. news
- World News
- Politics
Reference Librarian |
Jason D. PhillipsAssistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Reference Librarian |
Christine Fletcher![]() |
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
Reference Librarian |
P. Judy LiAssistant Professor/
Business Reference Librarian
395 Hardy Rd
Mississippi State, MS 39762
(662) 325 - 9346
Send Email
Subjects:
Business Information Research
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait