Highly Recommended Video/Audio Resources
- Impacts of President Obama`s Economic Recovery Plan Paul Krugman, WWS Professor of Economics and International Affairs, Nobel Laureate, and New York Times columnist lectures about the Recovery Plan.
- Origins of the Financial Mess Alan Blinder, a Professor of Economics and Public Affairs at the Woodrow Wilson School and co-director of Princeton`s Center for Economic Policy Studies, discusses the financial crisis.
- Bad Bank The collapse of the banking system explained in just 59 minutes.
- Global Pool of Money A special program about the housing crisis in terms that all of us can easily understand. What does the housing crisis have to do with the turmoil on Wall Street? Why did banks make half-million dollar loans to people without jobs or income?
- Financial Markets These videos offer understanding of the theory of finance and its relation to the history, strengths and imperfections of such institutions as banking, insurance, securities, futures, and other derivatives markets, and the future of these institutions.
- Private Equity and the Financial Crisis On April 11, 2008, Stephen Schwarzman, discussed his thoughts on global finance, particularly at such an interesting and challenging point in the history of financial institutions.
- Learning from and Responding to Financial Crisis, Part I Professor Larry Summers, former U. S. Treasury Secretary and former President of Harvard University, in offers thoughts on the role of monetary policy in economic fluctuations, past and present.
- Learning from and Responding to Financial Crisis, Part II Professor Larry Summers, former U. S. Treasury Secretary and former President of Harvard University, in offers thoughts on the role of monetary policy in economic fluctuations, past and present.
- Global Perspectives on the Economic Crisis The world is going through one of the worst economic crisis since the Great Depression. What started as a financial crisis in the developed world has now become a global economic crisis, in which the global economy is expected to shrink for the first time since World War II. In order to understand what is going on, prominent experts and ministers from around the world share their views on how the crisis originated, how it is affecting the poor, and what countries are doing to get out of it.
- Khan Academy Videos The Khan Academy is a not-for-profit organization with the mission of providing a high quality education to anyone, anywhere. Videos are available concerning: the Bailouts, Geithner Plan, and Paulson Bailout.
International Resources
- World Bank Podcasts On the Move is a weekly podcast from Georges Collinet investigating global developmental concerns.
- World Bank Broadcast & Media High quality movies and news briefings concerning global economic and financial development and concerns.
- World Bank - B-Span B-Span is a searchable database containing over 700 World Bank video clips from conferences, meetings, and statements given at the World Bank.
National Public Radio (NPR) - Economy
National Public Radio (NPR) provides online access to their archive of news stories. This RSS feed pulls recordings about the Economy.

Loading RSS Feed...
The Economist - Finance & Economics
Audio and video recordings from The Economist on Finance & Economics.

Loading RSS Feed...
Time Magazine's Business Podcasts
BusinessWeek - Market Reports
Twice daily BusinessWeek reports on the stocks making news and moving markets. The Early Edition offers insight into news that will impact the day’s trading. After the closing bell the Late Edition offers a market wrap up. Both reports are shot at the NASDAQ MarketSite in Times Square, New York

Loading RSS Feed...
CSPAN Videos
Videos shown on CSPAN of political and economic leaders discussing the American economy from Hulu.com.

Loading RSS Feed...
Obama Administration
These are videos from MSNBC on the Obama Administration posted on Hulu.com.

Loading RSS Feed...
Economic Stimulus
News clips from various sources on the Economic Stimulus located at Hulu.com.

Loading RSS Feed...
Obama's Weekly Address
President Barack Obama's Weekly Addresses are archived here by the White House at Hulu.com.

Loading RSS Feed...
The Daily Show with Jon Stewart (shows)
RealClearMarket
RealClearMarkets is an economic and financial news aggregator, polling data aggregator, and blog. This websites harvests and archives videos in their Video Vault.

Loading RSS Feed...
Media Archives
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive has been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. **Requires a subscription to view content, but not search the collection.** - CBC Digital Archives The CBC Digital Archives allows users to listen and view generations of journalists, technicians, performers, politicians, artists and people from every walk of life who have left their mark on programs and broadcasts in the CBC/Radio-Canada archives.
- Open Vault
WGBH Media Library and Archives (MLA) has preserved, cataloged, and provided access to materials produced by WGBH. It currently houses more than 10,000 boxes of material, more than 500,000 items, and more than 50,000 audio, video, and film masters. - British Pathe British Pathe has archived over 3500 hours of filmed history (news, entertainment, culture and womens' issues) amounting to over 90,000 individual items from 1902 - 1970. All professional usages still require a license fee.
- Prelinger Archives
View over 2,000 films from the Prelinger Archives. The Archives: collects, preserves, and facilitates access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere.
National Public Radio (NPR)
Other RSS feeds from NPR stories and recordings. Also, includes links to NPR programs (program descriptions taken from NPR's website).
- Business
- Interviews
- Personal Finance
- Politics
- Politics & Society
- U.S. News
- World News
- Morning Edition Daily audio news magazine with up-to-the-minute news, background analysis, commentary, and coverage of arts and sports
- All Things Considered Daily audio news magazine with a mix of news, interviews, commentaries, reviews and offbeat features.
- Fresh Air with Terry Gross Weekday audio news magazine of contemporary arts and issues.
- Talk of the Nation NPR's midday news-talk show with interviews from influential figures on the issues that dominate the news landscape from politics and public service to education, religion, music and healthcare.
- Weekend Edition (Saturday) Weekend news magazine covering newsmakers, artists, scientists, politicans, musicians, writers, thinkers, theologians and all manner of news events.
- Weekend Edition (Sunday) Weekend news magazine covering newsmakers, artists, scientists, politicans, musicians, writers, thinkers, theologians and all manner of news events.
University Channel
UChannel presents public affairs events from academic institutions all over the world.
Here
you can see the full-length presentations of faculty, policy-makers,
and researchers who have been invited by member universities to discuss
the problems of the world -- and how to solve them.
These events are put online as a public service, brought to you by the institutions who support UChannel.
The UChannel consortium is led by Princeton University's Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs.
The other Charter Members are:
- Columbia University's School of International and Public Affairs (SIPA)
- Middlebury College's Rohatyn Center for International Affairs
- The LBJ School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas at Austin.
- Economy This link takes you to over 200 UChannel's videos and audios about the economy.
- UChannel on YouTube UChannel has their own channel on YouTube where they have archived over 400 of their video recordings.
The Economist
The Economist has a searchable archive of audio/video recordings providing in-depth news and analysis on a variety of national and international issues. Listed below are RSS feeds for different subject areas that will pull up recordings on a specific subject or will notify users of new recordings available.
YouTube Channels & Other Resources
- C-SPAN Over 900 videos archived on Congressional speeches and activities.
- AP News Over 15,000 archived news videos from the AP News Service.
- The White House Activities and speeches at the White House.
- Barack Obama President Barack Obama's personal YouTube page that contains speeches and events.
- ChangeDotGov President-elect Barack Obama's page for the interim period between the election and inauguration.
- The New York Times The New York Times has over 1,000 news stories archived on their YouTube site.
- BBC Worldwide News International video news from the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC).
- YouTubeEDU Videos and Channels from subscribing Universities and Colleges that include lectures and presentations.
- AcademicEarth This resource archives lectures from some of the top universities and professors in the country.
- Tips from the IRS
Various videos on the PayNewsNetwork's YoutTube Channel offering tips on tax preparation, fraud avoidance, unemployment, the economic crisis, and stimulus. Please see the pop-up for a disclaimer from the IRS. - World Bank The World Bank offers over 200 high quality films and news briefings concerning financial and economic conditions across the globe.
- IMFWEB: International Monetary Fund The IMF channel features videos focusing on the global financial crisis, including videos focusing on how individual countries are weathering the crisis.
- United Nations Television "The United Nations Channel features videos on a wide range of global topics including current news, peace and security, social and economic development, human rights and climate change."
ABC News
- This Week George Stephanopoulos' "This Week" features interviews and roundtable debates on important political issues of the week.
- Money Minute A daily personal finance report on the economy, Wall Street and the latest business trends. Brought to you by ABCNews.com.
- Nightline Unparalleled in-depth reporting on the major stories in the news and the events affecting our world.
- World News A daily podcast of stories around the world plus technology, pop culture, and the top searches on Google.
- Money & Business
CBS News
- 60 Minutes 60 Minutes is an investigative television newsmagazine that covers an array of political, economic, and social issues. It has an archive of clips and news stories.
- Face the Nation Face the Nation is a CBS Sunday morning political interview show where the moderator interviews government leaders, politicians, and international figures in the news on the latest issues.
- Sunday Morning CBS News Sunday Morning is an television news magazine program.
- Business
- Politics News
- U.S. News
- World News
- Opinion
NBC News
- Meet the Press Meet the Press is a CBS Sunday morning political interview show where the moderator interviews government leaders, politicians, and international figures in the news on the latest issues.
- NBC News - Hard Times Video archive for NBC News videos concerning Stocks and the Economy.
- NBC News
- NBC News - World News
CNN Audio/Video Podcasts
- CNN News Update (hourly audio) The latest news happening in the U.S. and around the world
- Now in the News (2x/day video) Your quick news update and top stories of the day.
- Business Update (2x/day audio) Business news and in-depth market analysis.
- The CNN Daily (daily video) The daily news podcast of record.
- In Case You Missed It (daily video) A fast-paced and raw look at the sights and sounds from the top news events and most dramatic video from the day.
- Political Notebook (daily video) Money, money, money and more money. CNN Senior Political Correspondent Candy Crowley and CNN's John Lisk talk about the prospect of a second stimulus and the realities of the new Obama budget.
- Anderson Cooper 360° Daily (daily video) Features highlights from CNN's premier nightly news program.
- The Ali V Podcast (weekly video) CNN's Ali Velshi gives his unique perspective on the hottest business stories.
- State of the Union with John King (weekly audio) Each week, John King offers a blend of newsmaker interviews, political analysis, and takes viewers outside of Washington to tell the stories of every day Americans during these challenging economic times.
- Special Programming (weekly) In-depth coverage on a variety of topics and current events.
- CNN Student News (weekly video) CNN Student News brings each day's top news stories to school classrooms. The 10-minute, commercial-free program encourages student participation and provides classes with context for understanding current events.
- The Lou Dobbs Commentary (irregular video) President Obama's job and stimulus plan... CNN's Lou Dobbs has thoughts on how it will work.
Reference Librarian |
Jason D. PhillipsAssistant Professor
Government Documents & United Nations Reference Librarian
2nd Floor, Mitchell Memorial Library
Government Documents, Current Journals, and Microforms Department
(662) 325-0008
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Political Science, United Nations, GLBT Studies, Gender Studies, U.S. Government Documents
Reference Librarian |
Christine Fletcher![]() |
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
Reference Librarian |
P. Judy LiAssistant Professor/
Business Reference Librarian
395 Hardy Rd
Mississippi State, MS 39762
(662) 325 - 9346
Send Email
Subjects:
Business Information Research
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait