Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

MAGNOLIA Training Resources  Tags: magnolia information_literacy library_science curriculum_and_instruction education  

This guide provides training resources for use with MAGNOLIA databases. Also included are handouts and PowerPoint slides from prior MAGNOLIA presentations.
Last update: Nov 02nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/magnolia  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  

World Book Web Training Sessions


These sessions will cover training on the World Book Web now included in MAGNOLIA. Once registered you will receive an email confirming your registration with information you need to join the Webinar.

System Requirements:
PC-based attendees
Required: Windows® 2000, XP Home, XP Pro, 2003 Server, Vista
Macintosh®-based attendees
Required: Mac OS® X 10.4 (Tiger®) or newer

Register for a session now by clicking a date below:

Fast Links

Promoting MAGNOLIA

Promote MAGNOLIA in your school or library!

Resources of Interest

 
 

MAGNOLIA Training Resources

The Library Instructional Services Department of the MSU Libraries actively works to promote and support the MAGNOLIA (Mississippi Alliance for Gaining New Opportunities Through Library Information Access) project through workshops, online training sessions, and training materials.  Please feel free to use any of the materials or tutorials provided in this guide when working with MAGNOLIA databases or training!

If you have questions about any of the resources provided in this guide, please feel free to contact the Library Instructional Services Department at (662) 325-0810.

 

New MAGNOLIA Database: World Book

The MAGNOLIA Steering Committee, in consultation with the Selection Committee, has announced that effective immediately, MAGNOLIA school libraries will have access to the World Book Encyclopedia.  This will replace the Grolier online products.  Access will be restricted to K-12 schools and will be available through the MAGNOLIA K-12 web page.  (Note that remote access from home is not yet available; this should be added shortly.) 

World Book maintains a comprehensive resource page for teachers and librarians:  http://www.worldbook.com/training/  Here you'll find tutorials, downloadable training materials, free webinars, and even scavenger hunts that you can use to introduce your students to World Book.

Database Highlight

Credo Reference continues to update it's content.  When new materials are added, we'll highlight some of the new reference titles you have available to your library.

 

CredoReference provides an online ready reference collection that includes hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, directories, and other reference resources.  Here are some of the latest titles added to the CredoReference collection:

  • 50 Key Concepts in Gender Studies
  • Biographical Dictionary of British Economists
  • A Financial History of the United States
  • Geography of the World
  • Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care
  • Key Concepts in Feminist Theory and Research
  • Key Concepts in Postcolonial Literature
  • Key Contemporary Concepts
  • Need to Know? Islam

To explore more of the CredoReference titles, visit your local list of MAGNOLIA databases!

      
     

    Subject Guide

    Profile ImageDr. Deborah Lee
    Online Chat / Networks:

    Contact Info:
    Mississippi State University Libraries
    (662) 325-0810
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Economics, Business, Agricultural Economics, Library Science, Research Methods

     

    Additional Contact

    Brad Brazzeal

    Brad Brazzeal

     

    Contact Info:
    (662) 325-3834
    Send Email

     

    Additional Contact

    Beth Downey

    Contact Info:
    (662) 325-3834
    Send Email

     
    Facebook Twitter
    Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
    Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
    Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
    Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
    Mississippi State University
    Description

      Loading content... please wait