MSU Libraries Apps and Websites
- MSU Libraries' Mobile Website
Our mobile website is your portal to research guides; the online catalog; databases; directions, maps, and bus routes; and free apps to help you in your research. You will also find current library hours and audio tours of Mitchell Memorial Library, as well as a link to our helpful Ask A Librarian service. Simply visit http://library.msstate.edu on your phone. - MSU Libraries Online Catalog
Search the catalog for books, DVDs, print journals, and more, all from your mobile device. - Research Guides
Get research help on the fly--MSU Libraries' research guides are mobile-optimized! Visit http://guides.library.msstate.edu from your mobile device. - Library Video and Audio Tours
Use your mobile device to take a tour of Mitchell Memorial Library! You can use a barcode-scanning app to scan the QR codes scattered throughout the library, or visit http://library.msstate.edu/media/tour and download the tours. Read more about it at http://blogs.library.msstate.edu/webservices/?p=831. - Social Networking

Comments (0)
Books
- BookMyne
Search the MSU Libraries' online catalog with BookMyne! In addition to providing mobile access to in-demand library information, holdings and services, BookMyne 2.0 offers a myriad of patron-pleasing features including barcode scanning capability, so library users can scan the barcode of a book at a bookstore or friend's home and retrieve availability information on the book at the patron's library of choice; social recommendation engine powered via Goodreads; and enhanced account interaction. - Google Books Mobile
Search the latest index of the world's books. Find millions of great books you can preview or read for free. - WorldCat Mobile
Search for library materials - Enter search terms such as keywords, author or title
Find a WorldCat library near you - Enter your ZIP, postal code or location in the libraries Locator
Call a library - Highlight and click the phone number in a library listing to place a call
Map a route - Find the fastest way to a WorldCat library using the mapping software already on your device
Databases
- EBSCOhost Mobile
Search our most popular databases from your mobile phone! Visit the mobile website to get started.
The iPhone/iPod Touch app is available on iTunes. After downloading it, you must obtain an authentication key. Click the
icon above to learn how. - IEEE Explore Mobile Digital Library
A simple search box for searching articles in IEEE. - IOPscience express
IOPscience express allows you to view and download the latest papers to appear in IOP-owned journals. You can also search for articles published by IOP over the last two years, and email information about selected articles to yourself or a colleague to enable access to the article from a desktop computer. - LexisNexis Get Cases and Shepardize
This app allows users to: Find and review a case instantly by reading the Case Brief – an overview of the issues, rules, and reasoning (written by LexisNexis experts) just by entering its citation; Get an at-a-glance indication of how closely they need to evaluate the case with Shepard's Signal™ Indicators; Get an overview of a case's legal treatment up front by viewing the Shepard's Summary, right at the top of your Shepard's reports. - PubMed for Handhelds
PICO search; free-text search; read journal abstracts; search case reports for disease associations - PubMed Mobile Abstracts
Use Mobile Abstracts to search the 19 million medical journal abstracts in PubMed from your iPhone, iPod Touch, or Android Phone anywhere you have an internet connection. Find the citations, read the abstracts, and even pull up the PDF's. - PubMed On Tap
Specify fields and search mode, using AND, OR and NOT logic operators; Specify option to find only articles with Full Text or Free Full Text; E-mail the results as formatted text or an RIS tagged record, ready to be imported into reference management applications like Bookends and EndNote; Retrieve pdfs from the Web; Store references (with pdfs) in your personal and searchable library; E-mail references (with pdfs) from within the application; and more. - Science Mobile
Because science never stands still. Read summaries and abstracts from Science, Science Translational Medicine, and Science Signaling. E-mail yourself links to full text. Get the latest news at ScienceNOW. Access the Science weekly podcast and other multimedia. Store content for reading without wi-fi access. - SciFinder Mobile
With SciFinder Mobile, you can quickly find references to published research for a topic of interest; information on a substance of interest, including nomenclature, molecular formula, and properties; and references to published research from a scientist or company of interest. You can also easily browse the latest answers from Keep Me Posted alerts previously set up in the web version of SciFinder and answer sets from searches previously saved in the web version of SciFinder. - SciVerse ScienceDirect
Need full-text but not at your desk? The SciVerse ScienceDirect helps you find and read any Elsevier article or book chapter while you're at a conference, travelling to and from work, or enjoying some rare downtime. With SciVerse ScienceDirect, you can look up and read a paper, share the PDF, or just explore what's out there anytime you get a bright idea.
Click the
icon to learn how to set up the app. - SciVerse Scopus Alerts
When you're away from the lab but need to keep in touch with the latest research, use the SciVerse Scopus Alerts app to search across thousands of scholarly journals; save important articles in one place for easy look-up; set up and review email alerts for your favourite searches; annotate articles with your own notes; and more!
Click the
icon to learn how to set up the app. - Taylor & Francis Online Mobile
Taylor & Francis Online Mobile provides mobile access to 1,600 Journals and Reference Works. Among the features: Link to content via a quick and easy pairing process, as explained in T&F's video demo; login and share links to content via social networks and email; create your own favorites list which is simultaneously saved on Taylor & Francis Online.
News
Other Apps
- Naxos Music Library
The Naxos Music Library is now streaming on your iPhone or iPod Touch. Enjoy remote streaming of your Naxos Music Library (NML) playlists anytime, anywhere with your iPhone or iPod touch!
You must have MSU's username and password to access the Music Library; please Ask A Librarian for the login information. - U.S. Government Printing Office - Mobile Member Guide for the 112th Congress
Based on the Guide to the House and Senate Members and information in the Congressional Pictorial Directory, the app allows users to browse for Members of Congress by last name, state, chamber, or party -- additionally, users can search by first and last name.
Did we miss one?
Have we forgotten to list your favorite mobile app or website for searching MSU Libraries' resources? Submit it here!
Your Mobile Library
Want to keep up with what Mississippi State University Libraries is doing with mobile technology? Need to know whether your favorite database has published a new app? Follow this news feed, maintained by the Libraries' Web Services Department, to get the latest.

Submit
Loading...

Loading...
