Additional Related Research Guides
Congressional and Political Research Center
http://library.msstate.edu/cprc/index.asp
The purpose of the Center located at the MSU Libraries is to provide access to the Center's numerous holdings of U. S. Congressional collections, papers of Mississippi legislators and other state offices, and local materials of various kinds. These materials were donated to the Center by the individuals whose public service careers they reflect. Oral histories, extensive photograph collections and memorabilia enhance the collections. Finding aids and digitized samples of the collections are available on the Center website. The materials cannot be checked out, but qualified researchers may use them on site.
Government Information on the Internet
Call Number: Ref. ZA 5075 .G68 2001, Reference, Second FloorThis fourth edition is a complete directory of 1,400 federal, 150 state, and more than 2,500 county and municipal government websites on the Internet. Information includes online addresses and descriptions of agency sites.
Introduction to United States Government Information SourcesGov. Docs. Ready Ref. ZA 5055 .U6 M67 1999 Gov. Docs., Second Floor Ready Ref. ZA 5055 .U6 M67 1999 Reference, Second Floor ZA 5055 .U6 M67 1999eb E-Resource Thoroughly updating previous editions and reflecting the enormous changes to government information on the Internet, this book guides students through the vast and constantly changing terrain of government information in print and electronic forms. Morehead describes administrative machinery and information systems of the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO); introduces general checklists, indexes, and guides to government information; describes the Congress and intrinsic sources that comprise the legislative process; and details many other government publications.
Locating United States Government Information: A Guide to SourcesReady Ref. ZA 5055 .U6 H47 1997 text Reference, Second Floor Ready Ref. ZA 5055 .U6 H47 1997 Suppl. 1999 Reference, Second Floor This second edition provides a practical how-to guide for locating United States government publications. Emphasis on the integration of traditional library resources with electronic ones, providing the researcher with a balanced view of government information in multiple formats.
Subject Bibliographies
http://bookstore.gpo.gov/subjects/index.jsp
Bibliographies list more than 12,000 different books, periodicals, posters, pamphlets, and subscription services for sale from the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. GPO. Divided into approximately 150 broad areas of interest, from accounting and auditing to worker's compensation. Most subjects updated yearly.
Tapping the Government Grapevine: The User-Friendly Guide to U.S. Government Information Sources
Gov. Docs. Ready Ref. ZA 5055 .U6 R63 1998, Second Floor
Updated and expanded this popular guide offers an expert, thorough, and sometimes humorous tour of government information sources. Highly readable text explains the intricacies of government information and how to find sources that meet specific research needs. New features in this edition include detailed coverage of Internet resources, directories of World Wide Web addresses, and completely updated bibliographic information for print, online, and electronic resources. Helpful guides to government abbreviations and citations are also included, as are numerous new tables, user guides, exercises, and illustrations.
University of Michigan's Documents Center
http://www.lib.umich.edu/government-documents-center
The Documents Center is a central reference and referral point for government information, whether local, state, federal, foreign or international. Its web pages are a reference and instructional tool for government, political science, statistical data, and news. This is simply one of the best sites for locating government information. The information is current, well organized, and easy to retrieve. A great starting place for beginners and experienced users alike.
Using Government Information Sources: Electronic and Print
Ref. Z 1223 .Z7 S4, Reference, Second Floor
A basic reference guide to U.S. government publications and information. This book not only lists sources for information on specific topics but also suggests general and specific strategies for finding additional information or for finding information on topics not covered. These source listings and search strategies make it easier for users to organize research and identify information sources. --preface
Ulysses S. Grant Collection Database Tutorial

Loading Video Clip...
More US Guides
United States Government
Colby College librarian, Darylyne Provost, has created a killer research guide which shows some of the same information as in this guide but grouped differently. A good compliment to this material.
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait