Congressional Budget OfficeCongressional Research ServiceNotable Federal Documents
US Decennial Census 
Citing Government Information
Online Training
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

United States Research Guide  Tags: united_states statistics government_documents history law_government_documents political_science_public_admin mathematics_statistics  

Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/United_States  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Atlases and Maps             Print Page
  
 

Atlases and Maps

  • American FactFinder: Reference Maps
    http://factfinder.census.gov/jsp/saff/SAFFInfo.jsp?_pageId=referencemaps&_submenuId=maps_2&geo_id=

    Reference Maps show selected geographic boundaries for an area along with orienting features, such as roads. Boundary selections are available for geographic areas for which statistical data have been tabulated.


  • American FactFinder: Thematic Maps
    http://factfinder.census.gov/jsp/saff/SAFFInfo.jsp?_pageId=thematicmaps&_submenuId=maps_1&geo_id=

    Thematic maps show geographic patterns in statistical data, such as population or median income, displayed as color-coded areas on a map.


  • Census Atlas of the United States
    Call Number: C 3.205/8-3: 29 (Gov. Docs., Second Floor)
    http://www.census.gov/population/www/cen2000/censusatlas/

    This large, oversized atlas contains maps with county-level detail, illustrating the wide range of data collected by the decennial censuses, grouped into three general themes: who we are, where we come from, what we do. These colorful maps reveal the fascinating relationships among people and the states, cities, and counties in which they have chosen to live. Published by the Commerce Department, Census Bureau. 2007.


  • Environmental Indicators Gateway
    http://www.epa.gov/indicators/

    The Environmental Indicators Gateway features information on EPA's environmental indicator projects. These projects provide information on environmental conditions and trends over a range of geographic scales and time periods. The Gateway provides summaries of the indicator projects and links to the related reports and Web sites developed by each project. You can search these summaries by geographic location, keyword, and topic.


  • GeoData.gov
    http://gos2.geodata.gov/

    GeoData.gov is a geographic information system (GIS) portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop, that serves as a public gateway for improving access to geospatial information and data under the Geospatial One-Stop e-government initiative. The GeoData.gov portal is designed to facilitate communication and sharing of geographic data and resources to enhance government efficiency and improve citizen services.


  • Map Collections (Library of Congress)
    http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/gmdhome.html

    The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than 4.5 million items, of which Map Collections represents only a small fraction, those that have been converted to digital form. The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection. Map Collections is organized according to seven major categories. Because a map will be assigned to only one category, unless it is part of more than one core collection, searching Map Collections at this level will provide the most complete results since the indexes for all categories are searched simultaneously.


  • National Park Service Digital Maps
    http://www.nps.gov/carto

    The maps on this site are digital versions of those maps found in the official brochures provided to National Park visitors. They are a product of National Park Service cartographers at Harpers Ferry Center.


  • NationalAtlas.gov
    http://www-atlas.usgs.gov/index.html

    Maps of America are what you'll find and make on NationalAtlas.gov. Maps of innovation and vision that illustrate our changing Nation. Maps that capture and depict the patterns, conditions, and trends of American life. Maps that supplement interesting articles. Maps that tell their own stories. Maps that cover all of the United States or just your area of interest. Maps that are accurate and reliable from more than 20 Federal organizations. Maps about America's people, heritage, and resources. Maps that will help you, your children, your colleagues, and your friends understand the United States and its place in the world.


  • Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
    http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/

    Provides an extensive collection of digitized CIA political, geographical, and thematic maps of countries and regions of the world, and links to sources for all types and variety of maps, atlases and gazetteers.


  • TerraServer USA
    http://TerraServer-USA.com/

    The TerraServer-USA Web site is one of the world's largest online databases, providing free public access to a vast data store of maps and aerial photographs of the United States. TerraServer is designed to work with commonly available computer systems and Web browsers over slow speed communications links. The TerraServer name is a play on words, with 'Terra' referring to the 'earth' or 'land' and also to the terabytes of images stored on the site.


  • USGS Maps, Imagery, and Publications
    http://www.usgs.gov/pubprod/

    USGS maps range from detailed local areas to the world. Because they can show many kinds of information, they are excellent for a wide range of uses, including emergency response, outdoor recreation, scientific research, and resource management. Earth science images and videos are available at your fingertips at the new U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Video and Image Gallery. The gallery offers a wide range of useful features including RSS feeds (Really Simple Syndication), Flash video format for videos with captions, downloadable high-resolution photography, and more.


  • Visible Earth
    http://VisibleEarth.nasa.gov/

    A catalog of NASA images and animations of our home planet. Provides a searchable directory of images, visualizations, and animations of the earth.


 
 

NationalAtlas.gov


Loading Video Clip...
 

GeoData.gov


Loading Video Clip...
 

Free Topographic Maps


Loading Video Clip...
 

TerraServer USA


Loading Video Clip...
 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait