Congressional Budget OfficeCongressional Research ServiceNotable Federal Documents
US Decennial Census 
Citing Government Information
Online Training
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

United States Research Guide  Tags: united_states statistics government_documents history law_government_documents political_science_public_admin mathematics_statistics  

Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/United_States  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Statistical Information             Print Page
  
 

Statistical Information

  • American FactFinder
    http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=en/

    The source for population, housing, economic and geographic data from Census 2000, the 1990 Census, the 1997 Economic Census, the Census 2000 Supplementary Survey, and the American Community Survey.


  • American Statistics Index: A Comprehensive Guide to the Statistical Publications of the U.S. Government
    Call Number: Microforms Ref. Z 7554 .U5 A46, Gov. Docs., Second Floor

    Coverage is comprehensive for statistical publications issued since January 1, 1973, and the 1970 edition also includes all significant publications issued since the early 1960s. NOTE that if a governmental periodical contains statistics, it is included in ASI and the individual articles are indexed making ASI an indirect access point for this information. The MSU Library houses the complete ASI Microfiche Collection, therefore everything listed in the index is available to patrons.


  • Budget of the United States Government
    T 51.5: 1934 - 1937Gov. Docs., Second Floor
    PR 33.107: 1949 - 1961Gov. Docs., Second Floor
    PREX 2.8: 1962 -- Gov. Docs., Second Floor
    PREX 2.8-1: 1996 -- Gov. Docs., Second FloorCD-ROM version
    CIS (year) H180-# 1971 -- Gov. Docs., Second FloorMicrofiche
    http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS17351(1996 to present)

    Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other budget items, such as related publications and supporting materials, are included, which may vary from year to year.


  • County and City Data Book
    http://www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html

    Supplement to the Statistical Abstract of the United States. The County and City Data Book is the most comprehensive source of information about the individual counties and cities in the United States. It includes data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. It contains additional data for places with a population of 100,000 or more. Also included is a complete set of state maps showing all counties, places of 25,000 or more population, and metropolitan areas.


  • FedStats
    hthttp://www.fedstats.gov/

    The gateway to the full range of official statistical information available to the public from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies. Information can be searched through an A to Z index or by keyword. Also contains "Statistical reference shelf" with links to tables from the Statistical Abstract; and Federal Statistical Briefing Rooms; links to agency contacts; press releases; and additional links.


  • Government Statistics
    http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/romans/fdtf/statistics.html

    This is a directory of links to popular government statistic resources on the Internet. These links are organized by general topics and specific subjects. From the Federal Documents Task Force (FDTF) and the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT).


  • Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970
    Gov. Docs. Ready Ref. HA 202 .A385 1975Gov. Docs., Second Floor
    ASI 1976 2328-2Microforms, Second Floor
    http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/statab.html

    Also issued as Serial Set 13051-2 (93rd Congress, 1st Session, House Document 93-78). Reproduces historical statistics that measure all aspects of American society from colonial times through 1970. Narrative sections describe the data and cite sources from which the numbers were extracted. The subject index is very comprehensive. The Statistical Abstract of the United States should be used to update this information.


  • LexisNexis Statistical
    http://web.lexis-nexis.com/statuniv

    Enables easy access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. The service allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications. The MSU Libraries subscribe to the entire ASI (American Statistics Index) microfiche collection and it is fully indexed in LexisNexis Statistical. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.


  • STAT-USA
    http://www.stat-usa.gov/stat-usa.html

    This database service of the U.S. Department of Commerce is the site for the U.S. business, economic, and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government. From the web address above, you can get some information about STAT-USA but to access its data files, you must come to the Libraries’ Reference Department. Only computers #9 and #12 allow access to this information.


  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/statab.html1878 to present
    C 3.124: 1886 -- Gov. Docs., Second Floor
    C 3.134/7: 1993 -- (CD-ROM version)Gov. Docs., Second Floor
    Gov. Docs. Ready Ref. HS 202 .U82 (Latest Copy)Gov. Docs., Second Floor
    Ready Ref. HS 202 .U82 (Latest Copy)Reference, Second Floor

    The standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. It is designed to serve as a convenient volume for statistical reference and as a guide to other statistical publications and sources. The index is very comprehensive. CD-ROM version covers longer time periods than the printed format.


 

American FactFinder Tutorials

 

Understanding the U.S. Budget


Loading Video Clip...
 

US Census Bureau


Loading RSS Feed...
 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait