Indexes and Databases (Searching Tools)
Because only some of the U.S. documents collection has been cataloged and can be found by using the Library's online catalog, the following major indexes to federal government documents must be used in order to access older documents.
The
icon indicates that you must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access this resource.
Current Searching Tools
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
http://catalog.gpo.gov/F?RN=809868362
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is an index of electronic and print publications of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. The CGP has over 500,000 entries from 1976 to the present, and is updated daily. To find records for government documents published before 1976, consult the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. CGP allows users to narrow their search results by type of document requested (including maps, Congressional documents, and Internet publications). If there is an online version of the publication, CGP will link to the full text from the database’s citation information.
CIS Index to Congressional Publications and Public Laws
Call Number: Microforms Ref. KF 49 .C62 1970 to date, Gov. Docs., Second FloorContains abstracts, legislative histories and indexes for Congressional hearings, committee prints and public laws as well as the numbered House and Senate reports and documents contained in the Serial Set. For the most part, CIS has superseded the Monthly Catalog as THE index for Congressional materials issued since 1970. The MSU Library houses the complete CIS Microfiche Collection therefore everything listed in this index is available to patrons.
FDsys
http://www.FDsys.gov/
GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) will soon take the place of GPO Access. Currently the information from the old platform is being migrated to this new system on a collection-by-collection basis and should be complete by the end of 2009. The Government Printing Office is the Federal Government‘s primary centralized resource for gathering, cataloging, producing, providing, authenticating, and preserving published U.S. Government information in all its forms, and the FDsys platform provides a huge step for the American people to access the documents of government.
FedWorld
http://www.fedworld.gov/
A central access point for searching, locating, ordering and acquiring government and business information. Many specific government databases can be searched from this page. It includes a rather eclectic selection of resources, and by no means does it demonstrate the entire breadth of government resources. The difficulty with FedWorld is knowing what data and resources are available from it as opposed to other sites.
GPO Access
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/index.html
GPO Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version. Information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. Most documents are full-text. The information on GPO Access is in the process of being migrated to GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys). The migration is occurring on a collection-by-collection basis and the information on GPO Access will remain current and continue to be available until the migration is complete
Historical Statistics of the United StatesThis database is a reputable source for essays and quantitative data on American history, covering a wide variety of topics. The database allows users to download informative data tables and customize them to their individual areas of interest.
InfoMine
http://infomine.ucr.edu/cgi-bin/search?govpub
InfoMine is a database developed by the librarians at the University of California, Riverside. It is easy to use and currently contains over 9,500 records covering most academic disciplines with a large section devoted to government information. It is known globally for its high quality scholarly and educational collection. Allows searching and browsing by subject, keyword, or title.
LexisNexis Congressional 
LexisNexis Congressional allows you to explore Congress in action with the most comprehensive online resource available for congressional publications and legislative research. Items covered comprise Committee Prints and Misc. Publications (1830-present); Hearings (1824-present); House and Senate Documents (1817-present); House and Senate Reports (1819-present); Legislative Histories (1969-present); and the Serial Set (1789-1969).
Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications
Call Number: 1895 to date, Gov. Docs. Index Area, Second FloorThis is THE BASIC INDEX for government publications. Titles are arranged by classification number under issuing agency. Periodicals and various other series are listed annually in the Serials supplement. Indexing is by subject, title, keyword, author, series number and various other access points.
USA.gov
http://www.usa.gov/
The official U.S. gateway to all government information and is the catalyst for a growing electronic government. Users can search more than 51 million web pages from federal and state governments, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories. Most of these pages are not available on commercial websites. USA.gov has the most comprehensive searching capabilities of government information anywhere on the Internet.
Retrospective Searching Tools
Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. Cumulative and Decennial Cumulative Indexes
Call Number: Gov. Docs. Index Area, Second Floor
1941 - 1974Five and ten year cumulative subject indexes to the Monthly Catalog. Conveniently merged the indexing from multiple annual indexes and added original indexing for thirty issues of the Monthly Catalog that were never indexed by subject.
Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications 1900-1971
Call Number: Gov. Docs. Ready Ref. Z 1223 .A16 1900-71, Gov. Docs. Second Floor
1900 - 1971A fifteen-volume, single alphabet index. The BEST subject index for this time period.
Index to the Reports and Documents of the 54th Congress, 1st Session to 73rd Congress, 2nd Session, December 2, 1895 - March 4, 1933; with Numerical Lists and Schedule of Volumes
Call Number: Gov. Docs. Index Area, Second Floor
1895 - 1933Commonly known as the Documents Catalog. An alphabetical subject (or inverted title) listing for congressional documents and reports contained in the Serial Set.
Catalog of the Public Documents of the 53rd to 76th Congress and All Departments of the Government of the United States for the Period from March 4, 1893 to December 31, 1940
Call Number: Gov. Docs. Index Area, Second Floor
1893 - 1940A dictionary catalog listing publications by agency, subject, title, and author. The Documents Catalogue provides the best subject approach to government publication for the period covered. Each volume of the title covers approximately two years of government publishing activity. Gives Serial Set numbers, but not SuDoc call numbers.
Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893
Call Number: Gov. Docs. Ready Ref. Z 1223 .A1905, Gov. Docs., Second Floor
1881 - 1893Commonly known as Ames for the author, John Griffith Ames. Originally issued as Serial Set 4745-4746 (58th Congress, 2nd Session, House Document 754). The arrangement is alphabetical by subject and includes a personal author index. No SuDoc call numbers and Serial Set numbers are under “Congressional Documents.”
CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index
Call Number: Microforms Ref. KF 40 .C56 Gov. Docs., Second Floor
1833 - 1969Covers published hearings from the earliest years (early 1800s) through 1969. Provides comprehensive index access to the subject matter and issues covered in all hearings held during this period, including bills and laws discussed, the Federal agencies concerned, the witnesses who testified and the organizations they represented.
Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976
Call Number: Gov. Docs. Ready Ref. Z 1223 .A12 C85 Gov. Docs., Second Floor
1789 - 1976This 16 volume set is a single alphabet listing of document titles compiled from the shelflist of the Public Documents Library of the Government Printing Office. Unfortunately it includes only those titles which have been assigned a documents classification number, thus excluding the numbered reports and documents of Congress which are included in the Serial Set.
CIS U.S. Serial Set Index, 1780-1969
Call Number: Gov. Docs. Ready Ref. Z 1223 .Z7 C26 Gov. Docs., Second Floor
ISBN/ISSN: 0912380268
1789 - 1969(13 parts in 40 volumes) Includes indexing for the American State Papers and Index by Reported Bill Numbers. Has Subject Indexes and Finding Lists for each group of years. Contains an on-going collection of the basic publications of Congress, i.e., reports of private and public bills, as well as a variety of documentation which Congress has decided to incorporate. The collection is particularly important in the 18th and 19th centuries when most government publications were either originally published as part of the Serial Set or were reprinted in it. Access to the Serial Set volumes appearing after 1969 is found in CIS, the Monthly Catalog, and other tools.
American State Papers
Call Number: Ref. J 33 .A48 1832, Special Collections, Third Floor
1789 - 1816[1st -- 14th Congresses, 1789 - 1816] Some consider this the predecessor to, others consider it a part of, the Serial Set. It is a separate 38-volume set with publication categories such as Foreign Relations, Indian Affairs, Finance, Public Lands, and Miscellaneous Documents.
United States Congressional Serial Set
Call Number: Gov. Docs. Serial Set, Second Floor
ISBN/ISSN: 0898-1639
1817 ---15th Congress to present. The longest-running series in the United States. Sequentially numbered bound volumes of congressional reports and documents. Besides committee reports relating to pending legislation, the Serial Set includes the House and Senate Journals from 1818-1954. In the 19th century, approximately fifty-percent of Senate and House Documents were reprints of executive branch or departmental publications. It is worth considering the Serial Set as a source of all types of government publications into the first quarter of the 20th century.
A Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States, September 5, 1774 - March 4, 1881
Call Number: Gov. Docs. Ready Ref. Z 1223 .A1885, Second Floor
1774 - 1881Commonly known as Poore’s for the author, Ben Perley Poore. Originally issued as Serial Set 2268 (48th Congress, 2nd Session, Senate Misc. Document 67). A chronological list which gives author, title, and date for each document. The subject and name index in the rear of the volume refers the user to the page on which the document is listed. The page must then be scanned to locate one or more entries on the subject being researched. No class numbers for executive department documents and no Serial Set numbers for congressional publications are given.
Classification System Outline Tools
List of Classes of United States Government Publications Available for Selection by Depository Libraries
http://www.fdlp.gov/collections/selection/150-list-of-classes
Current.The official listing of publications available for selection by depository libraries participating in the Federal Depository Library Program. Arranged by SuDoc number and designed to group together publications by the same government author. Also accessible from this web site are Inactive or Discontinued Items, List of Active Items and Class Stems, Classes No Longer Active, and an Alphabetic Listing of Government Authors.
Guide to U.S. Government Publications
1976 ---Ref. Z 1223 .Z7 A574 1976, 1977, 1989 Inactive Reference, Fourth Floor Ref. Z 1223 .Z7 A574 1990-- Reference, Second Floor Ref. Z 1223 .Z7 A574 Latest Copy Gov. Docs. Ready Reference, Second Floor Commonly known as Andriot after the original editor and publisher. An excellent guide to document series and periodicals (not monographs), tracing changes in SuDocs classes. Not the source to use if looking for individual Congressional documents, reports, etc. Supplements and complements the Lists of Classes. Includes annotations, title index, more complete agency index, and an agency class chronology.
Numerical List and Schedule of Volumes of the Reports and Documents of the Congress, 73rd Congress 91st Congress
Call Number: Gov. Docs. Index Area, Second Floor
1933 - 1971Provides access to the Congressional Serial Set for this period.
Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909
Call Number: Gov. Docs. Index Area, Second Floor
1789 - 1909
http://govdocs.evergreen.edu/tools/1909checklist/Commonly known as the 1909 Checklist. Arranged by SuDoc class with agency index. This title is the basic source for SuDoc numbers prior to the 20th century. Although there is no subject approach to documents, the volume is useful for scanning the publishing output of governmental agencies and for identifying various editions of the same document. Lists individual titles as well as series.
FDsys

Loading Video Clip...
FDsys Blog

Loading RSS Feed...
FDsys Tutorials
- FDsys Overview (Adobe Flash) - This video is a brief overview on the background of FDsys.
- FDsys Simple Search (Adobe Flash) - This is a video tutorial on how to perform simple searches within the system and filter your results.
- FDsys Advance Search (Adobe Flash) - This is a video tutorial on how to perform advanced searches and citation searches within the system.
- FDsys Browse (Adobe Flash) - This is a video tutorial on how to browse for government publications within FDsys.
InfoMine

Loading Video Clip...
USA.gov

Loading Video Clip...
Gov Gab Blog
Gov Gab's six bloggers at USA.gov share tips and information from the federal government to help you make life a little simpler. Read along each weekday, and comment and share your own experiences.

Loading RSS Feed...
Free Full Text Documents
Check out this Tutorial entitled "Searching for Free Government Full Text Docs Online: Where to Begin?" presented in October 2009 by Holly Harper, GPO intern and MLIS student at the University of Washington. It is archived at OPAL (Online Programming for All Libraries).
- Streaming audio with slides runtime 19:98
- Downloadable MP3 audiorecording 5.9 MB: runtime 19:98
Bill Tracking Using LexisNexis Congressional

Loading Video Clip...
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait