Library Journal's Notable Federal Documents, 2008
Each year, Library Journal (LJ) selects what it considers to be the most notable Government documents published by Federal, state, and local governments. This year, almost every Federal publication it picked is available through the Government Printing Office’s Sales Program.
According to its Web site, Library Journal is "the oldest and most respected publication covering the library field. Considered to be the 'bible' of the library world, LJ is read by over 100,000 library directors, administrators, and staff in public, academic, and special libraries. LJ is the single-most comprehensive publication for librarians...Its hefty review sections evaluate nearly 7000 books annually, along with hundreds of audiobooks, videos, databases, web sites, and systems that libraries buy."
Out of all of the Federal Government documents LJ saw in 2008, here are the ones it found most notable, and what it said about each.
2008 Best Notable Government Documents
By Jim Church -- Library Journal, 5/15/2009
The Agency and the Hill: CIA's Relationship With Congress, 1946-2004
Call Number: PREX 3.17: AG 3 (Gov. Docs., Second Floor)
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS101665
This detailed study encomopasses the period from the creation of the agency in 1946 until 2004, when the director of Central Intelligence ceased being the head of the U.S. intelligence community. The aim was to offer an understanding of the agency’s relationship with Congress, analyze the past, and provide a guide to the future. Published by the Central Intelligence Agency, Center for the Study of Intelligence. 2008.
Among the People: U.S. Marines in Iraq
Call Number: D 214.13:IR 1.3 (Gov. Docs., Second Floor)This large, colorful book is filled with moving photos showing the human side of the Iraq War. Taken in spring 2005, in the al Anbar province in Iraq, the images capture the day-to-day efforts of the marines’ civil affairs work with the Iraqi people. Published by the Defence Department, Navy, Marine Corps, Marine Corps University Press. 2008.
Answering The Call: The U.S. Army Nurse Corps, 1917-1919: A Commemorative Tribute to Military Nursing in World War I
Call Number: D 114.2:N 93/4 (Gov. Docs., Second Floor)Documenting the contributions and accomplishments of U.S. Army Nurse Corps nurses in World War I, this book gathers here for the first time rare and carefully chosen monochromatic photographs and quotations from personal accounts and official sources that depict these nurses' rich and varied experiences. Published by the Defense Department, Army, Office of the Surgeon General, Office of Medical History. 2008.
Black Americans in Congress, 1870-2007
Call Number: Y 1.1/7: 108-224 (Gov. Docs., Second Floor)
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS106070
Written for a general audience, these profiles of each of the 121 African American members of Congress outline their history and career. Divided into four time periods, contextual essays help explain major events in congressional and U.S. history. With extensive appendixes, a comprehensive index, and statistical graphs and charts. Published by House, Office of the Clerk, Office of History and Preservation. 2008.
Census Atlas of the United States
Call Number: C 3.205/8-3: 29 (Gov. Docs. Ready Reference, Second Floor)
http://www.census.gov/population/www/cen2000/censusatlas/
This large, oversized atlas contains maps with county-level detail, illustrating the wide range of data collected by the decennial censuses, grouped into three general themes: who we are, where we come from, what we do. These colorful maps reveal the fascinating relationships among people and the states, cities, and counties in which they have chosen to live. Published by the Commerce Department, Census Bureau. 2007.
Civics and Citizenship Toolkit: A Collection of Educational Resources for Immigrants
Call Number: HS 8.2:C 49/2/Toolkit (Gov. Docs., Second Floor)
http://www.uscis.gov/newtest
Developed by the Task Force on New Americans, this kit was designed to ‘help immigrants learn English, embrace the common core of American civic culture, and fully become American.’ Each of its educational products – booklets, CDs, DVDs, and flash cards – is designed to serve as a self-study resource. Published by the Homeland Security Department, Citizenship and Immigration Services. 2007.
The FBI: A Centennial History, 1908-2008
Call Number: J 1.14/2:C 33/3 (Gov. Docs., Second Floor)
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS105253
It all started with a short memo, dated July 26, 1908, describing a ‘regular force of special agents’ available to investigate certain cases of the Department of Justice. Includes overviews of more than 40 FBI cases and an extensive collection of never-before-seen photos. Published by the Justice Department, Federal Bureau of Investigation. 2008.
Glenn Brown's History of the United States Capitol
Call Number: Y 1.1/2: Serial 17909 (Gov. Docs., Second Floor)
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS92765
Though originally published in 1900 and 1903 as a two-volume set, this edition on the building of the Capitol features an updated bibliography and annotations. Bushong’s introductory essay on Brown provides historical perspective. The original black-and-white plates have been replaced with high-quality color and black-and-white photos. The historical drawings and color prints of artwork are exquisite. Published by the United States Capitol Preservation Commission. 1998.
The Healthy Woman: A Complete Guide for All Ages
Call Number: HE 1.2:W 84/10
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS112769
Intending to give straightforward information on things women can do to stay healthy, this book is filled with easy-to-read, understandable explanations to everyday health problems. Handy charts and eye-catching illustrations, too. Also, personal health stories. Published by the Health and Human Services Department, Office on Women’s Health. 2008.
The Little Acorn
Call Number: A 57.2:AC 7 (Gov. Docs., Second Floor)This labor of love by USDA staff members conveys the seasonal cycle of tree growth, the importance of trees in soil conservation, water purification, and benefits to wildlife, as seen by one of the forest’s inhabitants. It is suitable for preschool and early elementary school students. Published by the Agriculture Department, Natural Resource Conservation Service. 2008.
Malheur's Legacy: Celebrating a Century of Conservation, 1908-2008, Malheur National Wildlife Refuge, Southeast Oregon
Call Number: I 49.2:M 29/3 (Gov. Docs., Second Floor)The Malheur National Wildlife Refuge, located in southeastern Oregon, is home to a multitude of birds and other wildlife. This book, richly illustrated with colorful pictures, both historical and current, outlines the history of the development of the refuge and documents the efforts by many groups to conserve its natural resources. The photographic quality is exceptional. Published by the Interior Department, Fish and Wildlife Service, Region 1, Malheur National Wildlife Refuge. 2008.
Picturing America
Call Number: NF 3.2:AM 3/8 (Gov. Docs., Second Floor)
http://picturingamerica.neh.gov/
Picturing America is a new initiative from the National Endowment for the Humanities that brings masterpieces of American art into classrooms and libraries nationwide. The book includes artwork used in the first year of the program, along with essays that provide historical context and background. Printed on high-quality paper; a great companion to the teacher’s resource guide. 2008.
Soviet-American Relations: The Detente Years, 1969-1972
Call Number: S 1.2:SO 8/15 (Gov. Docs., Second Floor)This one-volume publication is a joint presentation of the formerly secret record of how the United States and the Soviet Union moved from Cold War to détente in 1969-72. Published side by side are U.S. and Soviet accounts of meetings between Henry Kissinger and Soviet Ambassador Anatoliy Dobrynin, the so-called Kissinger-Dobrynin confidential channel, related documents, and the full Soviet and U.S. account of the first Moscow Summit between Richard Nixon and Leonid Brezhnev. The Soviet documents are released here for the first time anywhere. Published by the State Department, Bureau of Public Affairs, Office of the Historian. 2007.
War Surgery in Afghanistan and Iraq: A Series of Cases, 2003-2007
Call Number: D 104.35:SU 7 (Gov. Docs., Second Floor)This latest volume in the ‘Textbooks of Military Medicine’ series is not for the faint of heart, with its photos illustrating the grim nature of today’s military conflicts. Prepared especially for emergency medical personnel, the book provides the principles and priorities critical to managing the trauma of modern warfare. Published by the Defense Department, Office of the Surgeon General, Bordon Institute. 2008.
The World Cruise of the Great White Fleet: Honoring 100 Years of Global Partnerships and Security
Call Number: D 221.2:C 88 (Gov. Docs., Second Floor)Back in 1907, as a result of a U.S.-Japanese diplomatic crisis, Theodore Roosevelt made the fateful decision to take the U.S. Navy ‘global’ by having the fleet circumnavigate the world. Richly illustrated with monochrome photos, this attractive scrapbook of the cruise includes colored maps, diagrams, and reproductions of paintings and cards published at the time. A complement to naval history texts and a fascinating insight into an earlier era when the United States was emerging as a world power. Published by the Defense Department, Navy, Naval Historical Center. 2008.
Library Journal's Notable Federal Documents, 2007
- Aeronautical and Astronautical Resources of the Library of Congress: A Comprehensive Guide
Call Number: LC 1.6/4:AE 8 - Battleground Iraq: Journal of a Company Commander
Call Number: D 114.2:IR 1 - Botanic Garden for the Nation: The United States Botanic Garden
Call Number: Y 1.1/2:Serial 15000 - The Citizen's Almanac: Fundamental Documents, Symbols, and Anthems of the United States
Call Number: HS 8.2:C 49/2007 - Designing the Nation's Capital: The 1901 Plan for Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FA 1.2:W 27/5 - Drugs, Brains, and Behavior: The Science of Addiction
Call Number: HE 20.8217:AD 2 - Empowering Youth with Nutrition and Physical Activity
Call Number: A 98.2:Y 8 - The History Mystery Examiner
Call Number: I 53.2:H 62/6 - Interpreting Old Ironsides: An Illustrated Guide to the USS Constitution
MSU Library does not have this book. Try our InterLibrary Loan service and borrow it from another library. - Pentagon 9/11
Call Number: D 1.2:P 38/3 - Puget Sound Georgia Basin Ecosystem Indicators
- The Simple Truth: We Can't Live Without Pollinators
Call Number: A 13.2:P 76 - Task Force Report to the President: Returning Global War on Terror Heroes
Call Number: VA 1.2:T 18 - Women in Congress, 1917-2006
Call Number: Y 1.2:Serial 14903 and Y 1.1/7:108-223
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait