Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Library Science  Tags: library_science information_science  

This guide provides resources and opportunities for research in the area of library science.
Last update: Sep 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/library_science  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Directories and Handbooks             Print Page
  
 

Writing Guides and Directories

Becker, Howard S. Writing for Social Scientists: How to Start and Finish Your Thesis, Book or Article. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 1986.
H91 .B4 1986
Classic text on the process of writing scholarly material in the social sciences, with an emphasis on the revision process.
Livingston, Lynn W. (ed.) InPrint: Publishing Opportunities for College Librarians. Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries, 1997.
REF 675 .U5 B264 1997
Directory of journals in library science, with an emphasis on titles related to issues in college libraries. Entries include information on acceptance rates, response time, editorial information and submission guidelines.
Schroeder, Carole F. and Roberson, Gloria G. (ed.) Guide to Publishing Opportunities for Librarians. New York: Haworth Press, 1995.
REF Z665.2 .U6 S37 1995
Directory of journals in library and information science. Includes short descriptions of journal content, indexing information, editor contact and manuscript submission guidelines. Also includes information on acceptance rates.
Thyer, Bruce A. Successful Publishing in Scholarly Journals. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 1994.
Z479 .T55 1994
Published in Sage's "Survival Skills for Scholar's Series" , this work provides advice on how to approach the publishing process. Topics covered include manuscript preparation, suggestions for working with editors, and strategies for developing a productive publishing and research agenda.
 

Reference and Statistical Sources

Academic Library Trends and Statistics for Carnegie Classification. Associate of Arts Colleges. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries, 2001.
Ref Z675 .U5 A36 2001
Provides statistical data on two year college libraries. Includes data on collections, expenditures, personnel and public services, and institutional demographics.
Academic Library Trends and Statistics for Carnegie Classification. Doctoral Granting Institutions. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries,2001.
Ref Z675 .U5 A3545 2001
Provides statistical data on doctoral granting institutions and their libraries. Includes data on collections, expenditures, personnel and public services, and institutional demographics.
Academic Library Trends and Statistics for Carnegie Classification. Master's Colleges and Universities, Baccalaureate Colleges. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries, 2001.
Ref Z675 .U5 A3546 2001
Provides statistical data on four year and master's granting institutions and their libraries. Includes data on collections, expenditures, personnel and public services, and institutional demographics.
Bowker Annual of Library and Book Trade Information. New York: Bowker. Annual.
Ref Z731 .47
Compilation of information related to library science and the book trade. Includes selected statistical data on libraries in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science. New York: Marcel Dekker, 1968-2003. 73 Volumes.
Ref Z1006 .E57
Provides encyclopedia coverage of terms and events in library science. Final annual supplement issued in 2002.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDr. Deborah Lee
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Mississippi State University Libraries
(662) 325-0810
Send Email

Subjects:
Economics, Business, Agricultural Economics, Library Science, Research Methods

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait