Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Chemistry  Tags: chemistry biochemistry sciences molecular_biology physics mathematics geosciences  

Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/chemistry  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Journal Articles             Print Page
  
 

Search Related Databases

Search multiple subject related databases at a time.

Google Scholar


(search results open in a new window)
 
 

How to find journal articles?

To find individual journal articles, you will primarily use electronic databases to do your searching. With such databases, you can find article abstracts and even full-text articles by conducting an author, title, keyword(s), or subject searching.

If there is no full-text article available online, you will need to check if the library has the actual journal (physical item) so that you can locate it and read the article. You can find the holding and location information of the journal by typing its title in the search box on the MSU online catalog. If the library does not have subscription to the journal, you can request for a copy of the article through inter-library loan service (https://illiad.library.msstate.edu/illiad/).

Finding Journal Articles

  • ACS Publications: Journals  
    This link to the American Chemical Society's website provides access to full text and abstracts from 30 electronic journals published by ACS. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
  • SciFinder Scholar  
    Explore chemical substances by chemical name, chemical structure, formulas, or CAS Registry NumbersĀ®. Find literature relevant to a topic of interest, written by a specific author, or by CA abstract number or patent number. ATTENTION: Currently, MSU only has 4 access ports to SciFinder Scholar. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
  • Dissertation Abstracts  
    This database represents the works of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. It provides access to more than 1.6 million entrees. Full text access is available for dissertations from 1997 to the present. NOTE: these files are extremely large. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
  • Web of Science  
    A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences and social sciences. For its science part, the database indexes important journals across 150 scientific disciplines including agriculture, biochemisty, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, physics, plant sciences, and many more. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
  • Analytical Abstracts  
    London : Royal Chemical Society. (1954 - present)
    Ref QD71 .A49

    This title from the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) indexes journal articles on topics important to analytical chemists.
  • Chemical Abstracts  
    Easton, PA : American Chemical Society. (1917 - present)
    Ref QD1 .A51

    Chemical Abstracts is the premier abstracting and indexing service for the chemistry community. Access to these abstracts is also available through SciFinder Scholar.
  • Chromatography Abstracts  
    Barking, Essex : Elsevier Applied Science Publishers. (1986 - present)
    Ref QD1 .A51

    This index from the Royal Society of Chemistry provides indexing for journal articles on key aspects of chromatography and separation science. The areas covered include: general and miscellaneous techniques, gas chromatography, liquid chromatography, electrophoresis, and thin-layer chromatography.
 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait