Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Hurricane Katrina: Picking Up The Pieces  Tags: political_science_public_admin history law_government_documents  

Last update: Aug 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/content.php?pid=16013  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Libraries, Archives and Historic Buildings: Picking Up The Pieces             Print Page
  
 

Libraries, Archives and Historic Buildings: Picking Up The Pieces

National Archives and Records Administration Hurricane Katrina Aids:
Obtain Expedited Copies of Documents
http://www.archives.gov/st-louis/katrina.html
Document Recovery Advice for Federal Agencies and Courts
http://www.archives.gov/records-mgmt/vital-records/rm-hurricane-info.html
Includes links to information on the destruction of contaminated records that pose a health risk.
ALA Adopt-A-Library Program:
http://www.ala.org/template.cfm?section=cro&template=/cfapps/katrina/request.cfm
To help the libraries in the Gulf region that were damaged or destroyed by Hurricane Katrina, the American Library Association has set up an Adopt a Library Program. The program provides an opportunity for libraries of all types in the US to provide assistance to the libraries in need. Support may come in many ways (books, computers, fundraising, volunteers, etc.). If your library is interested in adopting a library in the Gulf region please fill out the online form. ALA will be collecting information from those libraries that need help and are willing to have libraries adopt them, and then helping to connect them to you.
SOLINET Katrina Response Site For All Libraries Needing Assistance or Offering Assistance:
http://www.solinet.net/Disaster_templ.cfm?doc_id=3761
SOLINET is offering disaster recovery information and services to all libraries affected by Hurricane Katrina. Libraries do not need to be a member of SOLINET to receive these services. The site includes areas for libraries needing assistance, and for libraries that can offer assistance.
Library of Congress Preservation Resources
http://www.loc.gov/preserv/
Information for librarians and archivists on preserving collections in the wake of disaster.
Heritage Emergency national Task Force Responds to Hurricane Katrina
http://www.heritagepreservation.org/PROGRAMS/Katrina.HTM
The Heritage Emergency National Task Force was formed in 1995 to help libraries and archives, museums, historical societies, and historic sites better protect their collections and buildings from natural disasters and other emergencies. The Task Force promotes prepa990000ness and mitigation and provides expert information on response and salvage to institutions and the public. Sponsored by the nonprofit Heritage Preservation and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the Task Force is a partnership of 39 federal agencies and national service organizations. Together its members constitute a nationwide resource of information, expertise, and assistance.
National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped:
1-888-NLS-READ (1-888-657-7323)
http://www.loc.gov/nls/eligible.html
The Library of Congress National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (NLS), which provides adults and eligible students, including students with a medically certified reading disability, asks hosts of eligible individuals to call or go to their website for enrollment information and a directory of cooperating local libraries participating in the Talking Books program.
Geaux Library Recovery:
http://geauxteam.typepad.com/help/
Geaux Library Recovery is dedicated to bringing Information Professionals from around the country together to offer volunteer help to our Gulf Coast colleagues and friends impacted personally and professionally by Hurricane Katrina. We're here to lend a helping hand in any way we can. Information is posted in a blog format.
American Library Association: Libraries and Hurricane Katrina:
http://www.ala.org/ala/cro/katrina/katrina.htm
Includes links to library news and information on ALA dues relief, financial donations for libraries, housing, book donations, employment resources, disaster and recovery resources and reading resources for young victims.
Mississippi Library Association, Updates:
http://www.misslib.org/index.php
Includes updates on public libraries in Mississippi damaged by Hurricane Katrina.
Housing for Librarians:
http://www.solinet.net/whatsnew/whatsnew.cfm?doc_id=3759
SOLINET joins with others in calling on all who can to provide free shelter to library staff displaced from their homes by Hurricane Katrina. The Lexington (KY) Public Library is creating a database of information and providing it to the library associations in the affected states.
Library Disaster Relief:
http://www.txla.org/temp/DisasterRelief.html
The Texas Library Association's Disaster Relief Fund has been expanded to collect donations for libraries in the Gulf Coast area as well as for libraries providing support for the evacuees. One hundred percent of your donated money will be sent to the state library agency or library association in the state of your choice. Donations can be made online via credit card or by mail.
New Orleans Public Library Post-Katrina Contact List:
http://nopl.blogspot.com/
Updates and contact information fro NOPL staff past and present.
Rochelle Hartmans Page For Libraries Affected by Hurricane Katrina:
http://rochellejustrochelle.typepad.com/copilot/2005/09/library_communi.html
A list of sites that address library community recovery from Hurricane Katrina: helping library workers and their families; fundraising; lists of affected libraries; recovery and preservation efforts.
Institute of Museum and Library Services Hurricane Katrina Page:
http://www.imls.gov/whatsnew/current/katrina.htm
Includes information on the extension of its program grant deadline to assist those museums affected by Hurricane Katrina. Also includes a list of links to first reports on museum and library related damage, recovery information, and more.
ARMA International Free Disaster Recovery Materials:
http://www.arma.org/news/index.cfm?NewsID=354
ARMA International is making available free resource materials that will help organizations recover their business records and information. These materials are offered as downloadable files that can be accessed and printed free of charge. These resources include documents on recovery and resumption of operations, making an initial damage assessments report, and on salvage and drying techniques. ARMA International is a not-for-profit association and the leading authority on managing records and information paper and electronic.
Council of State Historical Records Coordinators Hurricane Katrina Links:
http://www.coshrc.org/
Includes links to advice on disaster recovery and records salvage from state archives and hurricane and disaster recovery information from various archival associations.
Society of American Archivists:
http://www.archivists.org/
Includes links to blogs for archivists from areas hit by Katrina and links to information of interest to archivists in the wake of the storm.
National Trust for Historic Preservation:
http://www.nationaltrust.org/
The National Trust for Historic Preservation is a private, nonprofit membership organization dedicated to saving historic places and revitalizing America's communities. Its main page features information on the 2005 Hurricane Relief Fund and a manual for the treatment of flood-damaged older and historic buildings.
The Internet Archive Seeks Hurricane Katrina Pages For Its Archives:
http://www.archive.org/iathreads/post-view.php?id=42664
The Internet Archive, a non-profit digital library, needs help in finding URL's of sites and blogs that contain documents of this major disaster. Please email links to sites and pages that should be saved for future research to katrina@archive.org. They have worked to archive events such as 9/11 and the tsunami with the generous help of volunteers finding and sending in links. They then save these digital works for the long term and create research tools. As a library, they provide free access to those wanting to learn from these events.


Created by Christine Fletcher, cfletcher@library.msstate.edu
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageChristine Fletcher
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email

Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait