This is the "General Information" page of the "Hurricane Katrina: Picking Up The Pieces" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Hurricane Katrina: Picking Up The Pieces  Tags: political_science_public_admin history law_government_documents  

Last update: Aug 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.msstate.edu/content.php?pid=16013  Print Guide  RSS Updates

General Information             Print Page
  
 

General Information

Scientific American: Hurricane Backgrounder
http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?articleID=000CE842-789C-1330-B89C83414B7F0000
Archive of Scientific American articles on Hurricanes.
FactCheck.Org Katrina: What Happened When
http://www.factcheck.org/article348.html
From the Annenberg Political Fact Check, the site presents a non-partisan, detailed timeline of events before, during and following Katrina confirmed through public records and reliable news sources.
Hurricane Katrina Information Guide:
http://thrall.org/katrina/
Comprehensive list of links on the following areas relevant to recovery from Hurricane Katrina: government information, charities, emergency agencies and organizations, health, housing, images, statistics, and students affected by the storm.
FEMA Hurricane Katrina Information:
http://www.fema.gov/press/2005/resources_katrina.shtm
Links to various types of information about Hurricane Katrina and its aftermath. Includes links to Hurricane Katrina FEMA disaster and emergency declarations for Alabama, Florida, Louisiana and Mississippi.
Wikkipedia Page on Hurricane Katrina:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hurricane_Katrina
Extensive essay on Hurricane Katrina including overall descriptions of damage by state, and descriptions of its effects on the oil industry, casino industry, and other areas of the economy. Includes numerous links to disaster recovery, live local coverage, blogs, and photo galleries. Note that Wikkipedia is a free encyclopedia whose content can be submitted by anyone.
The Disaster Center Hurricane Katrina Page:
http://www.disastercenter.com/Tropical%20Storm%20-%20Hurricane%20-%20Katrina.html
Archive of online information covering Katrina including emergency management reports from agencies in Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Florida, Georgia and the US federal government.
National Institute for Urban Search and Rescue:
http://www.niusr.org/external/index.cfm?cid=969
Information on rescue and rebuilding operations in areas affected by Katrina. The website also includes a Missing Persons posting area. NIUSR is a non-profit organization dedicated to finding improved ways of saving lives in times of disaster, both caused by Mother Nature and by man.
ReliefWeb, Hurricane Katrina:
http://www.reliefweb.int/rw/dbc.nsf/doc108?OpenForm&rc=2&emid=TC-2005-000144-USA
ReliefWeb is the United Nations global hub for time-critical humanitarian information on Complex Emergencies and Natural Disasters. Includes links to relief available for a variety of sectors including agriculture, shelter, health, water and sanitation, food, rehabilitation and refugees. Includes lists of relief donations from non-US countries.
White House Hurricane Focus Page:
http://www.whitehouse.gov/infocus/hurricane/
Web page with press releases and other information tracking how the administration has responded to Hurricane Katrina.
Louisiana Senator Mary L. Landrieus Official Page:
http://landrieu.senate.gov/hurricanes/index.cfm
Includes updates on areas of Louisiana hit by Hurricane Katrina and many helpful links about the hurricane and disaster recovery.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageChristine Fletcher
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email

Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations

 
Facebook Twitter
Report a problem | Legal | Updated :
Mississippi State University Libraries | 395 Hardy Rd | P.O. Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762 - 5408
Phone #(662) 325 - 7668
Mississippi State University
Description

  Loading content... please wait