Statistics and History
-
U.S. Census Bureau Hurricane Katrina Page:
http://www.census.gov/Press-Release/www/2005/katrina.htm - Includes the following information and data for counties and metropolitan areas affected by Hurricane Katrina: fast facts; news releases; 2004 American Community Survey Profiles for New Orleans, Mobile County AL, Biloxi-Gulfport-Pascagoula metropolitan area of MS; County and city level poverty data; general, social, economic and housing demographic profiles; thematic maps by census tract showing population density, housing density, percent of population under 18, percent of population at and over 65, and poverty rate; business, government and international trade information; and resources for census employees affected by the storm.
-
US Dept. of Homeland Security: Hurricane Katrina, What Government is Doing
http://www.dhs.gov/interweb/assetlibrary/katrina.htm - Compilation of information and statistics of what various agencies of the federal government have done and are continuing to do in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. Includes links to relevant agency web pages on Hurricane Katrina recovery efforts.
-
Daily Reports on Hurricane Impacts on U.S. Energy
http://tonto.eia.doe.gov/oog/special/eia1_katrina.html - Statistics and other information on how the U.S. oil and gas industry is affected by Hurricane Katrina. Includes charts and a map of oil refinery damage. Compiled by the Energy Information Administration, source for official energy statistics for the U.S. government.
-
NHC/TPC Archive of Past Hurricane Seasons:
http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/pastall.shtml - Statistical and historical data from the NOAA National Hurricane Center/Tropical Prediction Center. Includes Hurricane Season Tropical Cyclone Reports, Hurricane Season Tropical Cyclone Monthly Summary Archives, National Hurricane Center Forecast Verification, Infamous Atlantic Storms, Hurricane History in the Atlantic, Monthly Weather Review Atlantic Annual Summaries 1881-2000, and Past Tracks of Atlantic Tropical Cyclones.
-
AccuWeather.Com Hurricane Center:
http://hurricane.accuweather.com/hurricane/facts.asp?#statistics - Includes general facts; statistics on Category 5 storms, costliest hurricanes, deadliest hurricanes, etc.; storm histories and tracking maps.
-
Hurricane Katrina's Impact on the U.S. Oil and Natural Gas Markets
http://tonto.eia.doe.gov/oog/special/eia1_katrina.html - Information from the Energy Information Administration on the impact of Katrina on petroleum, natural gas and ports and pipelines.
-
Evacuation Shelters
http://www.cnn.com/SPECIALS/2005/katrina/people/ - From CNN, data in map form on the number of evacuees in larger Red Cross shelters.
-
Hurricane Katrina Media Resources from the Federal Government
http://www.dhs.gov/dhspublic/interapp/editorial/editorial_0714.xml - Compilation of links to press releases from federal Government agencies regarding Hurricane Katrina.
-
Bureau of Economic Analysis Hurricane Katrina FAQ:
http://www.bea.gov/katrina/index.htm - Overview of the economic effects of Hurricane Katrina will be reflected in future BEA economic data.
Subject Guide |
Christine FletcherOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
![]() |
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait