National/Gulf States Area
-
United States Postal Service Mail Service Updates:
http://www.usps.com/communications/news/serviceupdates.htm - Summary of the suspension of mail services in storm stricken areas. Note that the Post Office will not accept mail addressed to certain areas affected by Hurricane Katrina. See this web page for updates and suspensions lifted. A map showing the status of post offices in areas affected by Katrina in Mississippi, Louisiana and Alabama can be found at http://www.usps.com/communications/news/serviceupdates/zipmap.htm?from=bannercommunications&page=katrinamap. Scroll to the bottom right of the page to see the map key.
-
FAA Hurricane Katrina Airport Status
http://www.faa.gov/news/disaster_response/katrina/airport_status/ - From the Federal Aviation Administration, this site provides up to date information on the operational status of commercial and military airports in areas affected by Hurricane Katrina.
-
U.S. Dept. of Energy Response to Hurricane Katrina
http://www.doe.gov/engine/content.do?PUBLIC_ID=14135&BT_CODE=DOEHOME&TT_CODE=GENERICDOCUMENT - Includes links to daily situation reports, gas-gouging hotline, information on the Strategic Petroleum Reserve, and information on energy market impacts.
-
FCC Hurricane Katrina Emergency Information
http://www.fcc.gov/cgb/katrina/ - In the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has created this Web site to provide crucial emergency information for consumers, communications industries, and state and local governments in the areas affected by the hurricane.
-
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Hurricane Katrina Efforts
http://www.ferc.gov/for-citizens/katrina.asp - Includes links to statement and policies enacted by FERC in the aftermath of Katrina. Includes weekly report on the status of natural gas and electric transmission.
-
FEMA Mapping and Analysis Center:
http://www.gismaps.fema.gov/ - Includes links to GIS maps of road closures in affected states and affected Gulf Coast railroads.
-
Social Security Information for People Affected by Hurricane Katrina
http://www.ssa.gov/emergency/ - The Social Security Administration is doing everything it can to ensure that monthly payments get to beneficiaries affected by Hurricane Katrina and that applications for benefits will continue to be processed. Includes links to information on closures of SSA offices and openings in temporary locations, how to apply for aid, and information for SSA employees.
-
United Parcel Service Katrina Service Update:
http://www.ups.com/content/us/en/about/news/service_updates/Katrina.html - Summary of service considerations for the Gulf Coast in the wake of Hurricane Katrina.
-
Federal Express Severe Weather Disruption:
http://www.fedex.com/us/update2.html?link=4 - Updates on service disruptions in the Gulf states areas. Includes a detailed map covering service operations.
-
DHL Hurricane Katrina Statement:
http://www.dhl-usa.com/custserv/servicealert.asp?id=1 - Service updates for Louisiana and Mississippi coastal areas. Includes lists of undeliverable zip codes in those states.
Mississippi
-
Mississippi Highway Conditions and Closures:
http://www.gomdot.com/ - All traffic related incidents due to the hurricane will be listed here. This list is continually updated as situations occur so check back often to get the latest information.
-
Mississippi Government Official Site:
http://www.state.ms.us/index.jsp - Updates and contact phone numbers for state personnel affected by the hurricane, including medical personnel.
-
Mississippi Office of Homeland Security:
http://www.homelandsecurity.ms.gov/ - Updates on recovery efforts including state government activities.
Louisiana
-
The Causeway Bridge
http://www.thecauseway.com/ - The Lake Pontchartrain Causeway serves as an official evacuation route for the New Orleans metropolitan area. Should a hurricane approach southeast Louisiana, residents are encouraged to make use of the Causeway Bridge to evacuate. Also, be aware of alternate routes and listen to emergency radio stations for traffic conditions. The Causeway Bridge operates 1700 AM, a low power radio station, and will broadcast current conditions. Includes timely information on whether or not the Causeway is open for motorists.
-
Louisiana Road Closures:
http://www.lsp.org/roadandincident.nsf - From the Louisiana State Police. Searchable by parish and by city.
-
Jefferson Parish Hurricane Katrina Emergency Site:
http://www.jeffparish.net - Updates on recovery efforts in Jefferson Parish, including information for parish employees and debris disposal and public schools.
-
City of New Orleans Official Home Page:
http://www.cityofno.com/portal.aspx - Updates on recovery efforts in New Orleans and the surrounding metropolitan area.
-
Louisiana.Gov Hurricane Katrina
http://katrina.louisiana.gov/ - The State Of Louisiana's official website for dissemination of information concerning hurricane Katrina. This website has been established to provide the latest information and resources regarding relief and assistance provided by the state government for citizens impacted by Hurricane Katrina. This website is being deployed as an information and contact directory for the Louisiana Katrina Relief effort. Information is currently being collected and the site will be continuously updated. Please check back frequently.
Alabama
-
Alabama Dept. of Transportation Hurricane Katrina Updates:
http://www.dot.state.al.us/Docs/Bureaus/Public+Affairs/Administrative/Hurricane+Updates - Includes update son road closures and cleanup efforts.
-
Alabama Department of Homeland Security:
http://www.homelandsecurity.alabama.gov/ - Includes updates on state services for victims of Hurricane Katrina.
Subject Guide |
Christine FletcherOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
![]() |
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait