General
-
Disaster Preparedness:
http://msucares.com/disaster/index.html - From MSU Cares, A wealth of information for any household or farm on electricity and food and water safety and cleaning up after disasters, including clearing debris. Includes links to online MSU Extension publications on disaster concerns such as the basics for the home, livestock and poultry, nurseries and greenhouses, residential and commercial turf and electrical systems.
-
CDC Hurricane Katrina Health and Safety:
http://www.bt.cdc.gov/disasters/hurricanes/index.asp - Centers for Disease Control information on health and safety issues following Hurricane Katrina. Includes information on water and food safety, disease prevention, animal and insect hazards, safe clean-up, mental health and injury prevention.
-
US Dept. of Health and Human Services Hurricane Katrina:
http://www.hhs.gov/katrina/ - Includes updates on what HHS and other federal government agencies are doing, health and safety and key state government agencies in the region hit by Katrina.
-
NIEHS Response to Hurricane Katrina
http://www-apps.niehs.nih.gov/katrina/ - As the environmental health research institute of the National Institutes of Health, the NIEHS is uniquely positioned to provide information on the sources and the potential human health impacts of those exposures and we are committed to supporting emergency responders with useful and readily accessible information. This site is targeted to provide environmental health information to frontline public health and safety workers deployed to impacted communities.
-
FirstGov Hurricane Katrina Recovery:
http://www.firstgov.gov/Citizen/Topics/PublicSafety/Hurricane_Katrina_Recovery.shtml - Includes links for resources on what to do if youre a victim, health and safety and disaster cleanup and agency resources.
-
LII Flood Cleanup:
http://lii.org/search?query=hurricanekatrina+(flood+cleanup) - List of links to resources about flood recovery and relevant safety and health issues.
-
EPA: Hurricane Katrina Response:
http://www.epa.gov/katrina/index.html - US Environmental Protection Agency response updates. Page also includes links to health and safety information.
-
Food Stamps for Evacuees:
http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns/ - The Food and Nutrition Service, run by the US Department of Agriculture, has taken several actions to expedite and facilitate Food Stamp enrollment and receipt for evacuees of Hurricane Katrina in their destination states. See links in the Newsroom section at the upper right of the page.
Mississippi
-
Mississippi Boil Water Alerts by County:
http://www.msdh.state.ms.us/msdhsite/_static/23,2938,148.html - From the Mississippi Department of Health. Gives information on what to do and how to use water safely if you are under a boil water alert. Lists counties issuing boil water notices.
-
Mississippi Dept. of Environmental Quality:
http://www.deq.state.ms.us/MDEQ.nsf/page/Main_Home?OpenDocument - Updates of post-Katrina environmental recovery efforts and safety precautions.
Louisiana
-
Louisiana Dept. of Environmental Quality:
http://www.deq.state.la.us/ - Updates on DEQ efforts post-Katrina and updates on the quality of air, water, fish and vegetation.
-
DHH Emergency News: 2005 Hurricane Season
http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov/offices/?ID=145 - Includes information on how to protect yourself after returning home and boil water notices, including boil water notices that have been lifted.
Subject Guide |
Christine FletcherOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
![]() |
Contact Info:
Assistant Professor/Gov Docs/Microforms Reference Librarian
662-325-0008
Michell Memorial library, 2nd Floor
Gov Docs/Microforms/Current Journals
Send Email
Subjects:
US Government Documents, General Reference, MSU Microforms Collections, Current Periodicals, United Nations
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait